Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 19 reviews
Ratings breakdown
55
411
32
21
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 19 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my local team but difficult nationwide
Patent Paralegal (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 25, 2018
I was employed during the shift of office centric to client centric.

The workload was increased due to change of attorney to support ratio changed.

My hours went from 45 to 70 hours per week.

No Life - work balance.
Pros
Loved the San Diego team
Cons
Difficult providing nationwide legal support due to different office cultures and expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Workflow Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAMay 2, 2018
A typical day for me was to review my docket with my attorneys to ensure that we had everything listed that was due. We worked together to ensure that everything was accomplished on time and accurately.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Senior Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 16, 2018
There is a lot of work, which requires a lot of hours.

The staff for the most part is great and work well together as a team to meet the client's needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good firm to work for
Intellectual Property Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 16, 2017
Good firm to work for. It was challenging, fast paced, great personnel and management. The benefits are very competitive with other firms in the area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, energetic work group
Patent Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 9, 2017
I worked at Kilpatrick Townsend (formerly Townsend, Townsend & Crew) for over 9 years. It was a very satisfying and challenging experience. I would recommend Kilpatrick to others, including potential clients.
Pros
wonderful group of people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Del Mar, CASeptember 10, 2017
Good place to work. Good work/life balance for staff. Great people and lots of variety in job. Friendly office and room for advancement with proven ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good firm to work for.l
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 30, 2017
The people in the Washington, D.C., office are generally accomplished, ethical people to support and work with. It is an office that is supportive of individuals' needs outside of the office.

The degree of advancement possible depends on one's job. Attorneys can move up. That is generally not true for support personnel.
Pros
The IT people in the DC office and the home office are excellent.
Cons
The Firm has trouble keeping quality attorneys.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy firm
Temping Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 17, 2017
Assigned to work for attorneys in San Francisco and Silicon Valley
very busy also, handled many billing groups and I did a great job,
at least two partners (at different time) from Silicon Valley introduced themself to me in person when they had the meeting in SF, just to say thank you for my good work.
Pros
Many free lunches
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
LEGAL SECRETARY/TRIAL COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Menlo Park, CAJune 26, 2017
The Menlo Park office for KTS is mainly patent prosecution. The location of the office doesn't have the hard IP Litigation but has many other soft IP work such as licensing and trademark and copyright litigation.

Great culture for volunteer work and civic duty all available.
Pros
Staff included in litigation monthly meetings
Cons
Poor communication between Menlo Park and home office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Patent Specialist (Current Employee) –  Menlo Park, CAJune 18, 2017
There are too many managers and not enough clear and concise rolls provided. And there is little to no room for advancement. There is not enough training provided and communication with management is hardly available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kilpatrick was a great place to work
Legal Secretary, LT/CFRE Workflow Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMarch 20, 2017
I worked in the Washington DC office and the Reston, Virginia office of Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton, and when I moved to North Carolina, I was happy to be able to join the Winston-Salem office.

As the workflow coordinator for the Litigation and Corporate, Finance and Real Estate departments, my day was very busy, ensuring that every project had the required coverage. The culture at KTS was that of a firm with long term employees, most of the staff had worked there for 20 or more years. It was a very close knit working group.

The most rewarding part of my job was being able to do so much more than a Legal Secretary would normally do, as there was not enough Paralegal coverage. I learned a lot at KTS and appreciate my time there.

I understand that the restructuring and lay-offs were a business decision, which affected me and several other people but nowadays, companies, law firms included have to make such decisions sometimes to stay at the top of their field.

I am looking forward to a new experience and cannot wait to start this chapter of my life.
Pros
Great Benefits, Wonderful working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy heavy workload, HR is really cool in the DC office
Foreign Patent Paralegal - Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 14, 2016
Nice people, very caring and professional
Attorneys treat you very fair. They communicate well with the staff
Paralegals do work for other offices throughout the U.S. depending on their docket
The docket was challenging being that the docketing team was housed in India
Pros
excellent benefits, great IT team
Cons
a lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Tax and Accounting Consultant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 16, 2016
Starts with To Do list
Learned various tax strategies
No complaints about the job
Co-workers are very help full to each other
Pros
Great Culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Salary and Medical Benefits
Certified Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 24, 2016
The company has great compensation packages and medical benefits. Unfortunately there is very little promotion from within, thus no room to grow.
Pros
Great salaries and healthcare benefits.
Cons
No room to grow and no promotions from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sufficient for current lifestyle
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 23, 2015
I receive excellent compensation and benefits for the work that I do here, and my immediate manager is wonderful; however, upper management is rather disinterested in the goings-on of certain departments and teams, and the division of certain departments is not conducive to a more efficient business process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great firm with excellent benefits
Senior Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 28, 2014
Kilpatrick Townsend is a great place to work. They provide excellent benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large law firm with lots of great and fun employees.
Operations/Facilities Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 2, 2014
A typical day at work as Operations assistant consisted of ordering new supplies to keep inventory full. Assisting attorneys and other employees with procuring special items to complete certain tasks. Making sure the floors were clear and accessible and well lit. I would typically make a courthouse run in the early afternoon. I would help setup for staff luncheons almost everyday. Things usually slowed down around 430pm. I WAS OFF AT 6.
Pros
Great team of employees, excellent benefits, great location.
Cons
Mediocre pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kilpatrick Townsend offers great compensation and benefits, in a very professional environment.
Community Realtions (Current Employee) –  GAJanuary 9, 2012
Kilpatrick Townsend offers great compensation and benefits, in a very professional environment. If you want a very classic business structure with extremely professional people this is a great place to work. If you are a bit of a free spirit KT would not be a great fit.
Pros
benefits, compensation, beautiful workplace
Cons
uptight
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.9InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

4.5Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton Reviews by Location