JE Dunn Construction Employee Reviews

Showing all 83 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company, disconnect between upper management and lower
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 13, 2018
great people, great learning experience, as with anywhere there were great managers and not so great managers. There is a disconnect between the company's goals/values and the lower management's execution of them. I do love their more recent safety initiative, they are becoming very safety conscious, which is great for everyone!
Pros
Fast paced, safety culture, great people
Cons
Top heavy, advancement stunted by unwillingness to travel far
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management is non existent
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 8, 2018
Human Resources dept is a joke. Upper management and executives are not friendly and do not associate with any administrative positions. Management is so poor and no training to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 27, 2018
Work hard, play hard. Long hours but in-house gym, pool table, putting green, shuffle board, and bar.
On-going hands on experience in construction
For most part good management.
Lots of drama from Admins
Most enjoyable was visiting project sites and meeting with owners, architects and subcontractors.
Great to see a building come out of the ground and become part of the skyline. Very rewarding.
Pros
great benefits, room for advancement
Cons
management needs a reboot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Experience
Office Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 24, 2018
This was my first full time job experience, just as an intern. I loved the people I was surrounded by and the task and responsibilities given to me. Such a great company!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 13, 2018
I learned how to all this technology like reyblue vm360 cimc a lot of safety coordination and how to perform good drywall framing acoustical and finishing work.
Pros
Free ppe
Cons
Short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They keep there ^ss kissers employed,more than hard ,dependable worker,
Mason (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSFebruary 28, 2018
There ok if they have the work,they hire who the they want.l was a good mason,just didn't kiss there ^sses,just did my job,I was hard working and dependable.
Pros
Union
Cons
They only keep the ones that kiss there ^sses
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Conditions
Senior Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 19, 2018
Working for JE Dunn was a great experience in all aspects. I had the opportunity to work with many qualified people and learned many valued ideas that I hope to use. All information that I have learned were all in being a better safety person. I was treated very fairly and took part in being part of the JE Dunn family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at je dunn
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 5, 2018
Great place to work
management was supportive
Well respected construction company
Great corporate values with high integrity
Provides solid opportunity for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laborer
Laborer (Former Employee) –  MissouriJanuary 24, 2018
Its a safty work company i miss working for them hopefully one day i could work for them again the company is out of Missouri i miss all the good work and friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy place to work.
Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 23, 2018
Overall my experience with Dunn has been a good one. Depending on the department the energy was great, and always learning something new about the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Mobile Crane Account Rental Manager (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJanuary 17, 2018
Love the company and benefits. Don't like the travel involved.
Very progressive company with good opportunity for advancement.
if you are looking for a career with a stable company I would highly recommend looking at JE Dunn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully Culture is tolerated
staff (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 11, 2017
Stay away from this place. JE Dunn touts Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.

Coworker makes fellow employees the subject of constant ridicule. And despite sending a formal complaint through the ethics hotline, this has not been addressed and continues to happen.

Bully Culture is tolerated
Pros
None at this time
Cons
JE Dunn touts Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully Culture is tolerated
Staff (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 11, 2017
Stay away from this place. JE Dunn touts Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.

Coworker makes fellow employees the subject of constant ridicule. And despite sending a formal complaint through the ethics hotline, this has not been addressed and continues to happen.

Bully Culture is tolerated
Pros
None at this time
Cons
JE Dunn touts Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully Culture is Tolerated
Staff (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 11, 2017
Stay away from this place. JE Dunn touts Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.

Coworker makes fellow employees the subject of constant ridicule. And despite sending a formal complaint through the ethics hotline, this has not been addressed and continues to happen.
Pros
NONE at this time, Could be great.
Cons
Policy of Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Carpenter/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2017
Cool able to enjoy working with the company superintendents are okay sometimes hard to work with and they also lay off with no warning or heads up .good company overall
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a laid back job
Firewatcher (Former Employee) –  Biloxi, MSOctober 15, 2017
a typical day at work was just walking around signing a sheet of paper. The most enjoyable part of the job was walking around on the army base seeing different equipment. i really enjoyed working here
Pros
just sitting around doing nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recognizable Name
Construction Foreman (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 25, 2017
Dunn is a fast-paced, competitive environment. With good compensation and benefits due to Union workers, but a restrictive policy for advancement. It also offers a level of job security as the hold contracts with local hospitals, school districts, etc.
Pros
recognizable name in the community
Cons
restrictive advancement practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 21, 2017
always know what your daily task are foreman mark shumaker was professional and detailed very good leader.
never micromanaged, always had tools and material to finish tasks
Pros
safety first
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Project Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2017
Working at JE Dunn was awesome and I have no complaints what so ever. I loved the culture and how everybody treats you.When the Hurricane hit everybody was so helpful and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working peers - horrible mid and upper managment
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 11, 2017
They have a lot to learn. Hope the Mult. County Courthouse is going great. No training for inward PCs, PCs are the working office labor. Should be paid better. PMs are high and mighty but rely on PCs to give them the information. Bad stressful working dynamic and the VP BE sucks!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JE Dunn Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 83 reviews
537
425
39
28
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight