Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab

Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 63 reviews
Ratings breakdown
527
422
37
24
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 63 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it's cracked up to be
Project Manager / Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 5, 2018
JHU/APL is a very large organization, so keep that in mind while reading this, as my experiences may not mirror that of others.
At JHU/APL you will be billing your time to contracts, that means that you do not have a guaranteed 40 hour work week, you only have the potential of one. If the contract requiring your skills dries up, so does your paycheck.
The workplace culture places too much emphasis on scholastic achievement and not on actual job skills, or knowledge. Additionally, it is a very clique oriented environment. If you know the right people, you'll go far.
Management, in my experience, was passive aggressive. Also, I experienced a "shoot the messenger" mentality on numerous occasions.
Advice - Give it a try but watch your back, be careful who you trust, and always understand that you are working for yourself and must promote yourself.
Pros
Name recognition
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Technical Aid/Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 15, 2018
Great place to work at, learned many important skills for engineering setting. No complaints with management. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 7, 2018
I loved interning here, the makers space they had was amazing, and I loved the project I worked on there. the culture is great as well, if you're having an issue you can feel free to ask for help from someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 22, 2018
I loved working at the Lab for my supervisor. I started working there as a part-time person and worked my way up to the Executive Office. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something for everyone
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 9, 2018
This place can employ anyone willing to word hard. There is a job for anyone. The environment is one of collaboration and innovation. If you like to be creative, this is the place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work, poor leadership
Senior Professional Staff and Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMarch 14, 2018
I would still be there is the work had not run out and I had a better manager. Also, the work I was doing ran out and I was not able to find any other meaningful work.
Pros
Great and innovative environment
Cons
terrible management in some cases
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior ORACLE/PeopleSoft HR/HCM (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 14, 2018
Excellent work live balance. Love the place. I wish I could have worked there as a contract more often. The employees and a managers where a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Test Engineer, Avery Advanced Lab (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDFebruary 6, 2018
The Johns Hopkins APL was a great environment to work, the people were great and the atmosphere was wonderful. I learn a lot of new things while working for them.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Not much advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Professional Staff II / Senior Scientist (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDFebruary 6, 2018
It is a nice place to work. People are nice. Jobs are fairly secure. Sometimes there are gaps in coverage between government projects, which can be difficult to manage.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Not much opportunity for career enhancement for technical folks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very academia-oriented
Cyber Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fulton, MDJanuary 30, 2018
if you're not seeking to become a doctor or professor in your field and want an actual hands-on workplace where you feel like you're actually contributing, DONT WORK HERE.
Pros
Cafes and cafeterias around the campus grounds were convenient
Cons
stuck up people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Life Balance, but Not Great for Advancement in the Administrative Professional Side of the House
Program Management Administrator (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJanuary 30, 2018
JHU/APL is terrific for work/life balance. However, that comes at a cost if you are not an engineer. If you are an Administrative Professional that supports the engineers, you will not have the same opportunities or financial rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer, amazing coworkers
Senior Professional Staff- Analyst (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJanuary 29, 2018
The Lab is a unique place. There are many opportunities to continue to grow and learn. Education is prioritized and paid for. I highly recommended APL as an employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very interesting
Internship (Former Employee) –  laurel mdJanuary 19, 2018
the people in the civil space department are great and always willing to share their knowledge, jhu apl is a great place to apply your skills and make an impact
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
TECHNICAL AIDE (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDDecember 14, 2017
It was a great place to work full of great people and intelligent work. Budget and funding issues could keep you back. Make sure there is an active group to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great opportunity
Intern (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDNovember 21, 2017
I love this job! It pays well, my coworkers are nice, and I'm doing very interesting work! The hours a very flexible and there's always something to do. They also have a lot of staff events to attend and they do great holiday parties!
Pros
pays well, great environment, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Grounds Worker (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDNovember 21, 2017
i have fun everyday and learn new things everyday. I am on time everyday and listen to my bosses. I am willing to learn all the time to help me advance at my new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Diverse and Enjoyable Jobsite Anywhere
Timekeeping Administrator (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 23, 2017
Hands down, APL is the best place to work. For their staff employees, they provide all possible benefits imaginable. They are constantly offering educational programs and seminars. The staff at APL are a diverse and educated group of wonderful people to work with and around. At one point I was a staff employee and I totally loved the atmosphere, the people, the job, everything. The buildings and grounds are beautiful and very clean and well-kept. From the Director all the way down to the janitorial staff the people are friendly, accommodating, helpful and always willing to lend a hand if you need it.
Pros
Benefits and working environment
Cons
With APL there aren't any "cons"
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and benefits
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 7, 2017
Great work environment and benefits, looking for more growth opportunity and experience in different industries. Great retirement, medical, work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  MarylandAugust 24, 2017
In my department the senior leadership was toxic. Stay away from NSAD. The new leadership pushed out successful people and ran the department into the ground.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Maintenance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Maryland City, MDAugust 15, 2017
Great working place co-worker is very good to each other and good team work. A place for growth. Management is great and they work with you. Staff is great.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report