Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab

Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab Employee Reviews

Showing all 72 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go to Space! With People you Like!
Remote Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 19, 2018
Worked in the space exploration sector (SES) as a summer intern (twice) and two years as a remote part-timer. Completed two fascinating projects, really enjoyed the work environment. The management can be a little unwieldy (as in, they don't always seem to know what to do with interns), but you'll be supervised by a mentor who shepherds you along.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
TECHNICAL INTERN (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 16, 2018
Well thought out intern program, had more than enough help and resources to be successful. Felt as though the work I was given made meaningful impact to the program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Various - Please refer to my resume (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 2, 2018
JHUAPL is an awesome place to work, however I had to go on Long Term Disability for a little over a year and when I got the clearance from my doctor to return to work, APL gave me 30 days to find an open position. I was unable to find a suitable position within the given time frame and was abruptly released.
Pros
100% paid training
Cons
They need to explain the full details of using the Long Term Disability benefit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone
CVTC Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDAugust 15, 2018
Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory is a great place to work if you are an engineer or scientist. Administrative and other positions take longer to advance.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
lots of processes to learn / job cieling low for administrative positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work but has changed
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 18, 2018
20 years ago when APL was half its size things were better. It has now grown too big and doesn’t know what to do with itself. So their answer has been to make more managers and try to put everyone in a management position leaving no one to do the actual work. Many people in management should not be there and have not been properly trained. So what used to be a great place to work is just so-so now. Also watch your back because if you have not been pegged as chosen to rise up you can end up with a target on your back. It is really sad to see how this place has changed.
Pros
Flex hours, retirement plan
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and very challenging
Paid Internship (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 10, 2018
Not break neck pace at work. Pretty reasonable people. Room for upward mobility. Work place culture was very tolerant of other cultures. Could be better at developing active feed back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious work on legacy software.
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 2, 2018
Management drove everyday activity. Little input from technical team. High level of maintenance and reworking of legacy software. Good work given to "chosen few" who towed the company line. Currently aging management with difficult junior culture. Everyone has an attitude, that is typical of engineers.
Pros
Good benefits, some social events.
Cons
Masculine, backward, military culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Department Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 28, 2018
They are an amazing company with a lot of benefits. Work and home life balance. Training opportunities and scholarship programs for dependents. Promotes self motivation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better places to work.
Sr. Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 15, 2018
Pay is very good. Lots of opportunities to learn new skills. Education at JHU is free for employees. Management layers are thin. You are expected to perform well and get rewarded for it.
Pros
Pay, Advancement.
Cons
Location in Balt/DC area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it's cracked up to be
Project Manager / Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 5, 2018
JHU/APL is a very large organization, so keep that in mind while reading this, as my experiences may not mirror that of others.
At JHU/APL you will be billing your time to contracts, that means that you do not have a guaranteed 40 hour work week, you only have the potential of one. If the contract requiring your skills dries up, so does your paycheck.
The workplace culture places too much emphasis on scholastic achievement and not on actual job skills, or knowledge. Additionally, it is a very clique oriented environment. If you know the right people, you'll go far.
Management, in my experience, was passive aggressive. Also, I experienced a "shoot the messenger" mentality on numerous occasions.
Advice - Give it a try but watch your back, be careful who you trust, and always understand that you are working for yourself and must promote yourself.
Pros
Name recognition
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Technical Aid/Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 15, 2018
Great place to work at, learned many important skills for engineering setting. No complaints with management. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 7, 2018
I loved interning here, the makers space they had was amazing, and I loved the project I worked on there. the culture is great as well, if you're having an issue you can feel free to ask for help from someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 22, 2018
I loved working at the Lab for my supervisor. I started working there as a part-time person and worked my way up to the Executive Office. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something for everyone
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 9, 2018
This place can employ anyone willing to word hard. There is a job for anyone. The environment is one of collaboration and innovation. If you like to be creative, this is the place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work, poor leadership
Senior Professional Staff and Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMarch 14, 2018
I would still be there is the work had not run out and I had a better manager. Also, the work I was doing ran out and I was not able to find any other meaningful work.
Pros
Great and innovative environment
Cons
terrible management in some cases
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior ORACLE/PeopleSoft HR/HCM (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 14, 2018
Excellent work live balance. Love the place. I wish I could have worked there as a contract more often. The employees and a managers where a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Test Engineer, Avery Advanced Lab (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDFebruary 6, 2018
The Johns Hopkins APL was a great environment to work, the people were great and the atmosphere was wonderful. I learn a lot of new things while working for them.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Not much advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Professional Staff II / Senior Scientist (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDFebruary 6, 2018
It is a nice place to work. People are nice. Jobs are fairly secure. Sometimes there are gaps in coverage between government projects, which can be difficult to manage.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Not much opportunity for career enhancement for technical folks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very academia-oriented
Cyber Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fulton, MDJanuary 30, 2018
if you're not seeking to become a doctor or professor in your field and want an actual hands-on workplace where you feel like you're actually contributing, DONT WORK HERE.
Pros
Cafes and cafeterias around the campus grounds were convenient
Cons
stuck up people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Life Balance, but Not Great for Advancement in the Administrative Professional Side of the House
Program Management Administrator (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJanuary 30, 2018
JHU/APL is terrific for work/life balance. However, that comes at a cost if you are not an engineer. If you are an Administrative Professional that supports the engineers, you will not have the same opportunities or financial rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 72 reviews
530
426
39
24
13

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab Reviews by Location