Kindred Hospice logo
Kindred Hospice
Happiness rating is 56 out of 100Below average
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Kindred Hospice Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.9Work-Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 399 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Poor leadership at local level

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Could be a good place to work with the right local leadership. The local leadership is just lacking which makes for a bad day at work more days than not.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

June 3, 2021
Thank you for sharing. To ensure your concerns are heard and to serve future employees better, it’s important for us to talk to you more about your experience. I am available at experience@kindredathome.com so we can talk in detail. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

No work life balance

Kindred Hospice only cares about money. There is no work life balance. The upper management will work staff almost to exhaustion. Pay is lower than other hospices in the area. The marketer lies to prospective patients.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Time management is important

Job overall is not difficult but will have hiccups every now and then. If you manage your time well your work week will be rather smooth. Management is there to support when you encounter issues.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

It was good company till merger after merger.

I enjoyed it when it was Gentiva Hospice. But after two more mergers it became a Titanic, unable to be flexible, caring only for profit and little in way of rewards and benefits for employees. Upper management was insensitive and uncaring.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

No Work Life Balance

No work life balance with this place, constantly on call and asked to do things even on your days off (including PTO days). I would leave work in the morning and truly not know when I would get home. The turn over rate at the local branch is very high. You are not trained nor taught any policies. So many questionable calls about patients being eligible vs non eligible. Their was no organization, no communication. No clear direction. Constant chaos and stress. Would not recommend working for Kindred.

Pros

Meet amazing nurses and helping patients during end of life

Cons

No work life balance, high caseloads, working past “salaried” hours, no lunch breaks, high turn over.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

July 7, 2021
Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. Would you be willing to talk with our team? The impact of sharing your concerns is crucial to the future experience of other employees. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com, or you can call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412 if you prefer to remain anonymous. Thank you, Brian D

Your experience matters.

Help out others considering your employer. Rate your employer.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Discouraged

Absolute lack of communication between field and mgmt employees. There are no clearly defined policies for the referral or admission process and the “rules” change for everyone. Lack of leadership and no support for field staff. High turnover, poor patient satisfaction scores, no raises(!)I am still employed out of commitment to my patients but don’t anticipate staying there much longer. There is no loyalty no appreciation no recognition for the work we do on a daily basis and the sacrifices we and our families make to do this work.

Pros

Flexibility

Cons

Too many to list
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

July 1, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee of Kindred Hospice. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com, or you may remain anonymous and report your concerns by calling our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not a place to work!

No home life due to 12-15 hour days working. Management is poor and rude! Unethical workplace! All they care about is the bottom line, money! I worked my tail off and was treated like dirt!

Pros

Co-workers

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

July 1, 2021
We do not wish for any employee experience to be a negative one. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com to talk to you about your experience. Or you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412 if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Nurse Practitioner Beware

This company has no clue regarding state laws for nurse practitioners. They will not provide a collaborating physician in states that require it and expect you to find your own and pay for it. With the pay they provide for visits it is not worth it. Patients are awesome. Company and corporate office are awful. Dishonestly runs deep throughout this company.

Pros

Patients

Cons

Corporate office
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

July 1, 2021
Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. Would you be willing to talk with our team? The impact of sharing your concerns is crucial to the future experience of other employees. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com, or you can call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412 if you prefer to remain anonymous. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Flexible

I do love working for kindred. This is room for advancement. I love that you can spend time with your patients and their families. The pay is good. The people i work with are great Everyone works as a team.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

July 1, 2021
We appreciate your thoughtful words. We know this special calling requires special people, and we’re glad you’re here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Austin Program Filled with Amazing Teammates

The people in the Austin, Texas program are amazing. They care about their patients, they care about the mission to provide individuals and families experience end of life care. One of the LVNs that coordinates admissions and is operation control for the branch has been with this branch 17years, which speaks volumes - bonus she’s just an awesome person too and knows how to do everything! It’s a warm office to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

July 1, 2021
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.

Jobs at Kindred Hospice

See more jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

No work life balance

No work life balance. The company doesn’t want to hear any suggestions for improvement and expect you to move all visits into other days if requesting a day off. Horrible on boarding process. Every level of employee is overworked and not valued. They do not like you to question anything.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

June 10, 2021
Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. Would you be willing to talk with our team? The impact of sharing your concerns is crucial to the future experience of other employees. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com, or you can call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412 if you prefer to remain anonymous. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Zero training/zero work - life balance/minimal corporate support

Huge mistake- no training- no support from upper management- no staff- will work employees to death and not care- as long as the job/reports/conference calls are all completed

Pros

None

Cons

Too many to list
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

June 8, 2021
We value all feedback, good or bad, and strongly believe that our employees are the heart of our company. Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com to talk through your concerns. Or you may choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns by calling our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible bosses

If you are a hard worker they will reward you with adding more responsibilities while mediocre employees are celebrated and even promoted ahead of you. 100% would not recommend working here if you plan to have any kind of life outside of work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

May 25, 2021
We do not wish for any employee experience to be a negative one. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com to talk to you about your experience. Or you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412 if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Helping Patients Great! Kindred management is overall poor..

The managers often speak negatively of patients that are requesting additional care or help during the morning stand-up. This is a hospice organization, with a very high staff turnover in all areas. Poor reputation in San Diego, CA.

Pros

Some of the direct care nurses really care about their patients.

Cons

Managers often stressed very negative towards patient and staff referrals declining.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

May 24, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience as an employee of Kindred Hospice. We hope you will consider talking further with our team. We consider your concerns as crucial for our current and future employees. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com, or you may remain anonymous and report your concerns by calling our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Bottom of the Barrel Employer

Very poorly run company, from top to bottom. Poor standards of care. Cannot attract or keep good staff. Poor pay for work expected. Too many hours carried over into home life. Unrealistic and unethical productivity expectations, patients/care suffer. Corporate penny pinching. No raise in over 3 years and last raise miniscule despite excellent performance reviews. Unprofessional, unqualified management. Lying and manipulative management. No support or trust, professionally. Toxic work environment. Not localized issues, most offices. Many service failures. Families disgruntled with services and staff take the brunt of frustration and complaints because office nor management ever address issues. Embarrassed to say I've worked here. Would never recommend to anyone in need of Hospice services. Used to be one of the best, most compassionate, ethical companies. Getting worse every year.

Pros

Caring for Hospice families.

Cons

Everything else.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

May 21, 2021
We value all feedback, good or bad, and strongly believe that our employees are the heart of our company. Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com to talk through your concerns. Or you may choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns by calling our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412. Thank you, Brian D
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Helping people transition

Good company to work for overall except sometimes they give you too many patients that you can handle at one time, hospice aide usually work Monday through Friday start at 7 or 8 in the morning finish up for 5 in the afternoon you usually by yourself you have an RN to report to and weekly meetings at the office

Pros

Compassionate about patients

Cons

Still belittle Hospice Aids
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

May 20, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience working on our team. We appreciate you sharing feedback with us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Flexible and rewarding

I love old folks so it’s nice to be able to sit down and have a nice conversation with them and get to know them compared to facility work where you’re constantly in and out of rooms

Pros

Flexible schedule, quality time with residents

Cons

Call ins, attitude from some facilities
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Great place to work

I have never worked for a company that cares so much about their employees!! It is employee focused. The sky is the limit in advancement in my career!! Who would not love that?

Pros

Employee focused

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

May 18, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are honored by your service!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Productive and fun work environment

We had great nurses to work with always willing to help anyone in any that they needed. Our bosses were also good to work with.Occasionally one certain boss could be grouchy at times but thankfully not very often.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Difficult to Pursue Advancement

Unless you know the right people, it can be difficult to pursue advancement. Decisions based on personality rather than performance. But the work is so very important and fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

May 18, 2021
We appreciate you sharing your experience working on our team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

No comment

You work. And have good team support. There are different perspectives. There are other different aspects that are not necessary to bring to workplace.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Kindred Hospice

May 14, 2021
Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience. Would you be willing to talk with our team? The impact of sharing your concerns is crucial to the future experience of other employees. I can be reached at experience@kindredathome.com, or you can call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412 if you prefer to remain anonymous. Thank you, Brian D

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kindred Hospice. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 399 reviews
5
96
4
92
3
66
2
62
1
83

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Compare Kindred Hospice with

  • Companies
  • Kindred Hospice
  • Employee Reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?