JOHN ROBERT POWERS Employee Reviews

Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional Management
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 15, 2018
Either you kiss the manager's wide butt or get attitude and complaints no matter how high your sells. They would also try to skimp on bonuses we earned so it's important to keep track of your own sells.
Pros
Small office setting, co-workers were great
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 17, 2017
Working for John Robert Powers was a great experience. I learned a lot about the modeling and acting industry. This job also taught me how to push yourself to the limit, it is a tough industry.
Pros
Fun working place
Cons
Need to have tough skin
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with young girls to build confidence
Office Manager/Instructor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 3, 2017
It was so much fun getting paid to encourage young girls in their poise and confidence. It was the most rewarding first job I could have possibly imagined.
Pros
Seeing personal growth in young women
Cons
not a lot of available hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inexpereienced leadership
Drama Instructor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 20, 2017
Some good people working there. No direction for teachers. Had to develop own curriculum. Ownership was mixed. School is now closed. Poor leadership at the end.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun great people to work with.
Modeling (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 16, 2017
It's been many years since I work with John Robert Powers but it was a great company I met lots of people met my girlfriend of 3 years there there's a lot of benefits but I don't know how it's right now
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2017
More than anything the location was the main reason I worked here. The hours were okay. A Lot of overtime was required. I would not refer this company to anyone who doesn't like working on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Peers
Studio Manager/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 26, 2015
Great place. I Miss my Executive Director. She was the absolute best and totally understanding. She didn't mind training me on things I had little working knowledge of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Receptionist/ Promotion Director (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 7, 2015
Loved working for this company, however most locations have gone under due to lack of new client traffic. My only con for this company is that they are willing to sell classes to people who are barely making ends meet promising the chance for their child to meet an actual agent and have the chance to be signed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 180Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100% sales commission
Talent Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2015
This job was a joke. The lady didnt tell me that it was 100% sales commission until the last minute. And you have to pay for all your own travel. Its just tricking kids into thinking that they are going to gain representation from this "school" by having them sign up for bogus acting/modeling classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel North America and Empower
Sales Assistant to National Talent Director (Former Employee) –  National, USDecember 11, 2014
This job was incredible. Traveling all over the US, and North America to find the most talented people and hone their skills to help them be the best person they can be, and equip them with tools to succeed in the entertainment and fashion industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greart place to work with lots of action
Customer Service, Maintained Various Databases (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 25, 2014
I ran the front desk, I took phone calls and booked appointments, and I also did clarical work as well.
Pros
Always Busy
Cons
Sitting down all day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 7, 2014
awesome
The acting and modeling school is very popular.
Many kids went on to work in the indusrty.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Director of Promotions - Talent Scout (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 24, 2014
Started as Talent Scout. Promoted to Director of Promotions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love children
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2013
Kept me on my toes alway busy always moving learning while teaching priceless
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, successful talent agency
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 21, 2013
change your life with an opportunity at JRP. Answer phones, schedule intakes, meet talent agents
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hig volumn of phone calls and customer service over the phone
Director's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAFebruary 12, 2013
Very busy phone lines. I was left to manage the office alone most mornings. I was allowed to restructure the front office and how it ran which made my job much easier. It was like family was very sad to see them close.
Pros
didnt like the down time
Cons
large rushes then long down times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modeling
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 29, 2013
Answering phones, making appointments for models. Management was good along with the co-workers. The hardest part of my job was working 13 hr days. I loved working with the kids that came in.
Pros
good enviroment
Cons
went out of business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love, Love, Love
Customer Service/ Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AzJanuary 29, 2013
The company had so many highlights it's hard to point out just one great moment. The acting and talent company introduced talented men woman and children into the entertainment world. And i had the pleasure to know so many great people and employees through the years it was sad to see the company close.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
School Director (Former Employee) –  Valencia, CaNovember 9, 2012
This place was very bad managed and they rip off people did'nt feel good to work there at all its about the money not the people.
Pros
non
Cons
they rip people off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission Marketing and Sales in a competitive environment
Marketing and Sales (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CASeptember 3, 2012
Both in telemarketing and on-foot sales position at kiosks, in the office, and at social events. Over the course of my time at John Robert Powers, I was able to learn the industry, develop my skill in interpersonal communication and sales. Learned how to be self-driven and make the best out of events that seemed unfavorable towards my commission sales.
Pros
commission on top of hourly based pay
Cons
isolated in-office environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JOHN ROBERT POWERS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 27 reviews
514
46
32
22
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture