Keenan & Associates Employee Reviews

Found 46 reviews matching the search See all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dropping on the likeability scale
Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJanuary 20, 2019
Company culture shifted dramatically after buy out by larger entity. Constant push for cost cutting and caseloads minus the resources to do the job effectively.
Increased scrutiny placing pressure on many in claims dept and managers lack people skills to connect with their workforce to see that morale has been downgraded.
They promote from within, but fail to properly train people. You essentially have a segment of the workforce there that makes constant mistakes and that leaves others to pick up the slack.
Quarterly file reviews plus excessive reporting requirements they fail to advise you of when hired. More about numbers and not about quality they advertise to clients. Assembly line claims handling organization.
Pros
growth, community involved
Cons
detached management, poor training, low wages, high caseloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Workman's Comp File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CAJanuary 4, 2019
Very busy, some what of a team player company. The management was sometimes really strict for no apparent reason. Work place culture very diverse. The most enjoyable part of the job was the team I was on was very much helpful.
Pros
Some what of a team player
Cons
Benefits package not to great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Medical Only Adjuster/ Claims Assistant (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CA 92505September 4, 2018
overall this is a great company to work for. recently merged with another company and also have new management in the office. typically not micro-managed as long as your job is completed timely. fast paced. employees are great to work with and very friendly. they provide great medical benefits with 401k available. very big on customer service. also provide opportunities for VTO.
Pros
9/80 work schedule available. paid medical benefits for employee. VTO
Cons
lower wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work. have annual picnic bbq in parking lot of facility;
Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJuly 7, 2018
fun place to work. have annual picnic bbq in parking lot of facility; the people were great, supportive, the hours were great, it was close to restaurants and shopping so you could run errands while you were on lunch
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Employee
Member Services Representative (TEMP) (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJune 19, 2018
My temporary assignment at Keenan Associates was not a good work experience. I would not recommend this employer to no one, the staff were very mean and unfriendly and not very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Workplace
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAApril 18, 2018
The Account Manager position is very demanding yet rewarding. Responsible for a large book of business and there is no downtime. You have to make it happen. Lots of processes and very little training. You will become very proficient in all aspects of employee benefits and will quickly realize your value.
Pros
flexibility, colleagues
Cons
little work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience
CLAIMS ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 5, 2018
Management and the office culture made working here incredibly taxing and upsetting. People clearly show bias against certain employees, yet let others do whatever they want. The benefits were decent, though, so I can understand why people stay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great whle it last
Benefit / Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAMarch 16, 2018
I loved working for the company, but it was a short experience due to a temporary position. I would consider working for the company again :if there is a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & relaxed
Data Entry / General Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 14, 2017
This was a very nice place to work, this company is a 3rd. party Insurance company processing workers comp. and other Insurance as needed. I liked the position I had and did real well.
Pros
nice people
Cons
nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Office clerk (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAOctober 8, 2017
I enjoyed working at Keenen, even if it was just a temporary job. The employees were all very helpful and kind. They taught me key elements to the position very quickly. They allowed me to work overtime and my schedule was very flexible with them.
Cons
temp position, wish i could have stayed permanently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place to work
Account Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAAugust 30, 2017
This is a family orientated company, they care about their employees and the social responsibility is amazing. My Manager was very helpful and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior Eligibility Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAMay 26, 2017
Fast paced. Supportive management. Company provides and supports advancement. The environment is positive. I would recommend to those looking for a challenge as you are always busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Workers' Compensation Medical Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAMay 4, 2017
This is a good company. Management was fair organized and to the point. Promotions are far and few between. The accounts are fast paced and demanding. You feel like they care about their employees.
Pros
Family atmosphere
Cons
Not a lot of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no diversity, management sucks
agent (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 24, 2017
Management is full of old white folks who don't know how to use a computer. Minorities fill the roll of underpaid slave labor and when you speak up, you're out the door. Not a place to build a career, especially if you're not white. You will likely be offered a "temp" job for a whole year then they toss you out like a dog.
Pros
none
Cons
racism lives here
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAApril 24, 2017
Keenan was a great place to work and I was there for nearly 7 years. The overall company culture is positive and there is great work/life balance an generous compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn - be ready to hit the ground running
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAApril 10, 2017
A typical day at work could consist of a huge workload, to finding things to do. I learned a lot about the industry and marketing side of the insurance brokerage. Management is extremely busy and not always readily available. The hardest part of the job was making decisions that we need answers to from upper management and not having them be available for answers - so you have to be able to make sound decisions. The most enjoyable part of the job was completing a complex assignment it resulting in a successful endeavor.
Pros
Casual Fridays
Cons
Workplace Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!!!
Customer Relations Consultant (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAApril 6, 2017
The culture at Keenan and Associates is very upbeat and energetic. The management staff there were very easy to talk to and very understanding,it was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Benefits Specializing in School Clientele
Voluntary Benefits (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAMarch 6, 2017
Provided wonderful opportunities for advancement and learning and allowed me to cut my teeth in the employee benefits arena. They had a niche clientele of public schools.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would rather not review
Account Manager/Schools K-12 (Former Employee) –  Westlake, CAFebruary 15, 2017
When writing your review, please consider the following guidelines:

Focus on the company and your individual experience while employed there
Provide details about why you liked or disliked working at the company
Ensure any facts you include in your review are true and accurate
All submitted reviews are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms of Service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data entry
Data Entry / General Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 8, 2017
3rd party Insurance, responsible for handling workers compensation claims, new enrolments, filing, photo copying, phone inquiries and other duties
Pros
Good
Cons
Heathcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Keenan & Associates. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 47 reviews
518
412
37
26
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture