John Hancock Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 315 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5114
4117
370
26
18
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 300 reviews matching the search See all 314 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Roof, One Team
MANAGER, PARTICIPANT SERVICES (Current Employee) –  Westwood, MAMay 16, 2018
Spirit of collaboration is felt throughout the organization. Each part of the organization respects other teams with the strong understanding that our clients are first and we have to to do whatever it takes to achieve customer satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented, work load not well managed
Underwriting Consultant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 16, 2018
A typical day consisted of doing personal assigned caseload and then about half the day in back up for others workload that were behind. Caseload distribution did not appear well managed.
Pros
Excellent customer service/relations
Cons
Caseloads appeared unevenly distributed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office drone
Attorney (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 14, 2018
I have not worked there in 15 years, but I can not imagine much has changed.. Very corporate office setting and job. Think cubicle after cubicle. If you ever saw Office Space...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
DATA ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 9, 2018
you can work from home many day, co-works all very nice and friendly, work will be stress, but have some fund after work. good benefit like health care.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job
Insurance Agent/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 9, 2018
Company is a great place to work for the office environment
Makes you feel importation. Your office manager really encourages you to excel On the job in sales. However it’s still up to the individual to increase his or her pay portfolio by the sales and good referral from friend family cold calls and previous Customers
Pros
Nice Environment
Cons
Commission pay pay for your health insurance no pension
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Finance Sales (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIApril 27, 2018
Sought out qualified new clients by coordinating and presenting seminars on long term care insurance for various groups. Consistently interacted with retirement centers and various establishments by attending and sponsoring numerous business networking events. Solicited and contracted with small to mid-sized businesses to display and market proprietary insurance products on a weekly basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and culture
Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 25, 2018
Terrific local leadership in Southern California. Had the necessary support and resources of the time. Was provided great training and a mentor, that is still my mentor today!
Pros
Products, solutions, team, support
Cons
Compensation was very low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 5, 2018
John Hancock was a very stressful place to work. We typically had more work than the staff could handle. The best part of working there was the friendships I developed with my coworkers.
Pros
Great Coworkers
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Life Agent (Former Employee) –  Financial Services repApril 2, 2018
Fun job, great to meet people and work to improve individuals financial portfolios. Management very fair, great sales meetings, good energy within office as well as diversity
Pros
freedom, unlimited earnings
Cons
cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful job
Executive Secretary for Vice President of Death (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 26, 2018
There was always a lot of supervisors around. Very easy to get time off when requested. The office is very professional and a happy place to work. Most of the employees are polite and professional and always willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend
Insurance Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHMarch 3, 2018
I would simply not recommend this company to others based on my experiences. John Hancock needs to change their leadership/structure and listen to their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, friendly people
Actuary (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 1, 2018
Overall enjoyed the company, at times it could be a bit slow paced but that could have just been my specific group and position. Very formal culture if that is something you're interested in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 18, 2018
Good Company. International company. Nice offices. Not much room to grow or advance career. great benefits. would like more workalike balance. not hard work depending on the field. management okay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance
Staff Administrator (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, CTFebruary 13, 2018
learn many different life ins contacts'
phone work
accepted payment
works as staff administrator
worked close with the insurance sale rep
hardest part was when the company closed out office
Pros
did not charge to take lunch
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but management was difficult
Underwriting Executive (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILFebruary 4, 2018
Work was interesting. Nice facility. Management was difficult. It was a good experience to work with larger clients with self funding. Company closed our location and moved to Detroit. I didn't want to move.
Pros
Nice Facility
Cons
Direct management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build experience
Mutual Funds Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 27, 2018
Relaxed work culture, moved to 37.5 hours per week and business casual dress code all week long. Management is a little bit of a mess, but they are working on fixing that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 25, 2018
It is definitely a great job for anyone looking to get into the business and accounting career path. Anyone who enjoys the very busy lifestyle or enjoy staying occupied, John Hancock is a great option.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Options
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 9, 2018
Very laid back and full range freedom. I was given tasks and asked to complete them in anyway I saw fitting. Every task involved critical thinking and innovation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Westborough, MAJanuary 9, 2018
This was a very good entry level wholesaling job. I learned a lot, but I was drawn to increased salary and expanded roles elsewhere in the Boston area..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good large company
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 4, 2018
Fast paced. Worked hard, different tasks daily. Large company.
Great, nice colleagues made daily interactions pleasant. Management knowledgeable. Very competitive pay and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at John Hancock. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss