Iowa State University Employee Reviews for Student Researcher

Ratings by category
Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 432 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for undergraduate students
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IASeptember 21, 2017
The pay for undergraduate students is fair. Supervisors are extremely accommodating of the students' schedules regarding classes and extracurricular activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iowa State
Undergraduate Research Assistant Internship (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 11, 2017
Good school to attend a typical day of what i did at my research experience, was i would synthesize various soybean based polymers and dry them overnight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense research with flexible hours
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 29, 2016
Each day I would run through given experiments and make changes to optimize results. Some would take many hours but I was able to work on my own time. I learned how to operate lab equipment, use tools, and develop experiments.
Pros
relaxed time frame, great learning experience
Cons
Intense boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was just an undergrad assistant
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 11, 2016
I don't feel comfortable writing a formal review of an employer whom i was not employed full time for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 3, 2016
Worked as an undergraduate researcher. Worked with graduate students in the mechanical engineering group for the Self aware complex systems group. Made some trips to the test bed and also made some data analysis. Used wireshark for packet capture and carrying out simulated cyber attacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IANovember 21, 2015
Work was hard and tedious but worth it (and very interesting) because I knew I was making an impact in research to help the scientific community in general.
Pros
learning about advance science and engineering
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate Research Experience is a Must!
Plant Pathology Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IANovember 1, 2015
Working in a research laboratory on campus made for a great experience. I learned to balance work, classes, and other campus involvement. Getting involved on campus and getting a work experience helped me do better in school. A typical day includes working with PhD candidates and Post Docs on research projects. I learned what it would be like to continue my education after my undergraduate career. I worked with great people and had knowledgeable supervisors and university faculty that were always helpful and want me to really learn and succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work.
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAOctober 24, 2015
I had a really good time working for this university. The culture and dedication to research was of the utmost importance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Isu
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 4, 2015
A great institution and a fantastic place for students to grow personally, academically, and professionally with their peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer full time on campus job
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IANovember 3, 2014
Typical work days are from 8:00am-5:00pm with an hour lunch break. Lab has professors, PhD students as well as undergraduate students. Primary job duties include processed samples,inventoried the mycology class fungi collections, made assessments, entered data, used standard laboratory equipment, and helped plant and maintain soybean field plots and greenhouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Designing and building things for research,
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 27, 2014
I learned a lot of things that I didn't already know about when I was working on a research project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful University and comfortable environment
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAMarch 31, 2014
At Iowa State University, a typical day would be in class. Student to teacher ratio is 16:1, so there is lots of interaction with professors. My education and classes varied, making me versatile in many things. ISU helps teach students to effectively manage their time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting and interactive work environment.
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 28, 2014
We had weekly meetings for group project updates and then discuss some problems and solutions within the our own personal project. Everyone is enjoyable to work with. I learned how to make swiss cheese and eye development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a research lab has shaped my educational goals
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJanuary 13, 2014
I have become familiar with PCR amplification, running electrophoresis gels, genotyping sequences, and extracting DNA from tissue samples using DNA lysis method.
My research mentors have provided me with the opportunity to present my research at a national conference, and will be presenting my research at a state conference. I have also been able to write an article describing my research that will be published in late January.
Pros
Good work environment, unparalled working experience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
such a great opportunity to build up experience
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IowaJune 3, 2013
- assisted graduate student on their project and learned a lot from it too.
- the people are really nice and helpful
- there is always something new to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible for student schedules
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  CNDEJanuary 10, 2013
Awesome part time in school job. Went well with my minor in nondestructive evaluation. Job was challenging and fun and the best part was using different NDE methods and working with customers.
Pros
flexible, good pay
Cons
breaks not included
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Iowa State University reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Iowa State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 432 reviews
5231
4135
350
212
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Iowa State University Reviews by Location