Johns Hopkins University Employee Reviews

Found 589 reviews matching the search See all 596 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 19, 2018
Great place to work and to meet and work with people from around the world. Typically the day moves at an even pace, and whenever any new software package is implemented training is first class.
Pros
People
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a university
GIS Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 19, 2018
It was a research assistant job. Salary was relatively low. Benefits were great, especially the health insurance and tuition programs. Working environment was great.
Pros
Health insurance, tuition programs
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there 25+ years ago
Internal Auditor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 11, 2018
I worked for The Johns Hopkins University so long ago I cannot remember what they offered. Even if I did then it probably would not matter as I sure it has changed.
Pros
Close to where I lived
Cons
Boss was incompetent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours; also highly demanding
Veterinary technician (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 10, 2018
I appreciate the flexible hours, but the pay did not match what my work load was. Not enough encouragement from my boss, and he did not support me enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin your career
Research Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 9, 2018
Stay focused, get your work done and you'll be fine. There is a lot of academic opportunity but unless you are a PhD or MD there is very little professional advancement for you
Pros
Tons of lectures and free lunches
Cons
low pay, high cost of living for the area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well it’s a good place to wirk
Payment Posting Specialist lll (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 5, 2018
Well I enjoyed my time working at JHU. It’s a good environment and the people where pretty good. Also the only reason I left for More money. Good vibes and helpful learning of new things.
Pros
Benefits and people
Cons
The pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Experience
Community School Director (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 4, 2018
Things could have been structured and delivered better to their employees and respected supervisors. Employees are very helpful and will strive to work as a team to get the job done.
Pros
Great Team Players
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the things i look forward to the most
Clinic Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 3, 2018
Work can be stressful but it is definitely rewarding. Receiving accolades from the physician and staff daily to show the appreciation for hard work and dedication is the best part of my day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative, dynamic and sagnificant
Public Affairs Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 30, 2018
meetings, work on events, work on web content, media support, organizational support. Web development, live and on demand streaming, video work, PR affairs etc.Great management with clear vision.Profound work culture and values. Managing over 50 political events per year. Perfect come out of PR and campaigns.
Pros
Great culture, spirit and knowledge
Cons
No benefits additional to salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience
Doctoral Intern (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 28, 2018
I enjoyed my time at the university, I wish there were more opportunities for advancement. Additionally, I wish the salary was more competitive. The university has an emphasis on diversity, which is important to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Almost 13 years of service
Sr. rESEACH sPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 25, 2018
I've worked here for 12 and a half year for one person. I was able to run the lab, plan daily experiments, and work hours that I needed to make my life better. I am not happy that my job is ending the way it is, but will pick myself up and move on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment
Research Technologist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 21, 2018
I work in a lab. So, I am always learning new skills and about new advancements in my field. I enjoy the benefits and the flexibility that my job allows.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Life Balance
Sr. Grants & Contracts Analyst (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 18, 2018
JHU is a great place to work if you value work/life balance. They provide plenty of opportunities for professional development and advancement if you are willing to after it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule on occasion
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 12, 2018
can work from home sometimes, but not always. Growth only possible if you jump around. Managers seem to get put in those positions more for years of time rather than ability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
International Logistics/Travel Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 11, 2018
Busy making arrangements for staff to travel to 3rd world countries getting them the best possible flights at the best possible fares. Got to work with a very diverse group of people from all over the world. I learned a lot from different cultures and expanded my geographic knowledge of many new countries. It was one of the most rewarding places to work as this group was truly doing great things for the world. The hardest part was leaving.
Pros
I had my own office people came to see me
Cons
was in downtown baltimore long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to make an impact in the world
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 7, 2018
Johns Hopkins school of Public Health is filled with people who care so much about the world around them. It is a very intense place to work as many people are very driven to study and publish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't
Sr. Talent Acquisition Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 7, 2018
Weak managers, poor processes. Imagine a car and ever tire is going a different direction--even if it's a luxury car, it won't drive well. Just don't.
Pros
OK benefits
Cons
Managers, Senior Leadership (lack of senior leadership)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for student workers
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 6, 2018
A typical day was good, able to meet many new people from different areas. Management was great, always want to make sure that your needs are met. Overall very enjoyable and definitely a great workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interesting
Helpdesk Technician (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJune 5, 2018
I work day to day on the phone with some floor work. My manager is engaged with my day to day progress and give me the proper tools to complete and accomplish my job.
Pros
productive
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the atmosphere
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 28, 2018
Worked here over 15yrs ago. I worked for the University but my work environment was at the hospital. Worked in several departments there and enjoyed the environment in all of them. Employees dedicated to their work. The benefit of tuition reimbursement was a huge draw for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johns Hopkins University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 596 reviews
5238
4218
3101
224
115

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight