Island View Casino Resort Employee Reviews

Showing all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSOctober 24, 2018
Fast paced job very viid job to work Management is great and you can get as many hours as you want the guests are excellent..the benefits are good you have paid time off and good insurance for a little of nothing...rooms are beautiful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Slot Technician (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 26, 2018
Great place to work. Wish I could of stayed. Things happen. Amazing Environment and definetly fun to work there. Don't expect raises. But expect opportunities to grow in the company. They are always trying to improve the facility for the best. Amazing place to work.
Pros
Amazing co workers and fun management.
Cons
No raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the day
Room Inspector (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 22, 2018
Talking with the guest, providing great guest service was the best part. Talking with guest from all over the world was the best part about working at Island View
Pros
great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good manager at the time
Valet Attendant (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 19, 2018
the manager was not a very nice guy. however i hear that he is not there anymore. valet was a high paced fun job to have, but it is more for the younger generation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management/Supervisory
Executive Department (Former Employee) –  MississippiSeptember 17, 2018
Island View should have management training because they tend to promote individuals with terrible people skills to management/supervisory positions. I watched as my supervisor bullied her employees. The employees at the company are great individuals and deserve a professional work environment.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Food is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was not worth the amount of work you were required to complete.
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 14, 2018
I feel like the starting wage should've been way more. The amount of work is ridiculous and too strenuous on anybody. I got "jipped" out of a whole paycheck and nothing was done about it so I just accepted it and moved on.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
the work was too much and the pay was too little.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSAugust 29, 2018
A typical dat at work would consist of getting everything ready for the shift. I learned alot, management good. Just working at Island View was a good place to work at.
Pros
Employee Dining Room for free
Cons
only 30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Housekeeping PAD (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSAugust 28, 2018
The work environment is very good and they give many benefits to the workers and even the meals, it is excellent.
Pros
seguro, vacaciones, etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start housekeeping
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSAugust 28, 2018
Do the job right the first time an you want get call back. Helping people was a great way to motivate yourself to do better everyday. Going to work on time an not calling in was good for the team. It's was new people everyday but to focus on the job an being around good people was fun.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day At Work
Room Attendant/Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSAugust 24, 2018
They make sure that you're fed with the breakfast buffet they provide to make sure that your awake and ready for a busy day at work. I love how nice the staff are, they accompany you to make sure everything is going well and always make sure if you understand everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employment
Housekeeper, Maid (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSAugust 15, 2018
Island view does not give a single care about their employees nor their lifes outside of work. The pay is non negotiable as well as the higher staff abuses their authority.
Pros
Awesome edr
Cons
No time to take a breather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Steward/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSJuly 24, 2018
Great fast paced workplace with good benefits free lunch uniforms provided health care that starts the day you start working and not the ninety days that most jobs make you wait
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for advancement
Mississippi (Former Employee) –  MississippiJune 7, 2018
For six months I worked as a room attendant for Island View Casino Resort and quickly learned that this is not the place for advancement for motivated people. As a result of continuously pushing a housekeeping cart loaded down with supplies, I developed health issues that included a heart murmur and had to be hospitalized for a week. I was advised that housekeeping work is not ideal for me so after discharge from the hospital I left the job. Since then I have earned both my associate and bachelor degrees so that I have more job options.
Pros
free meals
Cons
no raises, no benefits for employees working less than 40 hours a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSJune 5, 2018
Island View is a great place to start your career path. The staff is excellent and knowledgeable in many aspects of the kitchen. Great culture and staff pride
Pros
Free Meals
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whole company has a friendly staff.
Beverage Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMay 24, 2018
I enjoyed working at Island View. I just came to some boundaries that caused me to leave. I loved working with my coworkers. Most were great. Would return if there was an opportunity.
Pros
8 hour shifts, free lunches.
Cons
No raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cook (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMay 17, 2018
The job was very fast paced but i prefer jobs like that. The management was very understanding and determined to teach. The environment was very welcoming
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a stressful place to work
Housekeeping Attendant (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSApril 23, 2018
if you never had worked in housekeeping that's not the job for you it can be difficult some times but if you can hold your head up you can make it I have I been there a year and still going
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Reservationist (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSApril 12, 2018
Pro's and con's just like anywhere else, but the people working there is what made it so great for me. There are no raises, which has always been a bit odd.
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Housekeeper/Laundry (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMarch 25, 2018
Free err for employees, very fast paced job if you don’t keep up you will get left behind. See new faces everyday, there’s always something to do to keep busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment depending on department
Casino Host (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMarch 18, 2018
Customer service, calling and inviting guests to promotions.
The hardest part was being told no on an issue I believed in and having to balance customer service while maintaining profitability for the company. I really enjoyed meeting people from all walks of life. There were calm days and crazy days, which I thrive under that environment.
Pros
meeting lots of people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Island View Casino Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 101 reviews
535
427
322
210
17

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Island View Casino Resort Reviews by Location