J&J Snack Foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 61 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Packing and Shipping (Former Employee) –  Vernon, CAApril 12, 2019
They show to you and train how to work and you don’t know they teach how they work with you and some people are nice and some they don’t... nice job..
Pros
Talkative, communication
Cons
Breaks goes to fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain Experience Quickly
Internal Audit Intern (Former Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJMarch 3, 2019
As an intern, I learned a lot about the quarter-end and fiscal year-end audit process. I was included in the sampling tests used to conduct the audit. The management was great and co-workers were friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Line Worker
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Alsip, ILFebruary 9, 2019
Line Lead especially stayed on phone texting or watching videos constantly. The only time you see him is when it was time to go. The Supervisor, Human Resource Department All Sucked. They were not professional at all. I would never recommend anyone to waste their time there.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Human Resource, Pay, Breaks, and Advancement Opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packaging
Packaging (Current Employee) –  Alsip IllinoisFebruary 4, 2019
Company doesn't pay good don't give no breaks only lunch heavy duty minimum pay all work is heavy duty so we deserve breaks at least 5 minutes 10 minutes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits great company to work for
QA Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vernon, CAJanuary 27, 2019
Friendly personnel, just difficult to get to with LA traffic.

The drive is edging upon 2 hours commute time. Must live in area

Enjoyed setting my work schedule and priorities.

Computer systems top notch and up to date with current programs.

Management is responsive. I learned so much about bakery manufacturing.
Pros
Friendly personnel
Cons
Traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company need to start hiring people with some experience. Instead of people who knows people that just wants a pay check.
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 16, 2019
Country home started as a good place to work but over the year a lot has changed. Not for the better. I have learned a lot but I feel like right now no one is listening.
Pros
Good pay & flexible
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an fair place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Bellmawr, NJJanuary 9, 2019
My Desiree Standard i feel where i was the work and hour was great also the pay. They are very unfair when it comes to deciding the reason to be fired and calling for out for the worst case which you dont tented to happen to you should excused if you have poof.
Pros
Not hard work
Cons
Too many people trying be bosses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management favored
Foodservice Accounts Charge Back Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJNovember 12, 2018
I had absolutely no issues with this company itself; I would still be working for the company if I wasn't being harassed by my immediate supervisor. She worked with the company for over 20 years and whenever I spoke to anyone in Human Resources, I was told she was "untouchable". I had no choice but to seek legal help because it became to much to handle. I ended up settling outside of court. My immediate supervisor was hiring friends, relatives and even neighbors.
Pros
Company was outstanding
Cons
Management played favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful with poor compensation
Warehouse Employee (Former Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJNovember 1, 2018
Between 2007 and 2009 that I worked there, the compensation was very poor given to the stress associated with the job. It was very difficult to make ends meet when I was working there.
Pros
Give free space to park your car
Cons
Stressful and poor compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t recommend
Forklift operator (Current Employee) –  PennsaukenOctober 24, 2018
Hours are not great you don’t get to pick and you can easily get fired as well as getting over worked. In the beginning to work in a freezer it’s good but after awhile you would want a better pay for working in a freezer more than $17.30 an hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun workplace to work at nice people that work there
Mixer Operator (Former Employee) –  Alsip, ILSeptember 25, 2018
It's a nice place to work at fun people to work with it's a company you can grow with they do have overtime with you would want to work overtime working in package real hot
Pros
They don't pay you for your lunch you have a 30-minute lunch
Cons
Only have one brake
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J&j is a snack food corp
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJAugust 18, 2018
During my time a.T j & j I enjoyed what I did because I had been there so long I was use to it every morning.The hardest part was working along side others that work too slow which made my work harder.Overall I enjoy having fun when I could.The best time of the day was meeting different people and getting too know them and where the're from.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its hard work, and very one sided
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Weston, ORMay 23, 2018
They only want certain type of people to work there, and don't care much for the White people, don't give them the same treatment as the regulars. Push harder for you to quit.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, and not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont apply
Line Leader (Current Employee) –  Bellmawr, NJMay 17, 2018
Working for this company really can press your buttons to the max the pay is unfair the management is terrible they are hardly worried about the products they are more worried about the numbers they make.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employee discounts on snacks and beverages
Sr. Cycle Counter (Current Employee) –  Vernon, CAMay 7, 2018
J&J snack foods is a fast paced environment and I have advanced specified knowledge on regular work day. I was given managerial responsibilities to support the production and distribution cycle.

I would meet deadlines to satisfy production needs and prevent shorting customers.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has a great benefits such as stock options.
Industrial Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Bellmawr, NJApril 24, 2018
My overall opinion is that it is a great company to work for. If production gets slow they will lay staff off. You get two 15 minute breaks and a half hour lunch. If you are a smoker they do not allow smoking on the grounds even if your in your car.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Possible layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Director of Sales (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 15, 2018
J & J Snack Foods Corp is a fast paced work place with strong management. They are constantly coming out with new items which allows sales to develop strong relationships in multiple channels.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Sanitation (Former Employee) –  Bellmawr, NJMarch 18, 2018
J&J will make you go thru a temp agency to get your foot in the door with promises of a raise and benefits once you hit 1200 hours. I hit 3600 hours and when asked about advancement was let go instead. They do what they can to keep minimum wage workers rotating in and out of their doors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Product Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 28, 2018
Great experience, although many upgrades in management and in workers is a must. I moved up really fast in the company. Also got experience in machinery.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Food Service Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Belmar, NJDecember 7, 2017
The job was fast paced, co workers were friendly, managers made sure that everyone had and performed their roles. This job gave me the opportunity to meet new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J&J Snack Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 61 reviews
518
415
316
26
16

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.0Culture