J.Jill Employee Reviews

Found 257 reviews matching the search See all 259 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with other women co-workers and customers
RETAIL SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCDecember 4, 2018
Retail Sales Associates are a team and there is no commission for sales. J Jill is provides a generous discount for sales associates. Time off requests are granted so long as submitted in a timely manner
Pros
Nice stores, co-workers and customers
Cons
No advancement available and somewhat lower pay than other retailers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GADecember 3, 2018
A typical day at JJill was greeting customers, and, assisting with selection of apparel.

I learned how to improve my customer service skills.

I was not in a management position.

The workplace culture was amazing! All employees were great people which made working at JJill a lot of fun.

The hardest part of the job was being on your feet.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the customers,and my fellow employees
Pros
The manager
Cons
Standing on your feet the entire shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Late to the modernization game
CRM Intern (Former Employee) –  Norfolk County, MANovember 13, 2018
J. Jill just recently got a new CEO after their last one (the founder) retired. So, this company is going through some modernization pains, and it reflected in the company's comprehension of its workforce and long-term goals.
Pros
Always room for advancement
Cons
Many silos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace busy work place
RECEIVING ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Tilton, NHNovember 8, 2018
There is alot to learn for the position I worked. It was stressful at the start but once i figured out how it all goes together and how each task is done it was a breeze
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goals needed to be met in sales, nice coworkers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILOctober 30, 2018
Good job, I helped with floor layouts, worked the cash register put together outfits for customers. Some physical work required. Can get hectic as we all know around the holiday season you you need to know to to manage your time .Unpacking inventory.
Pros
Discount nice good co-workers
Cons
Nothing just pay was low for what I did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigid, outdated, inflexible
Associate Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 29, 2018
Employment at J.Jill allows for very little to no work life balance. Lunch breaks are discouraged, disrespect for others is accepted in meetings, and data systems are extremely outdated.
Pros
never bounced a paycheck
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, good attitudes toward customers and each other.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKOctober 25, 2018
Limited hours each week for part-timers. Co-workers related to each other very well and there were always good customer relations. Worked cash-wrap as well as prepare clothing for new floor sets.
Pros
Part-time hours
Cons
Part-time hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A chance to learn new skills and advance if you want to.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Victor, NYOctober 20, 2018
J Jill was a good place to work, they allow you to grow and learn. J Jill was looking for the best talent and rewarded those who did well and provided value to the company.
Pros
Learn many new skills daily
Cons
Junk food always in back room.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with Co-workers/Management/Customers
Part Time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Algonquin, ILOctober 17, 2018
Each day is productive because of the staff, managers and of course the customers...Enjoy my time at J. Jill, however I need more hours because my life is going through a change.
Pros
Staff & working with customers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Key holder (Current Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAOctober 10, 2018
I love helping people and you have to love to help people to make this job work.
i love making new friends and this job is 1 that allows you to make friends with the customers
Pros
discount on clothes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent retail job. J Jill has over 300 locations. Listed on NYSE
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CAOctober 9, 2018
I worked as a flight attenda)nt for American Airlines before I worked
at J Jill. ( for 15 years

I have superior public relations skills from the airline job, also

schooled in safety and emergency training, and how to deal with problems

I had a perfect employment record with American Airlines.
Pros
Very responsible from flight attendant job.
Cons
Very long hours in different cities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZOctober 4, 2018
Customers were number 1 while working at J Jill. Co-workers and management were pleasent to work with. They do not handle bullying quite well. Rotating schedules every week.
Pros
Great customers
Cons
Lots of stress from co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Training is given , just expected to learn the Culture
Full time sales lead (Former Employee) –  New JerseyOctober 1, 2018
Very excited for the opportunity to represent a company that I had heard great things about . No such thing as " training" . When new employee's come into the company at first very warm and you are sure you made the right decision , short time the atmosphere
Changed
Pros
Beautiful Clothes and great customers
Cons
Expected to be perfect with no training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive with low pay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLSeptember 7, 2018
I worked at J. Jill so briefly because it was extremely competitive with no benefits/commission. If you didn't make enough sales your hours were cut and it was unfair since selling can be arbitrary. We were all selling similar amounts and people were being cut due to being last in line, sometimes just a few bucks less than the next person. Terrible company to work for, they don't care about their workers. I'd only work the holiday season since that is when there are enough hours and customers to go around for everyone but if I were you I'd quit come January.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
product
In the role as Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 28, 2018
Representing the product was easy sense the items are high quality product. The visual floor set expectation would change every month according to monthly catalog rollout.
Pros
great discount
Cons
no one on one development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jjill is a nice relaxed fun environment with kind helpful people
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAAugust 25, 2018
A typical day at work is nice we get a some customers in the morning and during lunch hours it’s kinda busy but fun because sometimes it feels like you are not actually working and the manger is really nice and very organized and is flexible
Pros
Nice break times discounts
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are adequate, but family insurance is costly.Pay is not competitive.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Tilton, NHAugust 24, 2018
Management is inconsistent. Employees' welfare not taken into priority. Pay is low. Culture is somewhat dismal.. Hardest part of job is not growing with company. Feel like you are a number. Most enjoyable part of job are some of the perks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand-less
Web/Interactive Art Director (Former Employee) –  Quincy, MAJuly 31, 2018
Pros
The company has potential for lots of growth in the future & near future. Most people seem generally happy with there jobs.

Cons
Poor or no sideways communication. Run extremely top down. It's never what's right for the brand, it's what the CEO wants. Corporate bonus is for management only, but feel free to work extra hours (salary only). Slow to adapt new technologies, they'd rather spend less on almost-outdated-systems, which just cost more in the long run. No corporate culture & the company lacks a soul. Senior management revolving door. Management is extremely miss aligned with each other and there lots of conflicting information with no clear direction. Direction from management is never black & white, but always conflicting.

Advice to Management
Share the successes with the people who actually do the work. Real incentives are needed motivate people and help move the company forward & become "a great place to work". Figure out what the J.Jill brand is & stick to it! The brand needs to come first. And the brand needs to understand that it's most important resource, it's soul, is it's people.
Pros
New CEO, should help the culture
Cons
Current Executive Vice President, Chief Merchandising & Creative Officer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working retail
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Skokie, ILJuly 13, 2018
It's a great place to work .I enjoy the one on one interactions with each and every customer . I have learned to interact independently and make each and every interaction with every customer count.
Pros
discount
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Carmel-by-the-Sea, CAJuly 2, 2018
I was part of the management team, we coordinated the flow of the sales team., work schedules and training. I excelled in visual merchandising so i would run the visual merchandising process with my sales team.Learned product knowledge and sourcing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J.Jill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 259 reviews
585
493
349
214
118

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight