Jedson Engineering Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place
Designer - Mechanical (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH 45202February 28, 2018
Left a decent job to go to Jedson and 5 months later laid me off for lack of work!!! Tried to bring in work but not enough time went by to bring that to fruition. Travel a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor at project execution
Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 15, 2018
Poor at project execution. Desperately need professional project controls but do not want to pay for it. If you are not billable, you are out the door. Business development is weak so there is constant uncertainty if you will have work after you completing a project. They rely heavily on a "personality test" to make hire and promotion decisions. The "personality test" has been widely discredited and been compared to Phrenology.
Pros
Exempt employees are generally compensated for hours worked over 40
Cons
Problems with technology (phones not working, service for printers, etc.)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 5, 2017
i worked for not too long, but i had to quit due to personal reasons. Jedson has great senior management team, and i had great opportunities to grow career and technical skills, and i loved the great work environment and locations. Thanks for everything.
Pros
management team and my lead are awesome
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, Can-do attitude
Contract process engineer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 2, 2017
I enjoyed the 9 weeks I worked there in July-October 2015. Too bad there wasn't more work.

Jedson worked as satellite offices on the same contracts. Like most small companies they bring in expertise as needed to coach their inexperienced direct-hires. With that said, my experience as a contractor was smooth-sailing. Great company.
Pros
Reimbursed parking downtown.
Cons
Lack of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drunken Lead Piping Designer
Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 26, 2017
I mean it. The lead piping designer would come into work drunk. His name is Tony. The office manager would cover for him too even though I brought up my concerns since we were dropping our workload because of it. Be VERY careful about working here. A shady group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was challenging, rewards were missing.
Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 19, 2017
Work with employees was great - hard working people.

Sometimes some of the management team did not provide great direction. Their vision did not match their action plan very well. They promoted and kept underperforming employees way to long.
Cons
no pay for training or recognize the need to invest in good training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Electrical Power Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALMarch 16, 2017
It is a good place to work. The staff is very enjoyable, the managers whom you communicate directly are very knowledgeable in their fields. The open door policy is also very helpful because your questions can be answered immediately which helps a lot in the dynamic of the completion of a project.
Pros
Enjoyable staff, knowledgeable managers, good pay, good 401K match
Cons
Not a constant (Or balanced) work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glad to get out of there
Designer (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 5, 2016
Poor management and lack of communication between all the offices. You are forced to take lunch at a certain time. The office is in Mobile now, so no Bay view.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees Compete for Work within the Company
Control Systems and Instrumentation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 2, 2016
Being billable keeps employees competing with each other. When work is abundant it is a stable place to work. You may leave for any reason and they may let you go for any reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Engineering Shop
Senior Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCJanuary 28, 2016
The Raleigh, NC Pharmaceutical line of business is a start up branch with several very talented Engineers of several disciplines.
They are not, however, established well enough to land the execution of their design work.
The work atmosphere is above average and there seems to be a solid cohesiveness between the disciplines.
The focus should remain on the Engineering tasks, and I have no doubt that they will acquire more local long-term clients as their reputation for creating an above average product spreads within the RTP area pharmaceutical industry.
Pros
The new office space is currently very open and bright, it is across the street from a popular venue and has a gym available for its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse than a job shop
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALNovember 7, 2014
Work load is erratic. Office management is done from Cincinnati. Quality of work is erratic due to flood of recent hires, resulting in recent loss of some clients. There are no day-to-day senior leaders in the office. Recent office management had no follow through, would quickly lose sight of objective. Thankfully they were transferred. Office is very noisy, has open floor plan. Most the people in the office have been at company less than a year. Office does have nice view of bay.
Pros
Office is convenient to lunch places.
Cons
Pretty much everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jedson Engineering. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 12 reviews
52
44
30
25
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
1.9Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.4Culture