Iowa State University Employee Reviews for Tutor

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 432 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Schedule
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 16, 2018
Best thing about working here was being able to schedule your own sessions based on your availability. I also found tutoring beneficial to reinforcing my understanding of the topics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a tutor at Iowa State is a great filler job for anyone with even a slight interest in teaching
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 3, 2018
I originally became a tutor because I needed the money, however after I started tutoring it was hard to stop because I enjoyed teaching students so much. The sessions are as stressful or as relaxed as you make them so you generally control your own pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Tutor - Chemistry & Biology (Former Employee) –  Ames, IASeptember 10, 2018
I enjoyed it. It was rewarding. I had a good relationship with the managers. They were always willing to engage and offer help when needed. The team was always pleasant and easy to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding helping other students
Academic Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAMarch 27, 2018
This was a very rewarding job helping other students learn material that I did well on. Great place to work while being a student at Iowa State University.
Pros
Helping others
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good resume booster
Economics and Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ames, IADecember 26, 2017
I got to teach other students at my school in classes that I had previously taken and excelled in. I spent some time prepping for my tutoring sessions as well as tutoring for 4 hours a week. It's a good way to make some side cash while you're going to school without an extreme time commitment and it looks good on your resume if you're still building yourself up professionally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent school
Math Tutor/Grader (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 8, 2017
I worked as a grader and tutor in the math department. It was fun helping the students grasp mathematical concepts. I also enjoyed the staff. They are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful to communicate
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAMarch 20, 2017
very helpful about communication skills.
improved my presentation skills.
improved my leadership experience.
learned a lot from different people and different perspective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working as a tutor. I gave me happiness to help others with their course.
Mathematics Tutor and Student Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAMarch 8, 2017
The work environment at Iowa State Univ is perfect to grow, experience different cultures and learn new things each day even as a teacher. The students were supportive and genuine and so was the Graduate office officials that hired me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to hone by skills as a student-employee
Student Athlete Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ames, IANovember 12, 2015
I really enjoyed working for these odd and end jobs to help build my character and life skills. They constantly helped me understand that I could go a little further with what I knew or with how I could improve the skills I had. They also were always teaching me new skills and abilities to help make me successful.
Pros
Great experience, fun people, just wanted me to learn
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good one-on-one experiences.
Academic Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAMay 15, 2015
Since tutoring mostly involves me (the tutor) working one-on-one with the student, not much management supervision was necessary. I also became much better at communicating one-on-one with the students and became more patient. The toughest part of the job was writing my own lesson plans as well as exercises for the students. The most enjoyable part was hearing about the success or improvement in the students' academics as a result of my supplemental teaching.
Pros
Flexible hours.
Cons
Not much demand for my particular classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college job
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAAugust 9, 2014
You set your own schedule and still get paid some money if no one shows up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work in ZMY International Inc.
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Ames, IowaNovember 4, 2013
 Made outbound calls to sell imported cars
 Helped manager to arrange shipments for clients
 Generated and analyzed regional weekly sales reports
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Tutor for Engineering Mechanics (Current Employee) –  Ames IASeptember 18, 2013
Great Job. Enjoyed Working there, Good Hours. I really enjoyed it and really think its a good job for anyone. you can work when you want and as little or as much as you can
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, with flexible hours!
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 9, 2013
Typical day: Meet for an hour or two with students, answer questions and provide study guides
Learned: A lot about physics
Management: hands off, but there when you need them
Co-workers: no exposure to coworkers
Hardest part: When tutees didn't care/ didn't show up
Enjoyable part: the "Ohhhh!" moment
Pros
very flexible hours, rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Iowa State University reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Iowa State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 432 reviews
5231
4135
350
212
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Iowa State University Reviews by Location