Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab Employee Reviews

Showing all 88 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work from work life balance; deadlines and drive not as important in this culture
Section Supervisor / Fiscal Representative (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDNovember 10, 2018
Day in the life - significant interface with Sr. executives + strategy meetings; enjoyable aspects - low stress; hardest part of the workplace - lack of drive in staff as well as a complacent culture - culture is one where decisions are made by consensus. I prefer a culture with decisive leaders.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
complacent culture - lack of advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Remote Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDOctober 22, 2018
This place is amazing. Tons of interesting things going on. Plenty of room to move around. Cross training was encouraged and promotion from within is standard
Pros
Amazing Place, Learning opportunities everywhere
Cons
Distance, interesting vibe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Forward Thinking
IT Support (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDOctober 3, 2018
A typical day at work is meetings, emails, followed by more meetings. Very little time to do actual work and deliverables. Had to work after hours very frequently.
Gained several skills while working at JHUAPL. Multi tasking took on its own level.
Workplace culture varies depending on what department sector you are in. But in general you are always very busy. They promote innovation and have various types of events to promote innovation as far as tech and the defense sector goes. They were trying to focus on Diversity and have a very good HR group. Zero tolerance for workplace harassment.
Hardest part of the job was less down time. Some days I got no lunch breaks.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the employees. JHUAPL prides itself on hiring the brightest and ethical people so it was a pleasure working with many employees there.
Pros
Food trucks at lunch
Cons
Sometimes no time for lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go to Space! With People you Like!
Remote Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 19, 2018
Worked in the space exploration sector (SES) as a summer intern (twice) and two years as a remote part-timer. Completed two fascinating projects, really enjoyed the work environment. The management can be a little unwieldy (as in, they don't always seem to know what to do with interns), but you'll be supervised by a mentor who shepherds you along.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
TECHNICAL INTERN (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 16, 2018
Well thought out intern program, had more than enough help and resources to be successful. Felt as though the work I was given made meaningful impact to the program.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Various - Please refer to my resume (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDSeptember 2, 2018
JHUAPL is an awesome place to work, however I had to go on Long Term Disability for a little over a year and when I got the clearance from my doctor to return to work, APL gave me 30 days to find an open position. I was unable to find a suitable position within the given time frame and was abruptly released.
Pros
100% paid training
Cons
They need to explain the full details of using the Long Term Disability benefit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone
CVTC Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDAugust 15, 2018
Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory is a great place to work if you are an engineer or scientist. Administrative and other positions take longer to advance.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
lots of processes to learn / job cieling low for administrative positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work experience in my career
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 27, 2018
I have loved working at JHU/APL. I always had challenging work assignments, and had great opportunities to learn. We were encouraged to take classes and attend conferences.

The culture at APL is one of inclusion. There are many affinity groups, and clubs to meet people creating opportunities to meet people from other departments. Several times I got new tasks from just meeting someone at a social activity.
Pros
Best retirement plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work but has changed
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 18, 2018
20 years ago when APL was half its size things were better. It has now grown too big and doesn’t know what to do with itself. So their answer has been to make more managers and try to put everyone in a management position leaving no one to do the actual work. Many people in management should not be there and have not been properly trained. So what used to be a great place to work is just so-so now. Also watch your back because if you have not been pegged as chosen to rise up you can end up with a target on your back. It is really sad to see how this place has changed.
Pros
Flex hours, retirement plan
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and very challenging
Paid Internship (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 10, 2018
Not break neck pace at work. Pretty reasonable people. Room for upward mobility. Work place culture was very tolerant of other cultures. Could be better at developing active feed back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious work on legacy software.
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 2, 2018
Management drove everyday activity. Little input from technical team. High level of maintenance and reworking of legacy software. Good work given to "chosen few" who towed the company line. Currently aging management with difficult junior culture. Everyone has an attitude, that is typical of engineers.
Pros
Good benefits, some social events.
Cons
Masculine, backward, military culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Department Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 28, 2018
They are an amazing company with a lot of benefits. Work and home life balance. Training opportunities and scholarship programs for dependents. Promotes self motivation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better places to work.
Sr. Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 15, 2018
Pay is very good. Lots of opportunities to learn new skills. Education at JHU is free for employees. Management layers are thin. You are expected to perform well and get rewarded for it.
Pros
Pay, Advancement.
Cons
Location in Balt/DC area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it's cracked up to be
Project Manager / Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 5, 2018
JHU/APL is a very large organization, so keep that in mind while reading this, as my experiences may not mirror that of others.
At JHU/APL you will be billing your time to contracts, that means that you do not have a guaranteed 40 hour work week, you only have the potential of one. If the contract requiring your skills dries up, so does your paycheck.
The workplace culture places too much emphasis on scholastic achievement and not on actual job skills, or knowledge. Additionally, it is a very clique oriented environment. If you know the right people, you'll go far.
Management, in my experience, was passive aggressive. Also, I experienced a "shoot the messenger" mentality on numerous occasions.
Advice - Give it a try but watch your back, be careful who you trust, and always understand that you are working for yourself and must promote yourself.
Pros
Name recognition
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My First Real Job
Associate Engineer, Polaris Test Missile (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 25, 2018
Working at APL was a terrific experience. It taught me a lot about real engineering as opposed to everything that you would find in college course work.
Pros
Free Thinking
Cons
Tight Deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Technical Aid/Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 15, 2018
Great place to work at, learned many important skills for engineering setting. No complaints with management. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 7, 2018
I loved interning here, the makers space they had was amazing, and I loved the project I worked on there. the culture is great as well, if you're having an issue you can feel free to ask for help from someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Political
Sr Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Largo, MDMay 4, 2018
The following attributes are my personal experience with the workplace;
Unstable
Complacent
Unprofessional environment
Unmotivated
Commutable

There are more unspoken elements that posed a threat to the mental and physical health of a worker in this environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 22, 2018
I loved working at the Lab for my supervisor. I started working there as a part-time person and worked my way up to the Executive Office. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Intern
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fulton, MDApril 14, 2018
I worked 40 hours a week as a data analyst with physics scientist. I learned how to use IDL coding and how to analyze complex data sets. Workplace is very progressive and has a lot of energy.
Pros
Food trucks
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 88 reviews
537
429
314
25
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab Reviews by Location