Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab

Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and very challenging
Paid Internship (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 10, 2018
Not break neck pace at work. Pretty reasonable people. Room for upward mobility. Work place culture was very tolerant of other cultures. Could be better at developing active feed back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious work on legacy software.
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJuly 2, 2018
Management drove everyday activity. Little input from technical team. High level of maintenance and reworking of legacy software. Good work given to "chosen few" who towed the company line. Currently aging management with difficult junior culture. Everyone has an attitude, that is typical of engineers.
Pros
Good benefits, some social events.
Cons
Masculine, backward, military culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Department Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 28, 2018
They are an amazing company with a lot of benefits. Work and home life balance. Training opportunities and scholarship programs for dependents. Promotes self motivation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better places to work.
Sr. Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 15, 2018
Pay is very good. Lots of opportunities to learn new skills. Education at JHU is free for employees. Management layers are thin. You are expected to perform well and get rewarded for it.
Pros
Pay, Advancement.
Cons
Location in Balt/DC area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it's cracked up to be
Project Manager / Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJune 5, 2018
JHU/APL is a very large organization, so keep that in mind while reading this, as my experiences may not mirror that of others.
At JHU/APL you will be billing your time to contracts, that means that you do not have a guaranteed 40 hour work week, you only have the potential of one. If the contract requiring your skills dries up, so does your paycheck.
The workplace culture places too much emphasis on scholastic achievement and not on actual job skills, or knowledge. Additionally, it is a very clique oriented environment. If you know the right people, you'll go far.
Management, in my experience, was passive aggressive. Also, I experienced a "shoot the messenger" mentality on numerous occasions.
Advice - Give it a try but watch your back, be careful who you trust, and always understand that you are working for yourself and must promote yourself.
Pros
Name recognition
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Technical Aid/Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 15, 2018
Great place to work at, learned many important skills for engineering setting. No complaints with management. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 7, 2018
I loved interning here, the makers space they had was amazing, and I loved the project I worked on there. the culture is great as well, if you're having an issue you can feel free to ask for help from someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 22, 2018
I loved working at the Lab for my supervisor. I started working there as a part-time person and worked my way up to the Executive Office. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something for everyone
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDApril 9, 2018
This place can employ anyone willing to word hard. There is a job for anyone. The environment is one of collaboration and innovation. If you like to be creative, this is the place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work, poor leadership
Senior Professional Staff and Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMarch 14, 2018
I would still be there is the work had not run out and I had a better manager. Also, the work I was doing ran out and I was not able to find any other meaningful work.
Pros
Great and innovative environment
Cons
terrible management in some cases
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior ORACLE/PeopleSoft HR/HCM (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 14, 2018
Excellent work live balance. Love the place. I wish I could have worked there as a contract more often. The employees and a managers where a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Test Engineer, Avery Advanced Lab (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDFebruary 6, 2018
The Johns Hopkins APL was a great environment to work, the people were great and the atmosphere was wonderful. I learn a lot of new things while working for them.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Not much advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Professional Staff II / Senior Scientist (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDFebruary 6, 2018
It is a nice place to work. People are nice. Jobs are fairly secure. Sometimes there are gaps in coverage between government projects, which can be difficult to manage.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Not much opportunity for career enhancement for technical folks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very academia-oriented
Cyber Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fulton, MDJanuary 30, 2018
if you're not seeking to become a doctor or professor in your field and want an actual hands-on workplace where you feel like you're actually contributing, DONT WORK HERE.
Pros
Cafes and cafeterias around the campus grounds were convenient
Cons
stuck up people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Life Balance, but Not Great for Advancement in the Administrative Professional Side of the House
Program Management Administrator (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJanuary 30, 2018
JHU/APL is terrific for work/life balance. However, that comes at a cost if you are not an engineer. If you are an Administrative Professional that supports the engineers, you will not have the same opportunities or financial rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer, amazing coworkers
Senior Professional Staff- Analyst (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDJanuary 29, 2018
The Lab is a unique place. There are many opportunities to continue to grow and learn. Education is prioritized and paid for. I highly recommended APL as an employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very interesting
Internship (Former Employee) –  laurel mdJanuary 19, 2018
the people in the civil space department are great and always willing to share their knowledge, jhu apl is a great place to apply your skills and make an impact
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
TECHNICAL AIDE (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDDecember 14, 2017
It was a great place to work full of great people and intelligent work. Budget and funding issues could keep you back. Make sure there is an active group to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great opportunity
Intern (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDNovember 21, 2017
I love this job! It pays well, my coworkers are nice, and I'm doing very interesting work! The hours a very flexible and there's always something to do. They also have a lot of staff events to attend and they do great holiday parties!
Pros
pays well, great environment, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Grounds Worker (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDNovember 21, 2017
i have fun everyday and learn new things everyday. I am on time everyday and listen to my bosses. I am willing to learn all the time to help me advance at my new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 67 reviews
528
423
39
24
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Johns Hopkins University/Applied Physics Lab Reviews by Location