Joe's Crab Shack Employee Reviews

Found 881 reviews matching the search See all 883 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  North Myrtle Beach, SCDecember 4, 2018
I enjoyed these past 5 years working at Joe’s Crab Shack. Some days were fun and others were a little challenging. I enjoyed seeing guest come back and compliment on the service. I really enjoyed making the guest laugh and interacting with them. I’ve even had the privilege and honor of serving one our cooperate chefs parents. They spoke very highly of me and they recommended that when they came back down that they wanted me to serve them. I’ve learned patience, and bettering my communication Skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Server/Food Runner (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CADecember 3, 2018
really fun place to work at. you have to be outgoing and not shy. lots of cool people to talk too. I feel like everyone should work at restaurant because it can really change your life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place, you'll get a meal and show
Greeter/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCDecember 3, 2018
i love to dance and have fun it not only put a smile on my face but as well as other faces! i have a kind heart and love to make people smile so that was a great fit for me
Pros
discounts
Cons
expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring place to work
Prep cook (Former Employee) –  North Myrtle Beach, SCDecember 2, 2018
The work is easy. The general manager is difficult to work for. If you get too many hours in one day she will cut your days later in the week. The air conditioning doesn't work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great time
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDDecember 1, 2018
first serving job great way to learn tetrode at a novice level. great experiences. great managers, awesome activities, fun environment for families and children
Pros
discount on food
Cons
unpredictable shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WANovember 27, 2018
I really enjoyed working in a fast paced environment and enjoyed dancing for the guests at dinner as a part of job description. I organized banquets for up to 20 individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Worth It
HOST (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 25, 2018
I have been working at Joe' for a little over six months now and, in all honesty, I did not plan on staying this long. I liked the job at first, but over time I got to see just how horrible this place is. On multiple occasions, crew members have been told to come into work regardless as to whether or not they are sick and have been denied the ability to go home if sick on the job. You are constantly overworked and underpaid and stressed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good food
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Cedar Hill, TXNovember 24, 2018
Great work place lots of fun to work at good fresh crab by the boat loads managers were nice servers were nice i did alot of food prep in the mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Host (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CANovember 10, 2018
Overall Joes Crab Shack is a good place to work however, there are certain things that get overlooked and people given passes for that really shouldn't.
Pros
Discount, great people, good tips
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place ever
Bartender and Server (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHNovember 3, 2018
best food. best entertainment. best staff. I like the dancing. I like the crab buckets. I enjoy the dessert. everytime we go here we have an awesome time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Server (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CONovember 1, 2018
Will bribe people to get five star reviews because the restaurant is Not ran properly . Served wrotten crab knowingly to customers. Not a good experience to say the least
Pros
Food can be tasty depending on cook
Cons
Management is a joke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Host (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJOctober 31, 2018
A really fun place to work. I enjoyed my time there and the friends I made. I moved back home to PA from NJ so I had to leave the job and everyone I met behind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dancing and discounts
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 31, 2018
Overall casual environment. The new GM lost alot of good people by not getting to know them before taking away responsibilities they had earned.
I was working towards manager. His first week he stripped me of everything I had worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun dancing and great staff
Server (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 23, 2018
Joe’s Crab shack is fun to work at first, but dress code is strict and there is a lot of drama if you get into it. Managers are nice but can be very strict, even if no customers are inside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to.work .
SERVER (Former Employee) –  KentuckyOctober 22, 2018
Omg lets just say it was alot of fun we would have to dance for the guest and do sales we did alot. It wa on the river so it was niice .i had to move to Georgetown Ohio so i couldnt stag workimg there or i would of nice place to work
Pros
Yes free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Closed
Server, Bartender, and Certified Trainer (Former Employee) –  Merrillville, INOctober 20, 2018
Business closed. Closed as of August 2017. Was a fine place to work before closing. Do not apply, business is closed.out of business, filed bankruptcy.
Pros
Good managers
Cons
Business closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviroment good food
Line cook prep cook dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 15, 2018
fast paced good pay learned a lot about sea food management was ok the employees a real positive place to work at times it can be very busy but that makes the day go by quickly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LAOctober 11, 2018
Fun job, work was always exicitng and staff easy to get along with. The customers were friendly. The food and drinks are good. I would recommend this job yo others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Moore, OKOctober 8, 2018
i was a great job i loved waitressing and taking care of people it was fun and easy going i really enjoyed working at Joe's i really enjoy waitressing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Overall Experience
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  North Myrtle Beach, SCOctober 3, 2018
I received in depth training at the location in Clifton, New Jersey. I mainly did on my own because I was transferring to North Myrtle Beach and they did things differently there. The benefits were great, schedule was flexible as far as managers helping each other and upper management was always reachable to answer and disect problems.
A typical day depended on the shift a manager worked. It was always long hours in the summer but even longer hours in the winter. Hours of operation did NOT change in the winter months even though the business was not there.
Pros
Food was free for manangers
Cons
Long hours and limited vacation time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Joe's Crab Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 884 reviews
5226
4253
3263
278
164

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP50%
In the Top 50% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Joe's Crab Shack.

Powered by Comparably