J. Crew Group, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 759 reviews matching the search See all 788 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat and unprofessional
Packer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAOctober 13, 2018
Ok for temporary work assignments. Lewd environment very unprofessional. Not enough job stability to consider to become a main source of income. Temps are talked down to and mistreated (just a body). Hardwork goes unrecognized, unexpected send homes if work isn't available. Clicks that you should avoid. No support from temporary agencies just sides with Jcrew. Extremely unprofessional management. Ok if you want a quick short term way to make overtime. Dictatorship if you talk back you go on their DO NOT HIRE list for at least a year.
Pros
Overtime is good
Cons
Perverted and Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
go to a better location
J Crew (Former Employee) –  Victor, NYOctober 10, 2018
director was all over the place. was 2 months in and never trained me on opening duties. was only suppose to close twice a week but ended up closing 4 times a week. director had personal problems so she was focused on her stuff. offered extra hours and time to help her out but she took it defensively. i bet the other locations was better managed properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worker bee job
Visual/ Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAOctober 8, 2018
Never any hours available to work. Not a reliable source of income. I would not recommend this job whose has bills to pay. Nice work environment all things considered.
Pros
"easy job"
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too stressful
Client Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAOctober 8, 2018
This place has gone downhill since changing CEO’s. You’re basically pressured to practically give the merchandise away to the customer if they make a fuss. The employees, especially managers and platform associates who do nothing but delegate responsibilities all day. J Crew was once an easy going fun place to work but now they can’t keep anyone and have training classes just about every other week. And still can’t keep enough associates in the seats to take the endless calls. Thank God I found something else.
Pros
Discount, all the overtime you want
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About the same as most retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Foley, ALOctober 8, 2018
Product is a bit outdated but work atmosphere is great. They will give you as many or as few hours as you want. Very accommodating to personal strengths.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Raw Materials (TRIM) FREELANCE (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 4, 2018
J. Crew is a great place to work at.
The people are very friendly. The company is very fair with their employees.

Benefits are great as well. Also you have work/home balance life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Foley, ALOctober 2, 2018
great place to work. your in the ac all day. management is always there for you when you need them for anything, they have a great selection of cloths.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAOctober 1, 2018
Good company to work for. Great benefits and PTO. Friendly atmosphere, good people to work with. 10 hr shifts with 3 breaks. Many incentives especially during peak season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the long shifts while you can
Retail Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tannersville, PASeptember 28, 2018
The staff is hard to know personally bevause everyone knows everybody for at least 2 years. The managers are amazing but the store is always messy and its outdated. Throughout all of August i got no hours, I ended up having to get a second job because i couldnt pay my expenses.
Pros
They buy food sometimes, flexible schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Packer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 21, 2018
Can be a bit unorganized with job duties and descriptions. Once you establish a routine the job becomes less stressful. They have incentives that are great for the employees to help achieve the company’s goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hyprocritic, poor management
Merchandise processor 2 (Former Employee) –  Lyncuburg, VaSeptember 16, 2018
Such an awful company to work for. The management is not organized and has no idea what is going on. We had a manager fire an employee because he looked at him funny and then wrote it off as production. The turnover rate is incredibly high. I've never worked for a company that hires over 20 employees a week. They can inform you of schedule changes less than 24 hours before your shift. The rules constantly change and the company puts itself ahead of its employees. Many have worked over 40 hours since last Christmas. There is a lot of drama that goes on, not only between employees, but also in management.
Some of the people are good quality people and I honestly had some amazing times at work. Unfortunately, because management rules through intimidation, many of these good quality people leave rather quickly. I certainly haven't lost hope in this company. New leadership is starting to emerge and maybe they can learn from the past.
Pros
Free food sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
International Sales & Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 7, 2018
Great place to work, very relaxed environment, everyone is very friendly, very clean, training or extra help is always available, advancement within the company is always open
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you love shopping j crew is the place to work they have a great discounts
Inspector/Packer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 6, 2018
a day at j crew is good, i work night shift so it was quiet
the hardest part of the job is inspection
management team is fair i learned how to become a leader
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review of J Crew
Picker and Packer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 5, 2018
A typical day at work was sign and go to work. What i learned was how to pack. The management was not around all the time. The hardest was to keep up with the paste. The most enjoyable part was working when no one was talking to me and i was able to do my work while listening to music.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Flemington, NJSeptember 4, 2018
Really enjoyed my time working for J.Crew. It was a very collaborative work environment and everyone that worked with me were incredibly nice people and always willing to help. Discounts were amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work temporarily
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tannersville, PAAugust 31, 2018
Can be a laid back easy going place to work. Get your stuff done and get out - no issues. Typical retail work - ALL holidays mandatory and random/late hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Informative for those who want to build experience
Assistant Manager / Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, SCAugust 30, 2018
-A company with set standards which are not out of reach. A lot of stress for part time employees who just want a "fun/extra job".
- Hardest goals to achieve were getting credit cards because of the demographic we are in, many people would rather use alternative methods / income is higher and do not want a high interest store credit card.
- It was very enjoyable to help the loyal customers - amazing people!
Pros
Discounts, uniform
Cons
Hours, Pay/Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job is better than nothing.
Menswear Stylist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 28, 2018
Although I love menswear, retail is incredibly routine. Nonetheless, it is a job! So you got to give it your best! Always make sure all clients are not only satisfied with their needs but secured for their next trip to our store.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Associate (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 20, 2018
The workplace when I worked there was extremely competitive and not very helpful. I got thrown into my position. My workday typically consisted of handling online orders and helping customers in the changing rooms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Merchandiser picker (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAAugust 14, 2018
Good job easy money just got to work fast paced get good breaks and they are paid nice freindly place and you get paid weekly and sometimes overtime is required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J. Crew Group, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 788 reviews
5267
4270
3162
240
149

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight