KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation Employee Reviews

2.9
Overall rating
Based on 36 reviews
Ratings breakdown
56
48
37
25
110
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 36 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent work flow but a good job.
General Laborer (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Spanish Fork, UTJuly 3, 2018
Good for anyone that wants to be reliable and dependable. It's hard just within the standing of a 12 hour shift but it has a good environment to keep you going!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Mesquite, TXJune 19, 2018
Training is horrible. “You’re responsible for your own training”. Constantly pulled from training to work in other areas not pertaining to your position. Given a sponsor, but that sponsor will never do what a sponsor should do, as in guide, help, teach. You’re screwed if you get on the bad side of just ONE of the members of your training crew. It’s like high school all over again. Complete waste of 2 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace working enviroment
Warehouse Worker stacker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 31, 2018
start your day with a morning meeting the coffee and to work you get and then from there its off to the races. You work with your team mates and two three hrs in you can take a break depending on how busy you are and you come back and finish your shift. the mangers are helpful and nice and so are your coworkers
Pros
paid lunch coffee paid benifits
Cons
some days turn into 12 hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
soul sucking employer
Pentek operator (Former Employee) –  Twin FallsMarch 10, 2018
You will be required to work for weeks at a time with no days off. if you call in for any reason it is counted against your attendance, doesn't matter if you have a Dr note or not. The pay and benefits are great as long as you don't want a life out side of work
Pros
large pay checks
Cons
no time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad plant managment
Assistant Operator (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 20, 2018
I was there always had awesome feed back. I learned the job well and help train others. I was fired two days prior to passing my probation. union did not help no one did. Employees were great felt like family. Management was ok the plant manager was a very dishonorable, dishonest snake.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours. work pace fluctuates
Shipper/Loader (Current Employee) –  Longview, WAFebruary 18, 2018
union job so always that tension between management and front line workers. Tension between machine shippers and warehouse shippers. Long work shifts and then management expects people to work overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead End, Back Breaking Work, Poor Pay
Machine Operator Helper (Former Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLJanuary 26, 2018
I worked at the Lake Mary FL facility. The hours are fantastic 6am to 1:30. Very attractive 401 Contribution.
However the position as machine helper is pretty much doing the back breaking part of the carton box cutter operator. Palletizing all day long bundles of boxes. Very loud and dusty environment, have to wear ear plugs and eye protection all day long mandatory.
No ac environment, so it's very hot. Very low morale and unhappy co workers. Very high turn over, people work for a few days then leave after they realize what this job is about. There are some nice people that work very hard and after 5 years are getting pay $13 an hour.
Most operators are insecure so they don't want to teach. The 2 day supervisors lack leadership skills, education and they are insecure about their jobs themselves, They will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat. I would NOT recommend this place to any one specially if you are a professional. Don't waste your time or your dignity ! There is one particular fellow in a folder machine that will make your life imposible. If you decide to work there, You will soon remember this review.
Pros
401K contribution if you last long
Cons
Lacks culture, No AC
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome place to earn a living and create relationships!
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Cowpens, SCJanuary 23, 2018
Earned a ton of money!
Only worked half a year for that money!
Very hot and humid on machine floor!!!!
Had to qualify 7 out of 9 production jobs!
That puts a person right at 25.00/hr
Pros
Money!Cash!
Cons
Time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every hoilday the company had events for employees and their family
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILJanuary 11, 2018
we had a pre shift meeting every morning before the shift stared. after the meeting all employees went to their work department. we talk about working safely and making quality product to our customers
Pros
company picnics
Cons
long work hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operator Assistant (Former Employee) –  KentuckyJanuary 9, 2018
Kapstone is very well put together my experience there was great and i would come back to work in a heartbeat . Everyone there is good to work with i had a great experience
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the money
Rotary operator (Current Employee) –  Yakima, WADecember 29, 2017
Good money but poor management skills. Your there to work and anything less than perfect will get you into trouble especially if it goes out the door to be shipped.
Pros
Good money
Cons
No empathy
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highschool drama
Repulper operator (Former Employee) –  Longview, WADecember 18, 2017
A cut-throat company full of lazy people that want others to do their jobs. Full of drama and rumor spreading and full of lies from management. You always have to watch your back for fear of someone spreading lies about you.
Pros
Paid well
Cons
Spent more time at work than with family and high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers made it pleasant experience.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYDecember 16, 2017
Very good relationship between co workers. Overall morale good intier plant. I was underpayed and over worked. And expected to cover two positions for most of time employed there. My department suffered from qualified workers, and was responsible for covering and making sure everything got done on time and efficiently.i was good at it but it led me to be over worked and felt under appreciated. And never felt like pay matched work load, and responsibilities of position. Didn't feel like had job security,there were more temps than full time employee's.
Pros
Sometimes had catered lunch.
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time data entry clerk
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILNovember 6, 2017
A lot of the positions were filled by temps so unfortunately once you got to know some of the people their contracts were up and then were replaced with someone new. Some of the employees in the AP department are difficult to work with but overall were not too bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviornment
Assistant Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  West Springfield, MAOctober 21, 2017
I'd still be working there lay off came for me. Working conditions were fine, small work place as far as how many employees everyone was helpful. Would go back if called back.
Pros
Hours, pay, time off, benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Longview, WAOctober 21, 2017
KapStone has been an excellent place of employment during my career. It has provided me opportunities for growth and given me the autonomy to learn without feeling I am micromanaged during the process. Management does require your best but they are fair and provide you with the tools needed to perform your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Amsterdam, NYOctober 19, 2017
Pay and promotions are really good. Shifts are by union seniority so its hard to get to days. Some older day people there are bitter and mean. Night shift peple are really friendly and helpful. Hours are long sometimes during week but hardly any weekends. You can make alot of money if you want to work. Safety is really good.
Pros
Lots of free lunches and good safety and pay
Cons
Not really friendly until you get in union. Union dues high but union seems ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all about fhe numbers.
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAOctober 17, 2017
If you are ready to work very long hours and a lot of overtime. This job is for you ! There is no family time and no life outside of work. Sometimes having to work through breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feelings about getting hired
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Cowpens, SCSeptember 13, 2017
This company will work you a long time and then will make out as if they are going to hire you but never will.The job is good but you never know when you my get hired
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive place to work.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Spanish Fork, UTAugust 19, 2017
I worked at kapstone for ten years and was given opportunity is grow and learn my job. Very good health benefits and 401 . Very go opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Rewards program
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight