Johns Manville Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid company focused on core values
Manager (Current Employee) –  Penbryn, NJJuly 3, 2018
JM is a great place to work that is focused on core values. It's a company with a lot of history where some plants could improve on communication from the top all the way down to the floor level - an area to improve on. Teams can work collaboratively together even in union settings. JM invests in its people and its processes to safely make products.
Pros
People, Investment, Oppurtunity, Values
Cons
Communication could improve
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work
Environmental Health and Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJune 22, 2018
All employees are looked after and cared for at this side. Management honestly believes in the statement of safety first. I watched a production line get shutdown to fix an issue rather than try to fix it on the fly like I've seen at other companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very harsh conditions. Pay not inline with experience.
Industrial Electrician (Former Employee) –  Winder, GAJune 10, 2018
It is extremely harsh and at time dangerous work environment. Work long hours at times is mandatory. The pay is not in line with the area. You will advance, but it is little morethan a title i.e. pqay raise not sufficient.
Pros
None
Cons
Harsh environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Penbryn, NJMay 25, 2018
Management is terrible. HR is rude and unprofessional. You'll only advance if your supervisor likes you. If they don't like you, they'll prepare your evaluations for your exit from the jump. Harassment is not taken seriously especially if the harassment is coming from one of their supervisors.
Pros
The pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No managers.
Inspector Packer (Current Employee) –  Cleburne, TXMay 25, 2018
Good place to work. I needed a change! The plant is in a weird place. We have no plant manager, no safety manager, and no HR manager. The last plant manager walk out because he was tried of being micro managed!
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Health issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company is not a good place to work anymore.
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Waterville, OHMay 20, 2018
When I started at Johns Manville, it was a place I thought I would retire from. In the last 2 years, the Waterville complex has taken a drastic downward turn. The Engineer in charge of the Electricians and Mechanics wants to fire you for anything he can. If you do want to work here, watch your back, because they are watching you...
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electrician
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Waterville, OHMay 18, 2018
Was a good place to work, but do to new management has really turned out to be horrible place have seen them single out older employees to force them out just a shame could be a good job. Management is against unions
Pros
Berkshire Hathaway stable
Cons
Schedule & management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Fabrication Shop Lead/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  McPherson, KSMay 2, 2018
Typical work day was 10 hours long. Training provided for all position. Management ease to approach with issues. Management provides opportunity for advancement. I would highly recommend this company to a family member.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive swing shift
MAT LINE PRODUCTION ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Etowah, TNApril 23, 2018
Productive, swing shift, good breaks lots of overtime some mandatory some voluntary working in fiberglass so skin and eye irratition is possible. Hot in summer and cold in winter.
Pros
breaks
Cons
Lots of OT and swing shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Hot End operator (Former Employee) –  Winder, GA Bankhead HwyApril 17, 2018
room for advancement and great pay.swing shift. There is always job advancement.good thing about swing shift is that you have time to do things during the week.
Pros
pay
Cons
swing shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

Want to know more about Johns Manville?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
factory work
General operator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INApril 14, 2018
easy going work place. UAW union shop, along with good paid jobs. job security there is a plus. benefits are awesome and friendly employees. long work weeks and hard schedule to get used to
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build a career
Associate Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 6, 2018
150 years and counting in business, This company has proven to be a place for growth. Johns Manville is always innovating new products and developing their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best way to stay working there
Crane Operator/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Milan, OHApril 4, 2018
Is by kissing people's butt I guess that's the only way you can stay full time they're not my working hard and showing up everyday to work I will never go back to that place again hopefully other people get better treatment and chance to make a career out of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Saco, ME 04072April 4, 2018
Enjoyed working for them
Purchasing raw chemicls
placing purchase orders
ordering office supplies
attended safety meetings
kept track of inventory of raw materials
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Older culture - but certain groups work well
Senior Research Engineer (Current Employee) –  Littleton, COMarch 28, 2018
Most of my career I've been in groups where I was sheltered from the old culture at JM. They need to modernize if they truly want to be the employer of choice. Their HR department is told what to do by management as opposed to the other way around.
Pros
Lots of opportunities
Cons
Depending on your manager it can be a toxic environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical assistant Mansville
Clerical Support (Former Employee) –  Rockdale, ILMarch 24, 2018
Great! The work, the people, the hours, the management. I learned how to convert PDF documents into Word and Excel. I was gicen all the tools to complete the job.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, horrible environment
Inspector Packer (Former Employee) –  Cleburne, TXMarch 24, 2018
Good money, horrible environment. Management shows favoritism. harassment like you wouldn't believe. Not a place for females to work especially when they encourage harrasement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scottsboro, ALMarch 23, 2018
By far the best company I ever worked for. I only resigned due to a long commute. Great benefits, good pay, but the people are what makes it so amazing! Truly a genuine staff who work together for the common goals of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary, short-term job
Administrative Assistant - Contract (Former Employee) –  Littleton, COMarch 20, 2018
The job was pleasant and co-workers were very compatible. One feature I especially appreciated was the stress for recycling and appropriate bins located at every department area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Maintenance and Repair Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INMarch 11, 2018
Med/ Dental benefits were not the best nor the worst. Smokers shack was heated for those that smoke. They manufacture blowing wool insulation that was in the air inside the place. Not the cleanest place to work in some areas
Pros
Employment
Cons
7 day workweek 3 of 4 weeks in a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johns Manville. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 213 reviews
566
461
353
215
118

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.5

3.6Personal Development

4.2Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight