Kentucky Trailer Employee Reviews

2.9
Overall rating
Based on 21 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
43
37
21
16
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 21 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn bad place if you take pride in your work
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Walled Lake, MIApril 20, 2018
If you have half a brain or even less you get hired here. Which does provide the opportunity to learn and become better at fabrication, carpentry and general assembly. With that said it is an absolutely terrible place to work. Constant beraidement, favoritism (typically lack or courage on the part of management to standup to certain employees) poor pay (opportunity to make a wage consistent to the level and quality of work you do) and constant talk behind your back make this a company I would not recommend to work for. If you are 18, have patience and humility as a bedrock of your character, and want to learn new skills this is the job for you. If you are a mature adult or have a family you provide for and take pride in your abilities stay away.
Pros
Four day work week
Cons
Pay, time-off system, management (supervisory and mid level), "teenage girl" back-stabbing
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work for but just doesnt pay enough for work required
Lead Welder/Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 8, 2018
Very hard demanding work for little pay. Underpaying employees for skilled labor. Wonders why turnover rate is so high. Language barrier is all over the place due to hiring refugees. May work with team that can't speak English and ends up being huge safety concern.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved to weld alunimum
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILMarch 9, 2018
learnig more about welding alunimum help advance my career even though all the job were tempary it tought me some patients and my boss gave all the tip on how to weld alunimum safely
Pros
wish i could go back
Cons
litte more pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely Terrible
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Walled Lake, MIFebruary 14, 2018
Terrible management, extremely unsanitary and unhealthy work environment, underpaid, forced overtime, no room to grow, no longevity, horrible communication between employees and upper management, worst job ever.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Dirty, extremely underpaid, horrible communication between departments, unappreciative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a serious job
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILJanuary 18, 2018
Always had my job threatened by management for telling them the wrong doings going on there. Was told “if you don’t like it, there’s the door” The location I worked at did not try to correct problems, just made more. The women were paid much less for doing more work. Too much playing around.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, low pay
System Support Technician (Current Employee) –  University Park, ILSeptember 25, 2017
This job is good as long as you don't want to make a lot of money. There was a lot to learn at the start, and it does seem like they want to keep up technologically. If I had to do it over, I would have asked for more money right from the start, then I would have either not been selected, or would be making more right now. The people I work with and for are the best part of the job.
Pros
Flexibilty
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad culture
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 13, 2017
Bad culture. Don't treat people with respect. Certain employees get special treatment. Don't apply rules fairly across the board. Don't value hard work.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 18, 2017
Great company! Lots of growth opportunities. Great pay and supervisors willing to train employees to move up in company. Servant Leadership is important and they focus on it daily. Pay raises each year with profit sharing bonus.
Pros
Growth opportunities
Cons
Hot atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 18Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILMay 19, 2017
Was hired as a laborer my boss never trained me I was verbally abused then because I wasn't doing good enough for them I was let go so ya I'd avoid this place!
Pros
Nothimg
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to grow and fine tune your trade
General Associate (Former Employee) –  Walled Lake, MIApril 20, 2017
If youre willing to to put in the time and effort into fine tuning and growing your trade(and even learning new ones) this is the place for you. However, if you dont show the initiative you wont get any help.
Pros
Open and independent environment. 4 day work weeks
Cons
Management can be biased
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Bulk Head Assembler (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 16, 2017
I really enjoyed my time at Kentucky Trailer. Everyone was always super nice and helpful. I stayed busy all the time, so the days always went by fast. But we were never super exhausted. And got plenty of overtime whenever we wanted it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad supervisors
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 1, 2017
Came in three minutes early and got wrote up for being late. Always complained about something. Good hours, work isn't bad. Sometimes you just stand around and do nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave ship
Rivot (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 3, 2016
This place expects you to work harder & faster with zero mistakes. Overtime will put you in the grave fast. No time for nothing but being a slave. Management, well forget it......this place is a dead end job that will tear your body down.
Pros
None
Cons
Short breaks, too much overtime, bad mgmt
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very serious work environment with no morale building activities
Truck Trailer Technician (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYDecember 30, 2015
I do enjoy the labor intensive work I do on a daily basis, I like to stay busy it makes the time go by fast. I am a self learner, self motivated and I would like to work for a company that has room for advancement, I do enjoy working with the staff, it can get hot sometimes during the summer but nothing is ever to unbearable.
Pros
Some profit sharing
Cons
No pay increases or evaluations are given
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
KYT is just entering the mobile medical business
Director of Aftermarket (Current Employee) –  Chicagoland area - southApril 26, 2015
A servant leadership company where the customer comes first and foremost. I am the Director of Aftermarket Sales and Service. I write service contracts and sell refurbishment projects. I work with military contractors and medical device companies.
Pros
Open door policy
Cons
Some decision making is done by senior management without input from those affected by the decision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 16Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here, very friendly place to work.
Prep for Paint (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 29, 2014
Learn a lot from this company in regards to prep and detailing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 15Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment bad managers
Technician (Former Employee) –  Walled Lake, MIJune 7, 2013
Good place to show abilities but, bad place to get credit for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
trailer mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 13, 2012
lifting heavy truck learned how to work on kentucky trailers managment ok co workers ok working under trailers getting paid
Pros
insurance
Cons
hot no shade
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people with great values just don't pay enough
DOT FINAL INSPECTION (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 4, 2012
Great job,have learned alot at Kentucky Trailer.Looking for something new with better pay and better benifits. Live too far away for the money i'm making,If i lived in Louisville i would not need to be looking for another job.That's how much i like working for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report

See more Kentucky Trailer reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kentucky Trailer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question