Jewell Events Catering Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 10 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
42
31
21
12
Ratings by category
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 10 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, easy to pick up
Captain / Waiter (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 13, 2018
Wonderful part time job run by amazing people. I would recommend this job to high schoolers and above, its an easy way to make money. Works well around your schedule, and if you are efficient and quick and organized, you will do just fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Outlook
Sever/ Catering Setup (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2017
This was my favorite job to every work you will learn how to set tables decorate events in a nice and timely matter, server at a nice and neat pace also how to pull wine. It was just such an incredible feeling to see the faces of our clients come into the venue with a big smile and at the end of the night tell us how much they enjoyed our services!!!!!
Pros
Paid vacations, Benefits, become very experience in this feild
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place and Events
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 30, 2017
A great place to work. Fast paced an great place to learn new things. Management is great, allows you the opportunity to express yourself. Your ideas are welcomed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably the most hostile environment I've ever worked in
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 15, 2016
Retirement age "executive chef" that's a Napoleon-esque warlord, that can't cook. Openly hostile namesake owner. Kitchen skylights that leak when it rains. One of the worst places I've ever had the misfortune to set foot in. Avoid.
Cons
Mandatory breaks you do not get to take.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult managment food quality terrible
Bartender (Former Employee) –  ChicagoMay 27, 2015
This used to be a nice environment and happy place.

It has gone downhill and will never be the same unless something changes.
Cons
Management Awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun environment
Waitress/Captain (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 15, 2015
I loved my time with Jewell Events. The people are great and work hard to make every event they put on seem effortless. We worked hard to please the customers and provided great service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and a very fun environment.
Catering Staff (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 14, 2013
A typical day includes setting up the venue for the event, serving a meal and cleaning up afterwards. The hardest part of this job is the heavy lifting but co-workers make it a fun work environment. I've learned that so much more work goes into events that I ever knew.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
way too commercial
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 6, 2013
worst/non-competitive pay, horrible management and a careless/novice staff
Pros
number of events
Cons
worst/non-competitive pay, horrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, outgoing people, many employees, always something to do.
Wait Staff/Porter (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 24, 2012
Preparing for parties/events. Maintain outgoing and positive attitude. management was nice and very professional. Co-workers were all good people and hard workers. Hardest part of job was traveling to and from work by train every day. Most enjoyable part was probably the hours you can get and all the meals they fed us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jewell Events Catering. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Jewell Events Catering Reviews by Job Title

Jewell Events Catering Reviews by Location