JCCA Employee Reviews

Found 171 reviews matching the search See all 172 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 1, 2019
working for JCCA i was a paid volunteer. I enjoyed teaching and being hands on with the children in the after school program. The job and the children were so calm, relaxed and ready to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to Start in social work and Human Services
Individualized Care Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 24, 2019
Cons
-Constantly changing work environment
-Overburdened Case Loads
-Unlimited paperwork
-Untrained and divisive management
-No parking for employees and visitors
-Sporadic policy and pay changes

Pros
-Decent employee benefits
-Paid vacations and sick leave
-Sometimes flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Case Manager, Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 19, 2019
It is okay if you stay out drama and do your work. Make sure to document document document because management is less than par, to be honest. It is a nice place as well, but I hated working late in the area of the job.
Pros
Reimbursements
Cons
Late hours, lack of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYJanuary 24, 2019
• Generated individualized treatment and discharge plans.
• Assessed service needs and assist family in creation of a service plan and review planning goals monthly.
• Performed ongoing clinical assessment of child and family.
• Documented progress of treatment
• Completed Initial Review Summary.
• Completed initial and ongoing trauma assessment
• Attended family conferences.
• Participated in family and/or sibling visits as clinically indicated.
• Assessed and taught parenting skills
• Provided family therapy primarily in home and community settings
• Ensured there is a written visiting plan tailored for every child, that it monitors family progress and that it is updated weekly.
• Provided group treatment in cottage and other settings
• Provided Individual treatment as indicated.
• Provided Crisis intervention as needed
• Prepared individual IL monthly contacts and documentation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYJanuary 13, 2019
This place is terrible to work at. They have extremely poor management and also do not compensate even close to what you need for cost of living . I was a deskop support technician and management had no idea what they were doing , STAY FAR AWAY.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
caregiver supports and services (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 3, 2019
Working as a WSP Provider was a great Experience of me it helping me grow my Career in Social Work. Working with children who has special needs needs trauma behavior was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great place to work.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 20, 2018
You will learn a lot at this company. It is forever busy. You will have many late nights. Do your best to balance your personal everything day life and your work life.
Pros
Great pay and you learn about Foster care.
Cons
Late nights can be daily. Also, sometimes staff don't know everything that is needed to assist you with your clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress job but great experience
Administrative Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 2, 2018
I've worked my way up in preventive services. Started as an intern and am now a supervisor. JCCA values promoting staff from within and does their best to evaluate how to retain staff. However it's a very stressful job to work within child welfare, and it requires building a tough skin to work with clients in their homes in NYC. A lot of ACS and agency mandates, a lot of paperwork and running around. But these are skills that are applicable to every job, and FFT is a great model to learn especially fresh out of social work school. You'll get to work with both children and adults who experience a host of concerns and needs. Administration in Preventive cares about staff and makes efforts to show their appreciation, since it is a tough field to be in. The staff are also all dedicated to the clients, which is one reason I've stayed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and backstabbed
Front (Former Employee) –  New yorkNovember 24, 2018
Was a temp . But had an offer to extend . The office service supervisor decided to change the format of orginazation. With out any notices prior until last minute. And apparently my supervisor didn’t know either which I know is bs. They hired a govt contractor to be a front desk. And don’t even know it will work. Wow. ( I was told)
They don’t care . Only themselves . They don’t follow the mission statement. I have a family too to feed at the wrong time of the year . now being cut off like a plug . It’s all about themselves not about the values of their organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healing hands
Residence Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYNovember 9, 2018
JCCA prides itself on guiding the residents that pass through our door, towards a path of healing and rebirth. Teaching life skills and ways to cope with past trauma.
Pros
Fulfillingwork is done here
Cons
The hours can plave strain on ones personal life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a nice and fun relax place to meet all new people
Youth Advocate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 3, 2018
I just love meeting new people learning new things love taking kids on trips i love to help them when they having problems in there home and they feel like they dont have nobody to come to so that one i step in because im here for everyone
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed seeing the children move on
Crisis Intervention Worker (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYNovember 1, 2018
I was employed byJ.C.C.A. for 8 years I've met a lot of children and staff working there. I've seen many children move on in life but I also witness many children have no other place to go which is heart breaking. There needs to be more productive things for the youth to participate in.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Poor Communcation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the time was a great place to work
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYOctober 30, 2018
While employed at JCCA, the staff, specifically my supervisor was extremely helpful and supportive. Co-workers were respectful and we worked great as a team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job.
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYOctober 21, 2018
I was working at JCCA in upstate pleasantville with children who thought racism and bully was okay, i had to explain that noone deserves to be bullied
Pros
There are good people
Cons
There are bullies and disrespectful people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall great place to work
Health Care Integrator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 17, 2018
Good place to work; co workers make you feel like home away from home turnover rate was too high; worker retention fell behind; The CEO tried to keep employees informed of the states changing laws and program expectations
Pros
great distance from family
Cons
annual threats of departmnt losing funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Milieu Counselor (Current Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYSeptember 9, 2018
Great learning experience. Program ran smoothly and support is 100%. Provides company vans to pick commuters up from train stations. And provides great benefits.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Preventive Services Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 5, 2018
Working here is good. room for growth and advancement. Friendly staff and inviting environment. Employee really care about the work. Home visits are the hardest part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program has crumbled due to poor administration
Individualized Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 24, 2018
Initially as an ICC, I had a very supportive supervisor who was very knowledgeable of the field and social work in general. Said supervisor always tried to support the team, despite agency turmoils and sudden program changes. This changed when the team was left with no supervisor and no type of supervision/support. Current administrative team has little knowledge on program protocols which trickles down to the workers and negatively affects clients and services.

WSP workers are never available due to shortage of staff, but if WSP team is sanctioned, called out, or if they are audited, the workers magically appear and they are assigned to cases overnight, if possible (to cover themselves). If you are a prospective WSP, please stay away unless you enjoy NOT being paid for your work.

Parents will often act out physically and verbally aggressively towards coordinators, if WSP services are delayed or not implemented at all, which is the case, in some cases. WSP issues are a main reason for the high ICC turnover rate.

Agency-wise, the agency is structured and provides generous benefits. In conclusion, the agency will benefit from closer managing of specific programs which are currently cumbling due to administrative staff uncapable of successfully running the program(s).
Pros
Generous PTO and vacation hours, has a union
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waiver Service Provider
Waiver Service Provider (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 24, 2018
Once you are paired with a good parent who is supportive of the service, the job will be done more effectively if you are committed. As long as you make and keep the schedule with families, they services goes well and they pay extremely well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Interesting !
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 20, 2018
Overall the work place has a very positive Environment and lots of paper work and accountability. The managers are nice and take time to explain things that maybe difficult to understand. The Office is readily available to you if you run out of time and catch up on work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 172 reviews
550
456
336
212
118

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture