Kinross Gold Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Staff Exploration Geologist (Former Employee) –  Republic, WANovember 9, 2018
They over work you and I always feared that I was going to get laid off. Made for a hostile work environment. They rarely promote women and prefer to promote buddies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No chance for growth
Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Bald MountainSeptember 24, 2018
Kinross says they want to help their employees grow. This is a lie If that’s what they really wanted to do they would really help those people that really want that chance.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
They really don’t care about the employees that want to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Bald mtn. NevadaAugust 5, 2018
Bosses are cutthroat to anybody with experience that might challenge their knowledge e.g. know more than them. Will set you up to take a fall don't give you the information you need to do the job safely. Lie to you to recruit you and when you get on the job than you find that you been lied to . Wouldn't recommend this job for anyone not while Kinross owns it.
Pros
Nothing good about this job
Cons
Stay away
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest place to work
Former equipment operator (Former Employee) –  NevadaAugust 4, 2018
Management and Supervisors say one thing then another, poor communication between employee and management, didn't feel part of any team or company, horrible
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Overall Experience
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OHJune 7, 2018
GM lied to my face about staffing and schedules in front of a group of other managers. Then the next day reneged completely on what promises were made to me in front of others.
Pros
Good salary and benefits
Cons
Unreliable and poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Place to Work
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Round Mountain, NVMay 9, 2018
I really liked working at Kinross because they have great pay and great benifets and they make sure the job is done correct. safety is huge at kinross so the pace was very relaxed
Pros
good pay and benifets
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place filled with deplorable people
Operator (Former Employee) –  Round Mountain, NVNovember 20, 2017
Incompetent managers, SEVERE nepotism and a good ol boy mentality are just the beginning of woes.
There is a reason they are ALWAYS hiring.
No one wants to stay, it's in the middle of nowhere and medical treatment is 4 hours away if you get hurt.
Props to you if you give Round Mt a chance. Corporate is cool but the local managers are a joke and half. EVERYONE and I mean eVeRyOnE is related to EVERYone. RMGC is run like some sort of shut in backwoods inbred insular town like out of a Steven King novel or perhaps the twilight zone.
Pros
You can almost forget the place on your week off
Cons
Not enough words or space to describe how miserable this place is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Round Mountain, NVNovember 17, 2017
Good place to work. Long way from any big city. Out in the middle of nowhere. Good pay and benefits. Only draw back is it's in the middle of nowhere.
Pros
Great managers
Cons
Distance from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Continuous Improvement Manager (Former Employee) –  Various USA and abroadOctober 4, 2017
Decline I do not wish to provide a written review of Kinross at this time. my views of Kinross are not relevant to anyone inquiring about a position within Kinross
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and career opportunities.
Assay Lab Technician/QC Technician (Current Employee) –  Ely, NVAugust 1, 2017
I have had the chance to get excellent training and QAQC/data entry experience. This occupation has allowed me to support my family. The benefits are excellent.
Pros
benfits, excellent pay
Cons
long hours away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay good benefits
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  AlaskaJune 28, 2017
Good place to make decent steady money benefits are good the hours are long plenty of overtime shifts if you want (usually ) it has provided a stable income for my family and a place you can count on
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, educational, always interesting
Lead Water Treatmeant Operator (Current Employee) –  Republic, WAMay 29, 2017
Everyday you must manage all aspects of the Water system. You have monitor and maintain the treatment system to insure that the mine stays dewatered and mining operations will not be affected. It is very challenging, educational and enjoyable to be successful at this operation.
Pros
You get to learn new things all the time
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like having a big family, they take care of their employees.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Round Mountain, NVMarch 17, 2017
Hours are hard working 12 hr. shifts going from days to nights. Rotating shifts. The pay is amazing, benefits are wonderful. If needed they are there for you in cases of emergency.
Pros
money, benefits.
Cons
No shopping, hard cold winters, hot summers
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and great place work.
Executive Asst./Office Mgr for Den Reg Office (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 14, 2017
Kinross is a Canadian Company are very enjoyable to with from the CEO to the Safety Manager.

Executives traveled a lot and with many flight changes and I would make all changes accordingly. Executives needed passport in different documents to enter different countries. Very challenging but I learned .

I planned all company events and planned a great summer outing to Sylvan Dale Ranch where the executives let their hair down and went horse back riding, played horseshoes and listened to a local band. They really enjoyed themselves and could relax and not worry about work.
Pros
Planning Quarterly QBR meetings
Cons
Running the EMQ Emergency Systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  FairbFebruary 19, 2017
I've enjoyed working for Kinross and think they provide good benefits and try to make their employees happy. I am only leaving because I'd like to leave the state I'm working in.
Pros
Great benefits and advancement opportunities
Cons
Short mine life
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Hadley, NVJanuary 20, 2017
It was a great paying job and they gave yearly raises. Unlike other security position l had held in the past, I worked with a team of officers. There was only a few negatives one was the location as it a mine located in a tiny Nevada town hours from supermarkets and hospitals. Security officers were given a grill for personal use during are long 12 hour shifts. Many times the security team would have potlucks and it helped to harbor a deep level of satisfaction.
Pros
Due to 12 hour shifts we had a mini 7 day vacation every month
Cons
The 12 hour shifts often left you tired and exhausted
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Round Mountain, NVJanuary 15, 2017
Great place to work an grow . Everyone works together and they take safety seriously . Bonuses and insurances is great also .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never can advance
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKDecember 11, 2016
I have been with Kinross for almost 7 years and have tried to move up in management. I'm stuck in a job and can't get promoted. I keep getting passed over for people that have less experience and time. It's about favoritism.
Pros
Salary, bonuss
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fake management
maint pit mechanic (Former Employee) –  bald mountain mineJuly 9, 2016
the place is unorganized and filled with non leadership oriented management. there is no direction and the warehouse supervisor is two faced and has no ability to lead. be wary when working here things change to quickly and are done with confidence in there hourly workers
Pros
small mine
Cons
lack of leadership, favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Slave (Current Employee) –  Round Mountain, NVJune 16, 2016
Kinross, Round Mountain Gold Corp (and Kinross in general) ARE TERRIBLE!!!!! I do not work for them and never have. But I know someone who has been extremely mistreated by them. BAD place to work. Favoritism to the max. They are all talk when it comes to company values, and don't care at all about their employees. DO NOT WORK HERE!!!!!! TRUST ME!!!!! THEY ARE EVIL!!!
Pros
Makes suicide much easier
Cons
Dude.... you'd be here all day reading this if I listed everything I know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 17Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kinross Gold Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 69 reviews
531
416
38
25
19

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Kinross Gold Corporation Reviews by Location