intertek Employee Reviews

Found 450 reviews matching the search See all 868 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
CAD Designer/Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Kentwood, MINovember 15, 2018
I produced good work that was on time. Intertek had an event whose attendance was mandatory, but this was poorly explained. I was docked a half day as a result of my failing to attend. I told Intertek that I disagreed with the disciplinary action, but I would do whatever they needed me to do. My manager showed me how to change my timecard, I did so, and went back to work. The next day, I was labeled a "poor fit" by a young lady who had never met me, and I was fired that day.
Pros
High turn-over means there is no real sense of "seniority"
Cons
Totalitarian environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic
Chemist (Current Employee) –  East JavaNovember 8, 2018
Intertek is a big company, good to improve our skill. Having such a great boss who always care about all employe. If we can't do something, they will gave a trial and then we try by our self.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Inpestor International Shipments
Contract Inspector (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 3, 2018
Worked as a Contract Inspector Inspecting in the Indiana, Kentucky, Illinois and sometime Tennessee. Inspected shipment and containers shipping to Sudia Araba, Nigeria ect. completed the document for the country the product was shipping to. Completed the Container Log and provided to Interteck to review and send to the Importer once approved, Intereck issued the certificate of Conformance for Customs clearance. I was payed per inspection worked ;load was based on Inspection. Left to take Sr. Quality Engineer I with Black Diamond Consultants at Zimmer.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Was not and employee of Interteck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
technical and competitive work environment
Associate Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cortland, NYOctober 26, 2018
constistantly growing company with many opportunities. typically worked everyday with low voltage telecommunication cable. Also occasionally work on safety project and high voltage test setups.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXOctober 25, 2018
Slow to promote from inside. Large turnover. But overall great company to work for. Good safety program and support from management. A lot of favoritism in promoting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 24, 2018
Poor management in that they do not support their managers. They let you flounder so they don't have to own the situation. Very abrupt in the way they treat emploees.
Pros
Pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Petroleum inspector (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 21, 2018
awsome place to work. we hold contracts for p66 and all barge lines on the mississippi river. we do most of the petroleum inspections on the barges and most refineries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Petroleum Inspector (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXOctober 20, 2018
Very good learning opportunity but with few opportunities for growth and few incentives not only economic but motivational. Personally if you spend 2 years working consistently giving 100% of yourself without growth, it is hard to maintain your motivation, it becomes boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible culture
Anon (Former Employee) –  Arlington Heights, ILOctober 14, 2018
They paid "OK", but it wasn't enough to deal with the awful culture of the company. They value shareholder profits over everything, and have boasted increases followed by mass layoffs. You will only get promoted if you are within a specific clique within the office, and relational politics are toxic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it.
Administrative (Former Employee) –  Cortland, NYOctober 10, 2018
They fail to pay their hourly paid employees overtime. Then if they do work overtime to get their work done, they get written up. No winning. This place sucks.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about intertek?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAOctober 7, 2018
Small branch, family feel, enjoyed going to work everyday, friendly employees, approachable management, clear assignments, overall great environment to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Warehouse mgr (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 5, 2018
Worked there for 13 years
Picked orders and delivered product to customers

Small family owned company had 2 owners and 3 branches across the country.
Pros
Company focused on employees
Cons
Job ran out company closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Rose, LAOctober 4, 2018
A typical work day was testing products in a rush time frame. ALWAYS understaffed. CALL INS on off days and even when you’re not on call. NO LIFE. ALWAYS BUSY. Management was the worst. Supervisors have NO LEADERSHIP skills. Lowest paying lab compared to other companies. No team work, employees were always out to get one another. Never can move up due to the high turn over rate and the training and the hiring process is horrible. WORST PLACE EVER!
Pros
Not being there anymore
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Enjoyed working here
Research Chemist (Current Employee) –  Allentown, PASeptember 25, 2018
It was my first job and I've never expect it to be so nice. Colleagues are all friendly and willingly to help, my supervisor did respect me a lot and care about my career development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, good inter relation in terms with work with other employees.
Lead Petroleum Inspector (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 25, 2018
Have learned a lot of things as far as vessel surveying are concerned, acquired new knowledge on shore tank calibration by physical method.
Paid mileage, hotel accommodations, meals during outside work base assignments.
Pros
Free lunch treat once in awhile with manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place they do christmas parties , picnics and thaniksgiving luncheons
Facility Custodian (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 25, 2018
I clean the facility for 350 employees. offices, break rooms and bathrooms. Sweep and mop the floors, we also have to order supplies make sure we have plenty for a whole month.
Pros
we get free lunch
Cons
dont have the availability to work weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Autonomy - Benefits - Job Work/Life Balance
Wireless Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 18, 2018
Autonomy to create and implement ideas. Excellent Medical, Dental, and Vision Benefits and Retirement Plan. Good Work/Life Balance. Long term and stable employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intuitive Learning Place
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cortland, NYSeptember 18, 2018
You get the opportunities to get to know new products from the manufacturers and always get exposed to new technologies. Project span varies a lot and sometimes it can be a challenge because of the scheduling. Overall not a bad place if you are looking for a progressive learning place.
But on the downside, compensate, benefit and promotion are not competitive.
Pros
Pto, Traveling, Progressive Learning
Cons
Compensate, Traveling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versitile work, but subpar management
LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Saint Rose, LASeptember 13, 2018
You have the opportunity to learn more testing methods than other labs; however, shift work completely kills your job/work life balance especially since you are on call on your off days. You never really feel free to make plans and live your life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Global Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  York PASeptember 12, 2018
INTERTEK says one thing and does another

no training

management inadequate

expect people to work 1.5 to 2 jobs per person at a reduced rat
I wouldn't recommend this company to work for with regards to sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at intertek. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 868 reviews
5224
4254
3228
269
193

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight