JE Dunn Construction Employee Reviews

Showing all 92 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd go back immediately.
QA/QC Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 29, 2019
I truly loved working or this company. It was very unfortunate that I was laid off in 2008 due to the economy and the need for placement of long term employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and easy-going people
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 22, 2019
The day-to-day varies heavily depending on your role. In the project management role, one is expected to be onsite and help manage subcontractors, the schedule and budget of the project.

The great majority of my peers were hardworking and easy-going. Sometimes long days are required, but that's part of the industry.

The company makes an effort to support community service organizations and to grow its employees.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Salaries are a competitive, but still lower than some of its main competitors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Plattsburgh, NYJanuary 18, 2019
Great place to work. Great pay. Easily likeable boses and coworkers. Paid gas and hotel stays. On the road work was great. I enjoyed every minute of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Mason brick layer (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COJanuary 9, 2019
The management was good, safe work place, the pay was good. I learn how to frame, dry wall, lay brick and block. I learned out to work safe and how important a clean work area is to make a job more safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would be my last option
skilled laborer (Former Employee) –  Buckhead AtlantaDecember 24, 2018
Family first is a myth they promote.They have more supervisors that are still green than skilled workers. They do not care about the workforce.oniy concerned about production. Foreman had no power and ability to manage workforce. Management has passive aggressive attitude instead of addressing concerns and issues of workforce. Extreme favoritism displayed borderline prejudice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some people in positions are more than a nightmare
VDC Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 14, 2018
I worked and from the start, was belittled and treated horribly by my boss and for reasons unclear. I actually enjoyed the company I directly worked with just fine, but my supervisor was a complete nightmare, which has left a bitter taste in my mouth about how peple like this get into the position they're in. Never been treated like this by a co-worker, less a supervisor.
Pros
Good company, great benefits, good pay
Cons
Horribly managed management structure, no process to properly address abuse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
TRADE FOREMAN (Former Employee) –  Nashville , TnOctober 19, 2018
Enjoyed working with JEDunn! They like to promote and give you great opportunities! I worked with them in Nashville Tennessee as a tradeforeman! They was very good to me!
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Need more work in Dallas/Ft Worth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and competitive loving work family
Clean up crew (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKOctober 10, 2018
Very loving friendly atmosphere great people who love challenges competitive fast paced at times or layed back depends on how well you function on the jobs very nice company to work for great benefits and opportunity equil right act non judgemental very caring company.
Pros
Cooled lunch area with vending machines
Cons
Very on safety alert and great bosses
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where understanding with personal / family situations
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJune 17, 2018
I loved working with JE Dunn. I was disappointed that in had to move away from them to another state. They are an amazing company to work for and if they had jobs near me I’d join them again in a heart beat.
Pros
Great management and safety overview
Cons
None that I can think of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company, disconnect between upper management and lower
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 13, 2018
great people, great learning experience, as with anywhere there were great managers and not so great managers. There is a disconnect between the company's goals/values and the lower management's execution of them. I do love their more recent safety initiative, they are becoming very safety conscious, which is great for everyone!
Pros
Fast paced, safety culture, great people
Cons
Top heavy, advancement stunted by unwillingness to travel far
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management is non existent
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 8, 2018
Human Resources dept is a joke. Upper management and executives are not friendly and do not associate with any administrative positions. Management is so poor and no training to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 27, 2018
Work hard, play hard. Long hours but in-house gym, pool table, putting green, shuffle board, and bar.
On-going hands on experience in construction
For most part good management.
Lots of drama from Admins
Most enjoyable was visiting project sites and meeting with owners, architects and subcontractors.
Great to see a building come out of the ground and become part of the skyline. Very rewarding.
Pros
great benefits, room for advancement
Cons
management needs a reboot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Experience
Office Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 24, 2018
This was my first full time job experience, just as an intern. I loved the people I was surrounded by and the task and responsibilities given to me. Such a great company!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 13, 2018
I learned how to all this technology like reyblue vm360 cimc a lot of safety coordination and how to perform good drywall framing acoustical and finishing work.
Pros
Free ppe
Cons
Short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They keep there ^ss kissers employed,more than hard ,dependable worker,
Mason (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSFebruary 28, 2018
There ok if they have the work,they hire who the they want.l was a good mason,just didn't kiss there ^sses,just did my job,I was hard working and dependable.
Pros
Union
Cons
They only keep the ones that kiss there ^sses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Conditions
Senior Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 19, 2018
Working for JE Dunn was a great experience in all aspects. I had the opportunity to work with many qualified people and learned many valued ideas that I hope to use. All information that I have learned were all in being a better safety person. I was treated very fairly and took part in being part of the JE Dunn family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at je dunn
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 5, 2018
Great place to work
management was supportive
Well respected construction company
Great corporate values with high integrity
Provides solid opportunity for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laborer
Laborer (Former Employee) –  MissouriJanuary 24, 2018
Its a safty work company i miss working for them hopefully one day i could work for them again the company is out of Missouri i miss all the good work and friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy place to work.
Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 23, 2018
Overall my experience with Dunn has been a good one. Depending on the department the energy was great, and always learning something new about the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Mobile Crane Account Rental Manager (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJanuary 17, 2018
Love the company and benefits. Don't like the travel involved.
Very progressive company with good opportunity for advancement.
if you are looking for a career with a stable company I would highly recommend looking at JE Dunn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JE Dunn Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 92 reviews
542
426
311
29
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight