Kennedy/Jenks Consultants Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working, fair salary, friendly
Business Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 25, 2017
This was a professional place to work. Management concerned about success of firm. Had training sessions. Trusted employee to do the job, no micromanaging.
Pros
Good salary, professional, friendly yet driven
Cons
Not enough assistance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had a great team and it was a good place to work
project Accountant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 3, 2017
I processed invoices for a large client. We had a change in culture approximately 5 years ago. It went from employees first, money second to money first/employee second. I enjoyed working with most of the people, but there were some who could never be pleased
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid, large engineering firm
Senior Staff Engineer (Former Employee) –  Federal WayFebruary 26, 2015
Kennedy/Jenks is internally sub-divided according to accounts or types of projects (e.g., railroads is one division, airports is another), with each sub-division having a manager. These managers are very territorial about their people and their work. The project you get in on could affect your entire career, as you may not get an opportunity to 'jump' over to another sector. However, once in, there's no limit to the type or scope of projects you might get exposed to. I love engineering, so I liked virtually all aspects of working here. However, you should know before you start that you will, sooner or later, be expected to bring in new work. K/J does a really poor job of training a young engineer on how to do that, but if you don't figure it out relatively quickly, they will lay you off. Take a look at the staff - there's few senior engineers and mostly young people out of college.
Pros
Broad range of potential projects
Cons
cut-throat on billability
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 7, 2015
Amazing employees and company. I would recommend anyone to work for this company. The pay is great and jobs you work on are challenging and will look great on a resume.
Pros
free lunches from clients
Cons
You don't always have enough to do everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommended company with a new direction
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 24, 2014
Kennedy/Jenks reorganized in August 2013. The new leadership has provided a strong vision and direction that has one of the oldest engineering firms in the United States outpacing the rest of the industry. I highly recommend strong technical engineers consider opportunities with this firm - the growth trajectory envisioned by the new company leadership is impressive!
Pros
Strong Growth Potential
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Electrical Intern (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WADecember 3, 2013
Kennedy Jenks opened my eyes to a whole new world from the engineering perspective of the construction industry. I spent my last 20 years working in the residential and commercial side of construction but industrial was a different avenue. Designing to make sure there are little to no errors and writing specifications as legally perfect as possible was an interesting and exciting challenge.

Thanks!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
GIS/Database Analyst (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 2, 2013
Filled with hardworking and smart people to work with. What more can one ask for.
Pros
Its great
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity for technical skills but little opportunity for advancement.
Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WAMarch 28, 2013
The support personnel make the company what it is. They are highly capable and produce a lot of good work. There are a lot of brilliant senior engineers and scientist in the company but they have no mid-level and little junior level support. Therefore they lose jobs because they are too expensive.
The management staff indicates that the company position is improving but continues to surprise the staff with layoffs. The ship is sinking and the band keeps playing.
Pros
there were opportunities to work on a wide variety of projects with technically skilled people.
Cons
professional development is vague and ambiguous. most personnel are in fear for their jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Administrative Assistant/Word Processor (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAOctober 10, 2012
I've received all training with K/J and I thank them for that. A 13 year run wasn't bad but I wish there was more communication as well as possibilities and less tension.
Pros
free lunch with meeting
Cons
no management or communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, poor leadership, company future uncertain
Engineer (Current Employee) –  OregonMay 31, 2012
This company has great people "in the trenches" but suffers serious lack of leadership at the top. If they don't figure out an identity and some goals, the ship is going down.
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
future uncertain
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kennedy/Jenks Consultants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11 reviews
55
41
35
20
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

4.5InHerSight Score

4.4Personal Development

5.0Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Kennedy/Jenks Consultants Reviews by Location