Karl Chevrolet Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Bad place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IAAugust 13, 2018
Has To Be the Absolute Worst place to Work. Truly Horrible. And I am still working here. As soon as I can get another job I'm leaving. I made a huge mistake believing the lies I was told when I started here many years ago.
Pros
Pay is not good. Hours are horrible
Cons
Employees are treated like slaves verbally beat up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales and Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IAJuly 25, 2018
Great place, great team, goal oriented. If you work hard, you'll make all the money you need. Management won't let you fail, everything you do has an imapct on someone, so your management cares.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
FINANCIAL BILLER & TITLE CLERK (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTFebruary 28, 2018
Karl Chevrolet was a great place to work at. A family owned business, with deep community roots. Relaxing atmosphere, safe and secure. Great place to work at.
Pros
flexible schedule, quiet location, small business
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rough working condtions
Oil Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAFebruary 2, 2018
you worked outside in the heat with no breaks no matter the weather to cool down. they had no consideration for time needed for family, or what the family situation is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slavery
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAJanuary 23, 2018
If you want to be looked down on like a slave go ahead and apply but unless your praising the moyers like their kings your a nobody here, you're just another number for them to get their over priced work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
car detailer (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAOctober 19, 2017
great people and awesome time. it was a temporary job while i was in school and they always worked around my schedule. highly recommend for someone who is in school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAOctober 19, 2017
I would start my day at 8 and work until 4:30 and close one night a week , we were not able to take breaks or have a lunch . I started to learn the parts catalogue when I had time . I worked with some really good people there . The parts manager was hard to work for . I enjoyed being able to use the parts catalogue and learn how to operate the fork lift
Pros
work with the people inside the dept. and learning new skills
Cons
no breaks or lunch low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work. no job security.
New Car Inventory Prep Manager (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IASeptember 14, 2017
terrible place to work. lots of favoritism. to many family members of owners and managers working here. no equal treatment among employees. thank you.
Pros
money
Cons
vacation time, sick time, holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard work at a dealership
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IAJuly 7, 2017
A typical work day included diagnosis and repair of customer vehicles. Most work consisted of warranty work. Upper management
hardly attempted to help gain more hours while on commission.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Clerical Work (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAJune 1, 2017
This is a great place if you are in good in sales. Can make great money, but must be willing to work long hours and Saturdays, and some holidays. If you are outgoing this is a good place to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with. Fast pace environment.
Parts Counter Person (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IAMarch 13, 2017
Typical day at work is very busy. Being in the GM parts field things are always changing and I'm always learning something new. The Maral from upper management could be better. The most enjoyable part about my job is being challenged everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Leasing and Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IAFebruary 21, 2017
Great employees and great place to work. Has the best inventory in United states. They do work sales people six days a week which is difficult if you have family.
Pros
sales
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job for starting out people
Detail Technician (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAJanuary 23, 2017
head of the collision dept. works with people pretty well, very understanding, but the other people around are not very pleasant, making morale pretty low. Hard to earn raises, and as a detail tech there were no benefits
Pros
Christmas ham
Cons
paycheck you can be pretty proud of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment revolving door.
New Car Sales (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAJanuary 2, 2017
I worked at Karl Chevrolet for about six months. During that time I witnessed 16 people hire on and leave. Management is all about micro managing their sales staff. If they don't threaten your job, you are about to be fired. My experience led me to believe they hire you to sell your friends and family. Once they feel they had exhausted this goal, they fire you for ambiguous reasons like not selling fast enough. Worst job experience I ever had!
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Horrible hours and bismall management practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work while going to school
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IASeptember 14, 2016
I was hired on at Karl Chevrolet while attending college at DMACC for my associates degree. I worked the night shift the first year and the second year. After I graduated, I was on full time and moved to
the big rig truck shop with top kick truck, mobile home service and repairs. Learned a lot about all different types of vehicles and had a great relationship with all my co workers. Came out to Arizona on vacation. Enjoyed the weather so much that I placed applications at that time. Was hired on at Liberty GMC and have been here ever since.
Pros
Got experience from other certified technicians.
Cons
Lots of rust on cars and trucks. Learned how to use a torch.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace I enjoyed my job and supervisor
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ankeny IowaMarch 2, 2015
The company was very reputable, and management was good .There were no advancement opportunities My supervisor was outstanding
Pros
Management was good, company had a good reputation
Cons
got laid off with 30 others no job stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Dealership
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTApril 9, 2014
Helping customers understand there vehicle's and giving them a family oriented place to appreciate.
Pros
Great Health Insurance & Family Enviroment
Cons
End Of Inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Karl Chevrolet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18 reviews
56
43
33
24
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Karl Chevrolet Reviews by Location