International Rescue Committee Employee Reviews for Volunteer

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 404 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Resettlement Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 8, 2018
Good place to work. It was a very good place to work. I liked it Everyone made me feel liked and important. There was never a problem with understanding what I had to do and people would always help me.
Pros
Good
Cons
Place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax Volunteer
Tax Volunteer (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CAMarch 1, 2018
This position was a volunteer tax position so volunteers were not paid. We met people of different cultures everyday and helped them with their tax returns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Tucker, GAJanuary 15, 2018
I really enjoyed working at the International Rescue Committee. It really helps people and I looked forward to meeting people from around the world. I wanted to stay but the country's laws were making it harder on refugees to come to the United States.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 16, 2017
Friendly work environment, lots of volunteer opportunities. management was very friendly and open to hear suggestions. Diverse group of people to work with. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer, IRC (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 1, 2017
I volunteered for the IRC office in Atlanta, Georgia for one week. I helped the New Americans apply for jobs, learn English and learn about their basic rights in the U.S.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment. everyone stay active and good communication with each co-worker
Volunteer in I/T Department (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJuly 3, 2017
The position was bored but sometimes was a bit challenging. The boring part is data entry and organizing files, paper works, etc.. the challenging part were projects and utilization of budget from the company headquarter. Each representative from their department were really good in communication, things were clear and fast. Co-workers were very active, gave me lots of energy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexibleStaff
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 14, 2016
Working for IRC is amazing. The genuine culture and seeing children smile everyday make days extremely enjoyable. Families from all over the world share their great cultures which brings us together.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if you want to help others
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 30, 2015
I am working there as a volunteer in the Center for Financial Opportunities and I have really learned a lot from my colleagues and supervisor. If its your first time working in America this is the place to be. You learn all the basic and advanced requirements to make it and start the journey of your own American Dream.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Volunteer, Employment Development (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZSeptember 2, 2014
Volunteer at IRC. Met many new people from different backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 13, 2013
love working with other professionals which help in building my own professional levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge about a not profit organization
Volunteer Jenuary (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJJune 17, 2013
Contact with customers
Knowledge about a not profit organization
Organization files and documents
a very nice people
not to receive money
help people
Pros
Knowledge
Cons
no money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Teaching
Volunteer Language Instructor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 24, 2013
Great experience for prospective teachers. Teachers work morning classes. Students vary in age from very young to elderly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing friendship for refugees
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDOctober 20, 2012
It's oddly rewarding to just hang out and play games with the refugees in this program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun volunteer opportunity
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Lynn, MASeptember 8, 2012
Helped Somali-Bantu children read and write
Talked with them about American culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting program
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 27, 2012
The Ambassador program demanded a great deal of organization and meeting tight deadlines, which made it very challenging! I enjoy every part of it. It makes you be creative and come up at the last minute with a decision. The program is a one-month project, therefore I cannot really evaluate the workplace. My supervisor, The Program Coordinator, was a real professional (although a volunteer too) and we made a good team with her. I improved my leadership skills and presentation skills.

The most enjoyable part - working with youth is always enjoyable!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at International Rescue Committee. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 404 reviews
5218
4124
338
216
18

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

International Rescue Committee Reviews by Location