Kirkland's Employee Reviews

Found 1,077 reviews matching the search See all 1,079 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMarch 15, 2019
A work day consisted of stocking inventory and setting displays as well as sales. Many displays had to be measured and set as certain proportions on the wall, then changed 2 days later. This was the hardest part of my job. I enjoyed assisting people to find just the right item for their home.
Pros
Enjoyable inventory
Cons
Mundane
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Cashier Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMarch 9, 2019
it was okay nothing extravagant. slow days wouldn't really have nothing to do. no boy or men really worked there. females would unload freight. no lunch break room barely anywhere for employees to escape for break.
Pros
getting off
Cons
boring slow paced unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for, in all aspects!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TXMarch 9, 2019
Discrimination, employee theft of store items including management. Theft by management in the form of changing employees hours worked and shorting them on their paychecks. Unprofessional environment, no training, take advantage of customers. No consistency of treatment to employees or customers. I would never shop there or work there again!!! Starts at the top, owners & trickles down to sales associates. Fraudulent practices in all areas!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job, relaxed and a good place to learn the in and outs of companies.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNMarch 7, 2019
It's like any other job, My typical work day would be moving stuff, selling items, and dealing with online customers and orders. Once I week I would do freight handling and get 600 items off a truck with limited other people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst. Job. Ever.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesMarch 4, 2019
Broke every promise they ever made during interviews and onboarding. No training, no support, no communication. DM's will not call back or answer the phone and make unilateral decisions concerning store personnel without even consulting store management. Then give store management less than 24-48 hours to find a solution to fill gaps left by those unilateral decisions.

Forced to work 45 hours a week minimum. Forced to unload hundreds of boxes off of transfer trucks by hand each week instead of truck to door service provided by the drivers. Forced to schedule with barely enough hours to provide 2 person coverage. Not worth it.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Poor hours, no work/life balance. Not worth the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
SEASONAL SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 4, 2019
All my coworkers were awesome, manager was awesome, great people overall. Very accommodating with scheduling. Hardest part of the job were the customers, as per usual with retail. Absolutely no complaints, I would work there again next holiday season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co workers but Corporate doesn’t treat them as they should.
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLMarch 1, 2019
It’s a great advancement to add experience but not for long term. I would recommend working there for a bit but not long until you can find a better opportunity.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No benefits really.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXFebruary 28, 2019
The key to advancing within the company is to become more versatile with duties and abilities. The job can be demanding during seasonal occasions; but the teamwork makes it tolerable. Management from my experience are great, but because of their responsibilities, they can be difficult to work with at times. Good attitude and communication goes a long way with any job; which makes out for a better experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 28, 2019
as a Sales Associate at Kirkland Operate the point of sales terminal, greet customers when performing
duties around the store and ensure overall customer service. Keep store clean and organized and ensure
shelves are always well stocked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to see items before the public
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALFebruary 25, 2019
You get to see items before the public
Small discounts. Customers get better discounts with coupons.
The manager was horrible and no matter how many complaints she received from employees and customers they were ignored by the higher-ups.
Pros
You get to see items before the public
Cons
Small discounts. Customers get better discounts with coupons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gretna, LAFebruary 22, 2019
this job was a good starter position. it was a fun place to work and they are a fair and decent company. good perks and benefits. i enjoyed my time with this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most relaxing place i've worked at
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cedar Hill, TXFebruary 21, 2019
Everything about working at Kirkland's is nice minus the pay and the way the district manager treats the store (this location). The job is super relaxing and my co workers are really nice and supportive. The managers are really nice as well.
Pros
Nice Staff
Cons
pay and district manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse Company
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXFebruary 20, 2019
This company cares nothing about its employees , this is to include management. Be warned you do not want to work here. This company looks like it would be a fun place to work if like to decorate. NOPE!!!!
Cons
I have nothing nice to say about this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work there again if given the chance...
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LAFebruary 19, 2019
Yes the work load is a lot, but I feel with the right upper management and a great team under you, it is a great place to work. They really care about their customers, as it should be in retail. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people, it was always about people and a caring culture and the drive to succeed.
Pros
Care about their customers
Cons
could pay part-time employees more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Manager
SENIOR MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, INFebruary 18, 2019
The responsibilities vs pay are not in equal standing or even a good ratio. Upon asking for higher pay when hired I was told that the market in this area wasn't large enough to pay any more than 12 an hour. Lack of support from upper management. HR is non-existent, lack of support, overworked, underpaid.
Pros
None
Cons
Low Pay, Hard labor, no help
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at first.
Sr. Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 18, 2019
The company seemed great at first, great team members, but you soon realize that like many companies you are just a number on their chart and the expectations are very unrealistic.
Pros
Discounts on furniture/decor.
Cons
Pay, Poor Upper Management, Unrealistic Expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, CAFebruary 17, 2019
Surrounded by many beautiful items within the store. This job came with many responsibilities. I was hired as a Team Member. With my positive attitude. I was able to promote very quickly to Assistant Manager. Multi tasking was a must. Being able to work independently with little supervision. Ability to to learn quickly. Learned a lot regarding supervising & managing other Team Members. Also, problem solving. Love all the inventory coming in for all the holidays. Loved working with all the employees. It's my passion to help patrons with customer service. To help them with their needs.
Pros
Good employee discount program. Great experience.
Cons
My days off were never in a row.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  TexasFebruary 16, 2019
Very stressful place to work. You are given a lot of work to do, but very little time to do it and no proper tools to do so . Example: setting signs, but no hang tags or corner tags, no tape or markers, no one else scheduled to work so you are also the only cashier working. Always understaffed. Do not expect a lot of hours. You will get between 4-12 hours a week. Pay is embarrassing. No room for advancement, as they rarely promote from within. Management constantly changes and employee turnover is extremely high. NO BENEFITS other than a measly 20% discount.
Pros
Usually have awesome coworkers
Cons
Pay, hours, benefits, corporate politics, employee turnover rate, expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Sales Associate/Team Member (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 13, 2019
Great to work there but doesn’t pay enough and the shifts are so small. Even pay less than what the area pays most part timers in other stores in the areas
Pros
Great co workers and managers
Cons
No breaks due to small shifts, low hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Cookeville, TNFebruary 13, 2019
I absolutely love the people I work with! However, the pay sucks and you hardly get any hours. You are looking at about 10-15 hours a week and each shift is only 5 hours long. If you don’t need a job or just need something while in school, then this is perfect for you. If you are looking for full time and decent pay, i’d skip this
Pros
good environment
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kirkland's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,079 reviews
5354
4310
3250
289
176

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight