Iowa State University Employee Reviews

Found 425 reviews matching the search See all 431 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist veterans with their military educational benefits
Veterans Certifying Official (Former Employee) –  Ames, IANovember 4, 2018
Positive work environment. Great supervisors and great benefits. Assisted veterans with their military educational benefits. VA and GI Bill, along with DOD systems working together and integrated into Iowa States records system.
Pros
My supervisors
Cons
time lag between federal government processing benefits to ours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice work environment
Program Assistant/ System Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAOctober 18, 2018
My job at Iowa State University gave me serious and big responsibilities to
Support the business system for annual budget of $52 mil
Assure system reliability for the service of +7200 residents
Maintain operations to manage & protect assets of +$384 mil. being in charge of this and overseeing the safety of more than 7200 students was an honor and overwhelming in the same time.
My management were helpful and Courteous and taught me a lot.
Pros
Allowed me to take classes for my other degree during work hours
Cons
Compensation is on the low bar
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a place to work
worker (Current Employee) –  ISUOctober 17, 2018
ISU is a divided departmental place to work. Siloed. ISU is not ISU as a whole, but rather a group of departments. One department will be better to work for than the other. Diversity and politics trump years and experience. ISU does not value seasoned employees, but rather promotes young inexperienced employees.
Pros
None
Cons
No upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly, and outgoing place to work.
Fisheries Technician (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAOctober 10, 2018
Iowa State was a good place to learn about fisheries. A typical day at work consisted of being on a boat or in the lab going through samples.The hardest part was working on the boat while shocking fish.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good universtiy
Student (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAOctober 8, 2018
Quality university for a good price. Definitely a good choice for out-of-state residents as it is usually cheaper than in-state anyway. I am a student here and it is well worth it.
Pros
Affordable, quality education
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student worker
Student Financial Aid Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAOctober 8, 2018
Super convenient to work on campus as a student. You could only work a max of 20 hours a week. Nice if you have work study as well. Worked with students and parents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Freelance Developer (Current Employee) –  Ames, IASeptember 18, 2018
I have been working at Iowa State for 4+ years, and they gave me help on the internship and giving me hands-on work updating and migrating their system from old to new technologies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Grad School
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ames, IASeptember 17, 2018
As a graduate research assistant, I do research under my major professor, which is very exciting for me work-wise, but compensation for grad students could be (should be) made much better to be perfectly honest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Post-Doctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Ames IowaSeptember 16, 2018
Excellent place and people to work along. Peaceful and safe location.
I highly recommend this place and have really positive reviews about it. Cyclones all the way!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
LAB ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Ames, IASeptember 14, 2018
I loved working at Iowa State University. I worked in the Biotechnology Lab and the people I worked with along with the management was awesome. I loved going into work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Tutor - Chemistry & Biology (Former Employee) –  Ames, IASeptember 10, 2018
I enjoyed it. It was rewarding. I had a good relationship with the managers. They were always willing to engage and offer help when needed. The team was always pleasant and easy to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Family Atmosphere
STOREKEEPER III (Former Employee) –  Ames, IASeptember 7, 2018
Generally a great place to work. We had a great bunch of people working for us and central hub for all the food operations on campus. We also took part in the game day catering for football season which was fun.
Pros
Great Benefits, Free lunches
Cons
Vacation had to be taken when school was not in session
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Story County, IASeptember 5, 2018
Nice work environment. Well equipped laboratories, facilities and resources available. A talented and skilled pool of scientists and professionals to interact with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Equine Veterinary Technician (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAAugust 11, 2018
Great place to learn and develop skills, working with and teaching veterinary students teaches you to adapt your training skills to fit different personalities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iowa State
Supplemental Instruction Leader (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAAugust 8, 2018
It's a great place to work. I benefited from all of my experiences with the fantastic, Iowa State teams. The management teams truly care about the happiness of their team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous Job at Great University
Contract Research Program Coordinator III (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAAugust 5, 2018
Great job! I highly recommend working at Iowa State University. I had a great director that hired me and trained me. The culture and environment at ISU is very welcoming and I was able to learn my job duties very quickly. I was very sad to leave this position.
Pros
Worked independently, traveled, great pay and colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly political
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAAugust 3, 2018
The environment is highly political and, depending on the department, poorly managed. Some great people remain committed to the students and delivering a high-quality education, but most have left -- all that remains are opportunists.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Undergraduate Teaching Assistant - IE 348 (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 28, 2018
I worked as a undergraduate teaching assistant so it was a great opportunity to expand my knowledge in the subject area. It also gave me a chance to build leadership skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good courses
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 11, 2018
The college has great research work. So funding is provided if you are technically good and have a good rapport with the professors.
The campus town is always lively
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and living environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 6, 2018
For a temporary position, it was a wonderful learning environment and great place to be before entering graduate school at a difference place. Professors are of high quality and Ames is small but great to live in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Iowa State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 431 reviews
5230
4135
350
212
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Iowa State University Reviews by Location