Iowa Department of Transportation Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 22 reviews
Ratings breakdown
59
48
33
21
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 22 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Equipment Operator Senior (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAApril 1, 2018
Great benefits, full health, full dental, plenty of time off with earned comp time and paid sick days and IPERS. Just getting tired of working overnights.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job
Snow plow truck driver (Former Employee) –  IowaMarch 8, 2018
I only worked part time. I enjoyed the job, it was nice to feel like I was helping keep people safe on the roads. The hours can be stressful, working over nights. The job was rewarding though and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a good paying part time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, IADecember 19, 2017
Good and honest people to work with. Learnt a lot from my supervisor. Had field visits and discussed a lot about the existing issues in the field of construction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some pros, some cons
Manager (Current Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 15, 2017
There are certainly offices and divisions that have a better workplace culture than others. My particular experience has been less than pleasant and energizing. I cannot say enough good things about the Agency Director and the direction that he would like to take the culture, however the area of the agency that I have worked in has not yet embraced that culture. There are tremendous people there, and an incredible opportunity to provide innovative solutions and services that greatly impact the citizens of Iowa. That is the most enjoyable part of the job - the opportunity to serve a greater cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for starting out
Civil Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IADecember 12, 2017
This is a great job for starting out in Civil Engineering or Construction Management. Opportunity to get on the job-sites, test concrete, and see how problems are solved in the field.
Pros
Construction experience
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship and Co-op
Transportation Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Grimes, IANovember 9, 2017
The internship / co-op was informative and gave me insight into the fields of project management, transportation engineering design, and construction inspection.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Transportation Design Technician (Former Employee) –  Ames, IANovember 5, 2017
Performs paraprofessional engineering design and may perform lead worker functions that involve all areas of multiple projects or works on major projects involving legal and politically sensitive issues;
Pros
Good Work place
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Productive Workplace
Highway Technician Associate/ Part Time (Current Employee) –  Osceola, IAOctober 12, 2017
Working at the DOT provided a lot of learning and hands on experience for me. I was well trained and all of my coworkers were very helpful and courteous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They believed in team work.
Seasonal Plow driver (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAAugust 26, 2017
Team work gets done in a safe , and working environment.
Did pre inspection of the Plow truck .
Got to work with some great people.
work with all types of equipment,
Pros
get great Pay . Great people to work for.
Cons
It was only seasonal work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Bridge Designer (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 23, 2017
I learned my bridge engineering skills at this place. The training and learning opportunities provided by Iowa DOT bridge department were really great for any young engineers. Ames Iowa was a great place to raise family.
Pros
Technical Training and Family Focus Culture
Cons
Remote Location of Ames Iowa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace with great benefits.
Secretary II (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 6, 2017
Productive and Fun workplace with great benefits. People are easy to get along with. Flexible hours in some departments. Quit environment, I have always liked working for the Iowa Department of Transportation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast pace.
Clerk I (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAMarch 11, 2017
I was so young back then. We all got along very well. We worked together in the attempt to help catch up. The management was gone much of the time, or fighting against each other.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere.
Cons
Not enough workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Safety Intern (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 15, 2016
I really liked the experience I gained, and I think that others that work there can look forward to working with great people and learning more about safety in a professional setting. I think that the best part of the job was researching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot for one summer
Intern (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAMay 2, 2016
I interned for the Iowa DOT in the summer of 2015 in the resident construction office. It was a great place to work and learn about civil engineering projects. Everyone was helpful and informative whenever I had a question about construction techniques.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is different.
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  IowaNovember 10, 2015
I like the comp time option. Hours vary a lot during the winter months depending on the inclement weather. Get to work outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very team type place to work
Traffic Incident Manager (TIM) (Current Employee) –  ames IowaAugust 10, 2015
I enjoy working for the DOT. I am working with First Responders to educate them how to be safe at the scene of an incident. I review incidents on the Highways and setup After Action Reports. With the After Action Reports we take them and gather all parties together and talk about what worked what didnt etc.
Pros
Is just as I said it is a Team
Cons
Like anyother job all the legal hoops to go through
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment needs fixed
Clerk Senior (Current Employee) –  AnkenyJanuary 27, 2015
Overall the job is great I love my job but I would really like to see them fix management. It has been said they are working on that but after 7 years of no change it's time to look somewhere else
Pros
the people that you work with
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of my first jobs out of high school
Survey Crew and Inspector (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, IAAugust 25, 2014
learned how the transportation system worked. Meaning from surveying new roadways to inspecting seeding project after roadway is about to be opened to public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
DOT Driver (Former Employee) –  Marion, IAMarch 6, 2014
Its great when you have stability and your in, but if you don't have a certain cdl or endorsements your not going to get in and the people that interview you some are act like they don't even want to be there unless they know you. But its stable and the work is easy, but just long days and winters.
Pros
Great job, good people
Cons
communication and if you have a side job, don't let it get in the way of your employment there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Clerical/filing (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IAJune 20, 2012
I worked 2nd shift in an office with a lot of nice people answering phones and finding the best deal for those people wanting to fly to there destination.
Pros
traveling was fun and inexpensive
Cons
living far away from family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Iowa Department of Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.7InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Iowa Department of Transportation Reviews by Job Title

Iowa Department of Transportation Reviews by Location