Jacksonville University Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JU is a challenging place to work & offers many opportunities to implement new technology.
Jacksonville (Current Employee) –  JacksonvilleSeptember 26, 2018
The IT department is small in size, but offers a lot of services.

The team is very dedicated and it's a great working environment.

Individuals who are able to work independently will appreciate the lack of micro-managing.
Pros
Job duties are wide-ranging and offer experiences to learn many new technologies.
Cons
The pay is not competitive and raises are infrequent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and dynamic place to work
Assistant Director of Admissions (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 12, 2018
If you are a self motivated individual who wants to learn and takes on challenges you will go far in this environment and have no shortage of opportunity. The staff that work here are very caring and the students are motivated and intelligent.
Pros
Education benefits, paid time off, free activities and gym
Cons
Pay is not reflective of the responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student job on campus
Financial Aid Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 29, 2018
First year of college and I decided to do work study. I met many wonderful people during this short period of time. It required a lot of patience but eventually you get the hang of it and everything starts to flow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
college
Lab Manager/Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 15, 2018
while in college worked at the college lab. had great benefits and pay while there and a great opportunity to learn......................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Atmosphere to Thrive In
Helpdesk Technician (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 8, 2018
Productive Atmosphere to Thrive In. A very nurturing environment where one can learn and grow. The opportunity to continuously learn and further knowledge was insurmountable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with some issues
Statistical Analyst (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 30, 2018
It is a nice place to work but there are some issues. The pay is not the best since it is a university. My main problem is that there is no room for advancement within the company. Usually they will look for people outside the university instead of within.
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
Lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Biology DeptJune 21, 2018
Learned a lot. Once you find a professor that actually believes i you and is interested in seeing your work progress, you will have a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was great!
Admissions Office Assistant, Internship (Former Employee) –  Admissions OfficeJune 9, 2018
As an intern, I was allowed ample time to complete my data collection and computer application tasks, and I worked well with everyone in my department.
Pros
My immediate supervisors were professional and very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty simple job
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 16, 2018
There isn't a lot required when working on campus. You actually learn a lot from working for a help desk. Additionally, learning how to speak to different kinds of people is a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private University
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 28, 2018
It is a professional atmosphere with a relaxed way about it. Everyone is friendly, and easy to get along with. It is a culture that promotes health and well being.
Pros
one free lunch a week, nice people to work with/for, time off, holidays, 1/2 day Fridays during summer months.
Cons
salary compensation, lack of raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment
Fine Arts Camp Director (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 23, 2018
Very nice atmosphere, wonderful campus. Great staff and students to work with. Fine arts camp is wonderful opportunity for students to learn and grow in their dance/musical theatre background.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 29, 2018
Jacksonville University is a great place to work. The benefits at JU are amazing. From the 4 weeks of vacation to all of the school breaks you can't beat working at JU.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've learned a lot at JU and I'm ready to move on.
Jacksonville (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 28, 2018
I believe that JU has many excellent qualities. There are some brilliant people in Academic Affairs, and the President is very dedicated to the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position was a starter for computer operations
Computer Operator II (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 24, 2017
This was a starter position to work in the computer field and learned a lot about working with computer hardware. Built 2 computer labs using TRS 80 and converted them to work with a mainframe. This job had a laid back environment
Pros
Stress free
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Assistant Men's and Women's Golf Coach (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 13, 2017
I was a voluntary employee. They treated me well and allowed me to get some coaching experience so I could move up the coaching ranks. I had no issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best cultural college
Building supervisor of Student Commons (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 11, 2017
Made sure the building didn't burn down and overlooked small PROJECTS. helped THE STAFF WITH ANYTHING THEY NEEDED. Great way to meet the work staff and build relationships
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small college faces challenges
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 10, 2017
The small college faces challenges amount the faculty and student body. The faculty is overworked and under paid. The student body is not inclined to be prepared for class, complete the classwork, and argues for a higher grade than warranted under the circumstances.
Pros
location of campus
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a while ago, but fine place to work
Director of Communications (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 24, 2017
It was more than five years ago I worked there, but it was great at that time. I know a lot of people are still there, so that speaks well of it as a work environment, too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacksonville University
Phonathon Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 9, 2017
Jacksonville University is located in a beautiful riverfront setting in suburban Jacksonville, across the St. Johns River from downtown and just minutes from the Atlantic Ocean. The 240-acre campus includes a half-mile of riverfront, oak-lined paths, and a mix of historic and new campus buildings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clay Target Team - Coach
Assistant Coach - Shotgun Team (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 10, 2017
JU has a beautiful campus on the St. Johns River with a staff that cares for each other and the students. The university president is constantly looking for ways to improve the campus for students and staff alike.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacksonville University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 52 reviews
530
415
36
20
11

See reviews about

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

Jacksonville University Reviews by Location