Institute of Professional Practice Employee Reviews

Showing all 61 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Applied Behavior Analysis Therapist (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTOctober 16, 2019
Work/life balance - 3 stars because once you’re off work, you’re off work... UNLESS you’re going to the hospital from an injury from a kid.
Wasn’t taught *any* DTI or any of the programs I signed up to teach. Wasn’t taught anything that I signed up for at all, actually. I was new so I was used as a body/babysitter for the most violent kids, coming from ZERO experience. I was going to the hospital day in and day out from kids biting through the protective “gloves” that are given. I’d ask my supervisor for support/have said multiple times that I wasn’t comfortable working with an individual either a) alone, or b) at all. Permanent physical damage from violent kids isn’t an uncommon thing here, an important thing that they don’t tell you during interviews. You ask for support and/or help, and they don’t give it to you. Mentally and physically exhausting, the doctors who treat us for workman’s comp were calling to complain to the company due to the amount of bites and injuries they’ve seen from IPP.
They advertise the pay as $19/hr “salary”, really $16/hour full time non-salary during the school year. During the summer they cut your hours down to 20 with no chance to pick up extra hours. You get ~2 weeks paid off between the last day of the school year in June before the summer session starts which is nice but the last 2 weeks between the summer session ending and the fall year starting, is unpaid.
OH and if you get put with one of the violent kids, you’re still getting paid the same amount as others who are coloring and playing games with their kids while you’re getting the
  more... ___ kicked out of you in the corner, alone (i.e., biting, kicking, punching in the face, spit at, being choked, hair pulls, you name it). This job is not physically safe for you as an employee or for the kids that it serves. I left because of how uncomfortable I was regarding my physical safety, and I wish I could say I was exaggerating. Please do not work here. This company does NOT care about you.  less
Pros
? lol
Cons
physical and mental abuse, low pay for what you’re doing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They ran they worki
Direct Support Person (Former Employee) –  North Haven, CTAugust 12, 2019
They over work you and mangers are lazy so if your Relieve don’t come in your relieve don’t come in your stuck and if you get stuck over night you have to stay up even though you already did you shift cause you will get fired , i was In a house that was totally care and felt like that pay should have been more nothing like what they told me I’ll be doing when i go Hired .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful place to work. The benefits are great.. I just wish they paid a little more.
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Cromwell, CTJuly 9, 2019
You work as a team. I had wonderful team members. A very non judge mental, Laid back atmosphere. Management was excellent, kind, and understanding. A truly wonderful place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MAJune 8, 2019
I had a lot of work which was ok, I like I hard work. It was the harassment from the higher ups I couldn’t stand. I just got treated less than. I went to college. I know what I’m what I’m doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad pay/ even worse managers
Behavioral Therapist (Former Employee) –  CTMay 16, 2019
This company is toxic!!! I would recommend not even trying to work here. The culture will make your blood want to boil. The management plays favorites, and if you’re not a favorite, be prepared to be isolated and over worked. You often have to pick up the slack of other people who are allowed to scrape by and do the bare minimum. The management talks down to you like you’re dirt under their feet and don’t even bat an eye lash when you speak to them about being stressed. During the summer, they cut your hours down to about 20 hours and pay you hourly. The company expects you to be able to live off of roughly 200 dollars bi-weekly. The managers insist they want to boost the company morale, but only choose to “boost morale” with their favorite people. The best part of this job was the kids, some of your co-workers, and the things you learn. Other than that, I would not recommend this company.
Pros
Kids
Cons
Management, pay, summer hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
BT (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTMarch 28, 2019
I was a BT in the school system. IPPI is a very stressful place to work. Management was very harsh and showed favoritism. The culture was competitive and petty. They treat you especially bad if you're new. They would talk behind your back with you in ear shot. If you ask for help they would assume you're incompetent. Other staff would always be looking for opportunities to talk about you or call your supervisor to complain about you. They were very critical and not culturally aware of the students nor staff. I went to management twice for concerns (not feeling supported, competitive nature with other staff) and was written up because of it instead of the concerns being addressed. I was so stressed that it started affecting my health. I wouldn't recommend this place to anymore. Stay clear.
Pros
The students you work with
Cons
Management, work environment, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress job
Day Program Instructor (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MAMarch 13, 2019
Clients can be difficult. Management can be difficult. Lots of change not much routine. Didn't have transportation had to leave personal vehicle at resident and drive company car. In family emergency had to wait for co-worker to give ride to car more than 1 hour. Lots of hands on restraint.
Pros
Hard to get fired
Cons
Very low pay and no appreciation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisors were not that great
Applied Behavior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTMarch 5, 2019
Started out loving this job and working with the kids. The co-workers were awesome! Received a lot of training. The BCBA’s are open to hearing insight from Therapist about the behavior plans which was a plus. I Worked here for almost 4 years and things change about my 3rd year in. The supervisors are very are not culturally aware and are not relatable to most of the people that work for them. They have favorites and it shows through their interaction with another employee versus the ones that are their favorites. Supervisors would make you feel guilty for calling out and often would talk amongst themselves or other staff about other employees.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management thinks of themselves only!!
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsMarch 3, 2019
The CIO was indicted on charges of soliciting pornography. He was kept on until details hit the Fitchburg Sentinel.
This in inexcusable. These clients are vulnerable. This probably wouldn't have happened with a direct care employee since they are thought of as at will employees. They can be fired at any time for any reason!!
Pros
None
Cons
Very poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a not run in an organized manner
Direct Care Instructor (Former Employee) –  Leominster, MAFebruary 22, 2019
It wasn't ran with structure for well over 4 years. There were too many positions that were available and when they were filled they would not be filled for long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better Management
Homecare Provider (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MANovember 24, 2018
I was very disappointed with management after I reported seeing the clients being mistreated/ abused management turned around and retaliated against me and didn't want to do much about my report and made it seem like I was the guilty one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful, welcoming
Applied Behavior Analysis Therapist (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTOctober 17, 2018
While working for IPPI I had to learn quickly, and be flexible to changes in my job duties. At times this was stressful and the lack of breaks was difficult to adjust to. Overall, my supervisors and coworkers were incredibly supportive and made the job enjoyable.
Pros
Welcoming and supportive staff
Cons
No breaks, little prep time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day is differant individuals and staff are great pay and managment is a differant story
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MAOctober 5, 2018
great place to work if you love this field. Individuals are amazing! but the lack of communication and short staffed all the time can make thinks difficult. after 8 years of working there I was only making 15 cents an hour more then the new hires. the lack of vans available to bring the individuals out made for some behaviors some times
Pros
great staff
Cons
always short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
ABA Therapist (Former Employee) –  Concord, NHSeptember 27, 2018
Great place to work in a fast-paced environment. Family/team-like feel. Very happy to have had the experience I did working there. I learned a lot of skills I will use throughout my career.
Pros
Access to expertise within the ABA field.
Cons
Can be stressful and demanding at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked from home caring for foster children with special needs
Therapeutic Foster Parent (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTSeptember 25, 2018
A typical day is working from home caring for foster children with their medical appointments; good nutrition, hygiene and educational development. Transported to weekly therapy sessions. Provided loving and caring environment conducive to a quality life now and in the future.
Pros
working from home
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MAAugust 29, 2018
After every shift was done paperwork for each client had to be filled to keep up with medication and feeding needs for every one had different dietary needs best part was to make a difference in peoples lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits and Kids were best part
ABA therapist (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTJune 28, 2018
Tough job but great opportunity. Manager and supervisors were my least favorite, they did not communicate or be considerate of their employees which was why they keep losing people.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace
DSP/Caregiver (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsJune 25, 2018
Poor management they seriously need a union to protect employees from the harsh environment. The employee disconnect and harsh treatment does not match the services they try to provide one has to wonder how good they are if employees are treated so poor.
Pros
none
Cons
Bad place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs improvement
Day Services Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fitchburg, MAJune 1, 2018
communication from management lacks.
great group of people to work with. some cause drama.
very hard working. job tasks not worth pay.
free college.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work.
Residential Instructor (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTMay 17, 2018
You don't get paid well but for what I did it was just extra money on the side. A good place to obtain for experience for your resume. I would recommend it to a someone out of high school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Institute of Professional Practice. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 61 reviews
514
413
316
25
113

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture