Jamaica Hospital Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 138 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, NY 11418December 25, 2018
Great work Environment. Relaxed, yet fast paced that keeps you busy. Earned a valuable work experience that opened up my perspective of real medical environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gauranteed work
Certified Nurse Aide (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYDecember 18, 2018
I work for the long term care Trump Pavilion, it is guaranteed work, but its difficult because you have 20 patients at a time to clean and change. Its very physically demanding. The staff is great though, we all work together to help each other.
Pros
working together, good pay
Cons
physically demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent culture, warm atmosphere, fast paced environment
Support Care Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, NYDecember 8, 2018
A typical day for me is the night shift in the operating room. My hospital is a level one trauma center and most traumas occur at night. I've learned how to be both task and time oriented in completion of both duties and special assignments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
W.I.C. Health Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, NYNovember 28, 2018
I enjoyed a structured 9 to 5 job and I didn't have to take my work home with me. Having bilingual coworkers is a necessity because the community is very diverse.
Pros
Amazing health insurance
Cons
Cost of parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting Platfirm
Epic Systems Analyst I (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYNovember 23, 2018
JHMC is a great place for those just starting out in their career. They offer a flexible schedule for those who have families or who are still in school, like I was at the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy workday with resident, staff, administrative involvement
Residency Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYOctober 9, 2018
all Office Administration tasks that appears on CV

learned numerous software programs during tenure there

management very approachable

intense workplace culture due to serious nature/patient activity

hardest part of job is trying to obtain relevant information to include
in monthly teaching schedules from 14 different Attending Physicians
who are never available to respond to very pertinent questions

Despite all challenges, clerical staff works well together, supportive of each other when called upon
Pros
prescriptions filled at no charge per JHMC
Cons
Since I had no back-up, all vacations were taken around work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYSeptember 25, 2018
If you would love to get great experience Jamaica Hospital is the place for it. Working here has taught me a lot. I’ve learned my strengths and also my weaknesses. Great place to be at.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Medical interpreter (Spanish/English) (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYSeptember 25, 2018
I love working at Jamaica hospital, specially the connection I have with the patients and doctors. I have learned here how to use a software called EPIC, became a qualified medical interpreter, and how to give HTN and Diabetes education to those patient who need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
patient tranporter
Patient Transporter (Former Employee) –  vanwyck expresswaySeptember 17, 2018
I worked there for a number of years I learned a lot saw a lot it was a fast paced sight but I worked there to start my job status hoping to move up which never happened ,so I moved on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Jamaica Hospital
Lead Central Sterile Technician (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYAugust 27, 2018
It could be a little more strict with the security and better on my salary but other than that I love working here. It could use some free parking as well. The parking price is a little ridiculous.
Pros
free health care
Cons
work 5 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfriendly atmosphere, little team effort
Float Nurse - LPN (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYAugust 25, 2018
I worked a long time ago, but my experience there was somewhat unpleasant, the floors was always hectic, the staff was not welcoming, like I wrote this was a long time ago. I don't know if it remains the same as years ago.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Unfriendly atmospher
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Physician Assistant Student (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 20, 2018
This clinical rotation was a great learning experience for a PA student. Looked forward to going into work everyday and learn more about medicine. Overall great clinical experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Pathologist Assistant/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJuly 14, 2018
Hospital can use renovations and more employee perks . Better cafeteria, benefits, training. The older staff can be complacent and not very helpful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Paid Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, NYJuly 8, 2018
The people I worked with; Nurses, were very friendly. They made sure I didn't feel stressed or pressured. As expected the work was quick paced as we had to deal with incoming patients to the Ambulatory Care unit. It was not hard to handle.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be.
Occupatiknal Therapy Aide (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJuly 6, 2018
Places has definitely changed over the years. Tighter restrictions and staff seem more unhappy. Lots of tension. Management tut has changed and new policies have been implemented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No for sure answers
Patient Navigator (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 26, 2018
Terrible at catering to employees with family issues .

Have great educations experiance

Great stepping stool

Awesome connections

Need better management
Pros
Low pay
Cons
Full blown experiance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company to work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 13, 2018
It was a great company to work for adequate vacation time, personal time and sick time. These factors contributed to me staying in the company for more than seventeen years. It was in Queens near my children school and home. Salary was not great, but other benefits compensated for the moderate salary. Job was challenging, I started as front desk and moved on to become supervisor in less than two years from start date. I was then promoted to manager position that I held until I resigned in 2016.
Pros
Large under served population, this made my job very fulfilling
Cons
salary, work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Risky
RECEPTIONIST/ REGISTRAR (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 5, 2018
Fast paced environment. Not sure how protected employees are from lay offs due to budget cuts. There are Union job opportunities. Full benefits and room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy but fun
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYMay 29, 2018
One is able to rotate positions and learn about the inner-workings of the hospital from all perspectives and in all areas. Everyone is really friendly and there is never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a resident program
Ophthalmic Technician (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYMay 22, 2018
I worked in the ophthalmology department. overall the facility is nice and you learn new things every day. the downside is the manager is very unprofessional. they don't appreciate their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jamaica Hospital Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 138 reviews
542
445
336
27
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Jamaica Hospital Medical Center Reviews by Location