JE Dunn Construction Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Conditions
Senior Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 19, 2018
Working for JE Dunn was a great experience in all aspects. I had the opportunity to work with many qualified people and learned many valued ideas that I hope to use. All information that I have learned were all in being a better safety person. I was treated very fairly and took part in being part of the JE Dunn family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at je dunn
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 5, 2018
Great place to work
management was supportive
Well respected construction company
Great corporate values with high integrity
Provides solid opportunity for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy place to work.
Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 23, 2018
Overall my experience with Dunn has been a good one. Depending on the department the energy was great, and always learning something new about the industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully Culture is tolerated
Staff (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 11, 2017
Stay away from this place. JE Dunn touts Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.

Coworker makes fellow employees the subject of constant ridicule. And despite sending a formal complaint through the ethics hotline, this has not been addressed and continues to happen.

Bully Culture is tolerated
Pros
None at this time
Cons
JE Dunn touts Best People, Right Culture, but does not practice this philosophy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Carpenter/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2017
Cool able to enjoy working with the company superintendents are okay sometimes hard to work with and they also lay off with no warning or heads up .good company overall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a laid back job
Firewatcher (Former Employee) –  Biloxi, MSOctober 15, 2017
a typical day at work was just walking around signing a sheet of paper. The most enjoyable part of the job was walking around on the army base seeing different equipment. i really enjoyed working here
Pros
just sitting around doing nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 21, 2017
always know what your daily task are foreman mark shumaker was professional and detailed very good leader.
never micromanaged, always had tools and material to finish tasks
Pros
safety first
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Project Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2017
Working at JE Dunn was awesome and I have no complaints what so ever. I loved the culture and how everybody treats you.When the Hurricane hit everybody was so helpful and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very happy with the trust there was
carpenter foreman (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 23, 2017
Very well managed with quality and safety being very important very fair with employees always having opportunity for advancing there work ethic is top notch
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
At times a little light on laborers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good individuals
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 28, 2017
Phones, prepping office modules, taking orders, billing. Learned new database. Good front management. Supplying job sights with equipment and parts. Some trouble in getting replacement office assistant, but wound up with a great one and a new friend.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
smart mouth men at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did have the ping pong table for stress relief, but the management was not good.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 23, 2017
Most of the people were great and I have my two new best friends from working here.
The management was like a bunch of college kids with no respect for the client or employees. A couple management people did their work as should be done, but the rest I would say no.
The hardest part of the job was putting up and shutting up about the management as it was only a 1 year job for me. I treated them with respect as I was taught that way.
Pros
The people I met
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Competitive Work Environment
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  UndisclosedJune 20, 2017
A typical work day starts before 7:30 AM and does not end until 5 PM. Lunches are usually eaten at your desk. The work is meaningful, but the environment is difficult - it seems as though everyone is drowning in workload. It is expected that you work from home during nights and weekends.
Cons
Poor work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 26, 2017
Good company as far as a general contractor but being acknowledged for your day to day hard work is rarely there. Management often gets caught up into job site politics and can leave a site feeling like high school at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Place I've Ever Worked
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 21, 2017
This is the best company I've ever worked for! I worked in a very supportive, relaxed, friendly environment with wonderful people. Management was approachable, helpful, and showed gratitude for everyone's efforts. It's unfortunate the project came to an end, but I would go back in a heartbeat!
Pros
Friendly People, Company Outings
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not about what you know it's who you know
End User Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 3, 2017
I loved my job and what I did for the company. All it takes is one bad apple especially if the bad apple is your manager. If it wasn't for the person I worked under the position would have been amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 4, 2017
JE Dunn is a great company. They treat their employees very well. The hard part is getting assigned to a team you work well with. Once with a team, you are stuck with them for a year plus, and it is hard to move.
Pros
Great benefits, great upper management
Cons
bureaucratic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast growing company
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 28, 2017
Great place to work for. They have a very young and fun workforce. A lot of new engineers starting every week. Its a growing company and they have branches all the US.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a very forward thinking group
Senior Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MODecember 20, 2016
I enjoyed the whole time working for JE Dunn. This company did provide advancement on many levels. Unfortunately the company relies heavily on Sub-Contractors to complete many of it's major projects. This weighs heavily on the requirement for company supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, good benefits
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 30, 2016
Solid company, good values and room for growth. Free parking, lunch and gym. Profitable and provides good benefits. I have enjoyed working here the last several years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is very community supportive, family oriented
Quality Control Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 19, 2016
Professional and very respectful of its employees. very concerned about a healthy life style for all employees and gives great incentives to be healthy.

Workdays were long. Work was challenging!
Pros
Great benifits for a healty life style
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JE Dunn Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 34 reviews
514
412
34
23
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.3

3.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight