Jones Petroleum Inc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You should not even look into this place as a job opportunity
Meat Department Clerk (Former Employee) –  Butler, GAOctober 30, 2018
The management at this job is full of inconsiderate people, managers, and employees. I was constantly ridiculed for dong the job the way I was shown. Managers are constantly being fired and hired. You are always taken advantage of. The recent management that I was full of back stabbing and plotting people. i had one manager that thought he should be over everyone including meat department. Which has its own management. Do not work here it will be a waste of time and too stressful for you.
Pros
none
Cons
everything imaginable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My district managers " team " is to backstab everyone
Manager (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaSeptember 18, 2018
Great little Store was thrown in there with 2 weeks training and one employee. Upper management say they are s "team ' but will condosend your intelligence everyday. They expect you to with alone all the time which is fine if I wasn't ridiculed fir not having paperwork in by 9 am when I can't leave a register. Worked hard cleaning the place up . Sales were up customers were happy employees were happy and had some pride in their store . I wasn't giving s fair chance to even start my fidstrivt mananger didn't care about the customers she let me go because her " team " said I said bad things about her which to ruin someone's career over hearsay is completely unprofessional and and frankly quite cowardly considering to the customers were happy and that's supposed to the main objective. Sad sad place to be if you are honest and not a back stabber
Pros
Customers were friendly
Cons
Lying upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too diffifult a job, horrible upper management
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  McDonough, GAJuly 10, 2018
Easy job to do but any promises made by management are subject to be broken whenever i.e. a scheduled raise. Upper management is mostly made of family members of the same family and if you get on the wrong side of one, you're on the wrong side of all of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth your time, doesn't pay enough to deal with the stress.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJune 19, 2018
I worked for them for the past year as a salaried manager. I worked no less than 50 hours a week. The store I managed was their highest volume Subway yet they did not provide me with the staff or help I needed. There were times I worked a 16 hour day, left at 9:30pm and had to be back to work at 6am for another 10 hour shift. Instead of allowing a few hours of overtime to the hourly staff they demanded that you work all the extra hours that come up such as call outs etc. You will not get a raise. I was evaluated and 7 months went by with still no word for my raise even though I got a 5 star review on my evaluation. No appreciation whatsoever, during hurricane Irma our store lost power for 3 days. After the first day they decided to have me move all the food over to their other location which was 7 minutes away. I put my own car and life on the line driving through the hurricane to save the food which took me and my boyfriend 8 hours to do, and instead of being grateful for the $2K worth of food I saved they were upset about the $600 I lost due to running too high of a tempature. And they said they will take it out of my bonus.

To put it nicely this is one of the worst companies I worked with. You can expect to work like a dog, burn yourself out and give up your personal life with no appreciation and no raise.
Pros
Half off food.
Cons
Way too many to list. You can read my description for most of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Waste Your Time
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAMay 14, 2018
There is no job security with these people. Working at the gas station isn't worth it because they pay pennies and the issues (amongst staff) are never ending. The DD part is just as bad. I think the manager at the Locust Grove store is a nasty racist who always seems to have an attitude.
Pros
None
Cons
No benefits, favouritism, back-biting
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with opportunity to grow
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Cordele, GAMay 7, 2018
Jones petroleum is a great place to work with excellent benefits. Great environment with team players as coworkers. Very organized and clean place to work. Great opportunity for advancement for those who are willing to work.
Pros
Insurance, 401K, Assessments twice yearly
Cons
Subject to sell business and leave you unemployed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid is a understatement
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Dairy Queen Athens GAMarch 27, 2018
This is a busy store. At night there is only one person in grill, so therefore a lot of waiting for the customers. You have 5 customers in the store and 8 in drive is a bit much for one person. The manager and assistant manager were messy. They ran everyone off. The overturn rate is horrible. It was a shift leader there that was nice and help out plenty when she was able. Then they want you to work like a dog for 8 dollars
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Biscuit Maker (Former Employee) –  Jackson, GAFebruary 11, 2018
Friendly people very clean environment great pay I love to work for this company great managers and benefits offer vacations and promotions with a pay raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company!!!
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Cordele, GADecember 13, 2017
I was recently hired in the cordele area, loved the job and people at first until i realized why they couldn't keep workers. First of all they say its full time but will cut your hours as they see fit. They will not treat everybody the same as there is alot of favoritism in this store. The subway doesnt have a manager and they have family working together in this business. So if you wanna bust your butt for a company that isnt going to acknowledge you or the work you do, as well as unfair work conditions like dropping everyones hours just because they got "marked out of compliance." Dont work here youll regret it. Terrible company, terrible bosses
Pros
Literally the only good thing about this place is the slow pace and 50% of food.
Cons
Bad managment, unfair treatment of workers, favoritsim, family working in business together
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn’t worth my time.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Elberton, GANovember 6, 2017
Worked at the Dunkin’ Donuts in Elberton with JP, schedules didn’t come out till Friday, making no room for any kind of plans for the following week, hardly got weekends off without requesting then getting back lashed for them. Gave my notice because had to help out family out of state and was fired. Wouldn’t ever deal with that company again.
Pros
Free coffee.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are horrible
General manager (Current Employee) –  Monticello, GANovember 1, 2017
The benefits are horrible pay not that great with salary for fifty working 60+ and making nothing extra there's just nothing that makes you want to stay with company full time employees font even get vacation time
Pros
Customers
Cons
No breaks and bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stayed busy, amazing staff, excellent managment
Truck Stop Attendant/Cashier/Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Lithia Springs, GASeptember 28, 2017
it was never a dull moment working here. great and amazing staff.
always work to be done. no problem advancing in the company. hard work does pay off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good stepping stone
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Jackson, GASeptember 1, 2017
I loved the customers, the employees, work is hard, long hours but overall a good place to work if you're needing to get on your feet. I will miss my little family there forever
Pros
Half off subway
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays the bills
JUNIOR MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 27, 2017
Working for this company is kind of sad. The management doesn't get the training they need and in turn, blame the also clueless cashiers when things go wrong. The upper management doesn't seem too concerned with what's going on so long as the money keeps coming in. It's a cheap company but they want Fortune 500 level commitment. Schedules are changed on your off days and no one notifies you until you're disciplined. Managers are MIA. Something always breaks and it takes forever to get fixed OR the chosen repair tech company flat-out refuses.

The one good thing is the direct deposit funds are consistent and on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jones and Frank
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 3, 2017
Dont have Supervisor on your back all day , You meet very nice people from day to day. Coworkers are good to work with. you have your own company vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for at all.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAAugust 5, 2016
I don't like leaving negative things to say, but this company is a joke. Unorganized, there is a lot of favoritism and racism. People are lazy and slack on daily chores that need to be done.
Cons
No breaks. No advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrost place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Stockbridge, GAMay 29, 2016
lady manager was very racist she would always insinuate that someone was stealing and they will cut your hours without you even knowing the only Plus was the nice employees at the Dunkin Donuts they were always nice and very helpful but the gas station part is no way to make a career. Very racist company
Pros
Job, Discount @ Dunkin Donuts
Cons
no breaks, racist management
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Management (Former Employee) –  Henry/ ClaytonMay 19, 2016
I would not advise any one to seek employment with this company. They overwork employees and pay minimum wage and annual raises in increments of .10 cents. Owner is racist. No work/life balance. Company gives no incentives and does not acknowledge hard workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
cashier (Current Employee) –  Jackson, GAMay 19, 2016
greatest thing is meeting new people and making sure my customers are satisfied. my co workers are great to work with sometimes we can get things done as a team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm a hard worker and I never lay out and I work well with others. I give 100 percent in everything I do.
any job (Current Employee) –  Jackson GeorgiaFebruary 22, 2016
I work well with others and get along with everyone. I enjoy my job and look forward to coming to work everyday. I get the job done in a timely manner and I never complain about my job duties.
Pros
I get along well with others.
Cons
I like to stay busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 40Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jones Petroleum Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 25 reviews
55
43
33
24
110

Ratings by category

2.2Work/Life Balance
2.3Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.3Culture

Jones Petroleum Inc Reviews by Location