JBG SMITH Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a great company to work for
Assistant Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 25, 2019
I enjoyed working there. And found good friendship with many in the community and company and i grew as an leader with them and i thank them for seeing the leader in me and promoting me for the work and dedication i gave to the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work and lots of diversity
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 15, 2019
Working for JBG Smith was very fun. The staff was wonderful and the people I met were very diverse and amazing. I liked the fact that there was always something to do and you always learned something new.
Pros
Great benefits and amazing people.
Cons
Lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could go either way
CSR, Leasing then Senior Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VA and Pentagon City, VAApril 3, 2019
The company itself is great. JBGS provides benefits and decent pay. Management; however, can be hit or miss. They can either help you grow, or you will be drowned out. I enjoyed the buildings I worked in and I had learned a great deal while here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lease Engineer to multiple buildings (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 29, 2019
Great job. Great vo workers. Plenty of locations to choose from. Fast growing company with great corporate management. Excellent benefits flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviroment
Consultant - Spin-merger (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDMarch 12, 2019
There were multiple projects from senior management on a regular basis. High volume of work with tight deadlines as a result of being a publicly traded company.
Pros
Some flexibility with work hours
Cons
Staff turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Diversity
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 23, 2019
JBG SMITH is a good company, however, it lacks diversity. Most Black employees are at the lower concierge level. They are non-existence at management levels.
Pros
Multiple locations to work
Cons
Lack of Diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JBG Smith
Multi-Site Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  VirginiaFebruary 12, 2019
They are ok to work for they have good benefits in an area that is growing. I have to say the pay is kind of low starting out for some people and there isn't really no job training. You have to learn on the go which is okay but they expect you to be perfect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Property Management Company
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MDDecember 11, 2018
I really enjoyed my experience at the JBG Companies. I started out as a weekend leasing agent and worked myself up to a supervisor. The properties range from older residential properties to newer commercial ones.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Property Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Annandale, VASeptember 21, 2018
While I was with the company I felt like we as employees were taken care of. Meaning a lot of training, we were compensated with luncheons for good job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided great compensation but required 60 hour work weeks
Senior Property Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDJuly 25, 2018
As a Senior Property Accountant for JBG Smith (JBGS) my primary responsibility was maintaining accurate books for the shopping centers which were all separate legal entities.
Pros
Free Bagels
Cons
Poor work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and always learning something new
Utility mechanic (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 12, 2018
The biweekly engineers meeting were very informative.
I had a very good team of guys to work with that always gave 100% or more. I really like the overtime posting when needed.
Pros
Very good food doing the holiday seasons
Cons
Large snow removal task can get over whelming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Lease-Up, Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 13, 2018
JBG had to be one of my favorite companies to work for!
I had a great asset in there portfolio that performed for its self. Had a great team and everyone was super nice. There is a divide between residential and development but it was cool.
Pros
Team Work/Sleek Classy Work Buildings
Cons
Ledership
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food court and shops
BMS (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 22, 2018
The place in the morning is very quiet and I can do my job more relax but when the people start to coming to the food court the place is more hard to work on.
Pros
30 minutes
Cons
15 minutes of break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Beltsville, MDMarch 12, 2018
Barclay Square has a 2 person office. It is very faced paced and busy. Since there is only 1 other person with you it is a very good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and high stress
Employee (Former Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDMarch 9, 2018
- Remnants of old company culture completely gone upon merger.
- Transition due to merger is still underway, outcome is uncertain
- Good benefits but high stress and uncertain job security
- Many in management out of touch with lower level staff
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
High stress, culture has become elitist
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience in Field
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  VAFebruary 2, 2018
Great exposure to management field and training resources. Workplace benefits were good. Thoughtful co-workers and HR department. Most enjoyable part of the job were co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gamble
Lead Concierge (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 2, 2018
I have worked here for over two years and sometimes you get a good team. However that rare and the management style has taken a turn for the worse. You can have colleagues and managers who aren't team players which can affect your performance. When your performance is in question, no one works to resolve it but to keep finding fault in you.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Limited Upward Mobility, Lack of Training, No Structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transition company experience.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Annandale, VAJanuary 25, 2018
Original company had been involved in development and management of a large portfolio of high end properties and section 8. The company also owner commercial real estate as well.
JBG,Inc. Was originally a law firm which purchased the real estate holdings. With little knowledge of the running large apartment complex.
Transition can be challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JBG Smith is a company tht is going places
Assistant Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDJanuary 4, 2018
As a whole JBG Smith is a great company that is employee oriented and effectively managed. JBG Smith has afforded me opportunites over years to gain experiences to help me further my carreer in property management.

JBG Smith prides itself on a teachable environment and encourages promotion within the company.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Small staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company in the real estate company
Project Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 10, 2017
The large company servicing a large Portfolio in the DMV area. A largo number of employees are around the United States. Lots of opportunities within the organization for growth and advancement.
Pros
Growth and advancements within the company
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JBG SMITH. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 52 reviews
518
423
36
24
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.7InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

4.3Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight