Key Food Employee Reviews

Found 237 reviews matching the search See all 241 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and nice people
Cashier Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Astoria, NYSeptember 15, 2019
I liked working for them, I learned a lot as a cashier, very good people.
Cons
Not too much hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Es un buen ambiente tranquilo
Vendedora (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2019
Es un buen supermercado ambiente agradable los pro ,poco horas flexibles
Pros
Buen ambiente
Cons
Poco tiempo flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 27, 2019
It's easy but the management was messy and rude along with the customers being rude as well and blaming cashiers for the prices on the stocked shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work, but terrible leadership
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NY 11101July 25, 2019
The job is nice and fast paced, you get to do a lot of different things, but the managers are terrible thinking they are know it alls. The customers can be very disrespectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work for keyfood
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Rockville Centre, NYJuly 17, 2019
DO NOT WORK HERE ! I REPEAT DO NOT WORK HERE ! DO NOT SHOP HERE ! I REPEAT DO NOT SHOP HERE! Place is dirty mice and roaches, mice droppings on objects we place food on, managers suck, supervisors are condescending A holes I once got in trouble for yawning I kid you not. Apparently you can’t yawn in front of customers you have to go to the back room to yawn . Because everybody knows then there about to yawne
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work low pay
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 21, 2019
Management was decent, be prepared to stand whole shift, 30 minute lunch unpaid. Friendly staff. No benefits and low pay, hard to get promotion. Would not work at keyfood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 17, 2019
very productive, the co workers make you feel comfortable especially if you just started working at the job. The only problem is that they cut people off
Pros
no pros
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I think
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 30, 2019
A typical day of work is working at the cash register and stocking the shelves. I learned this skill from co-workers and managers and I picked up on some of the skills myself. Management was awesome , they always encouraged me to do my best and that I was doing good work. However the hardest part was standing up which didn't help cause I have bad feet. The most enjoyable part of the job was how impressed customers were with my bagging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2019
Business was always fast, the people make you feel comfortable, the customers are very calm, customer rarely rush the cashier, they work with your timing
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good work place
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYMay 14, 2019
the managers dont know how to talk to the customers the food is over priced .the workers cant even enjoy their lunch breaks.because the managers always say hurry up before it gets busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy job especially for younger individuals.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Flushing, NY 11365May 13, 2019
A typical day of work is fairly simple and easy. You are just standing up majority of the day at a cash register dealing with customers and issuing change and receiving payments. I have learned quite a few skills such as patience, cooperation, and the ability to work under pressure. The culture at Key Food is very old fashioned. The hardest part of the job is it gets a bit stressful when it gets busy but asides from that, it is a fairly simple job.
Pros
Convenience, closeby
Cons
Short breaks, rude management, very boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Supermarket Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 24, 2019
Exceptional customer services skills. Skilled at using scanners and computers to enter billing information. Excellent oral and written communication skills.
Pros
Detailed knowledge of cah handling procedures.
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get along with the evening shift
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Unites statesMarch 27, 2019
Working at keyfood isn’t bad. It’s not a hard job well getting along people. Always being collaborate. But doesn’t have paid vacation or much benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but slow place
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Riverdale, NYMarch 11, 2019
The work place is always very stressful during rush hours but a very relaxed place with the nice co workers but then the work place gets too relaxed because of the slow it turns out after and there not much else to do after the job is finished rather quickly
Pros
Calm work environment
Cons
Short breaks, not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NY 10466March 8, 2019
I would get to work, clock in. Then I would go downstairs and get the information on the task they set for me that specific day. When we were upstairs in the store, we were placing tags on items and be social with the customers such as helping them when they needed the help.
Pros
Being social
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Bookkeeper assistant (Former Employee) –  Middle Island, NY 11953March 2, 2019
Key food is a good job because the management provide to their employees the opportunity to learn more , also they understand and they try to help his customers
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Assistant Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 18, 2019
I like working at keyfood. I love to interact with my customers because I love helping people. Also, worked with some great people. Sometimes it would get really busy and I actually like it makes time go by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supermarket
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 7, 2019
a typical day was clocking in to work then counting your draw to make sure you have enough money to take.also contains of customer service skills such as communicating with them as you ring up their items
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  Floral Park, NYJanuary 14, 2019
standing in ine place for hours , old people, there was alot of playing around with other co workers , co workers would be mean to each other , arguments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average workplace, great for a beginner.
Stock Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Key Food Store #440January 8, 2019
Working here is not for everyone, as there is a lot of movement required. Workload is not very much if you manage to do your tasks quickly and efficiently. There are days where business is very high and you need to stay on your game. Co-workers are fairly friendly and are willing to help you out when you need it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Key Food. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 241 reviews
555
463
379
231
113

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Key Food.

Powered by Comparably