Kmart Employee Reviews

Found 17,217 reviews matching the search See all 18,620 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary job.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 19, 2019
They don’t offer enough benefits to their employees, especially if you are part time. This is just a job to seek if you’re looking for something temporary. Don’t work here if you’re looking for a company that cares and illustrates how much they care towards you.
Pros
Non
Cons
Short breaks, no GROWTH, Non-existent discounts, Stress for Credit Cards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sales / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAMarch 19, 2019
This was a great place to work it is a shame they had to close the store but they were unable to compete with Walmart and Amazon Prices. The people were great
Pros
The people were great
Cons
management was a little strict
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCMarch 19, 2019
They was always the same ones and very nice. It was very easy. The manager is very very nice. I love the discount. They were really Flex about the time that you need off
Pros
Ok
Cons
Ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail environment.
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOMarch 19, 2019
This was the typical retail work environment, nights, weekends, holidays. It is exciting to see new and seasonal merchandise arriving daily. I found the busiest times were Christmas, Spring/Garden Shop and back to school.
Pros
New exciting merchandise arrived with the changing seasons.
Cons
Constantly changing work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Reset Lead (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 19, 2019
The management team worked really have to engage the associates and make the hours worked as fun as possible. The team there remains close even though the company is no longer in business.
Pros
Fun atmosphere, customer focus
Cons
low pay, lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First full time job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Elyria, OHMarch 19, 2019
Started off as A cashier then got promoted full time. I truly enjoyed learning new things as I worked there longer. Management was good and I was happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job for a 16 year old
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waynesboro, VAMarch 19, 2019
I started when I was 16 making minimum wage and left making the same amount. I worked there for a year and a half and never got a raise or an evaluation. Considering I was still in school at the time the hours were decent and the pay was enough for what little bills I had. The management was awful and nowhere near helpful. And working during the holidays meant 8 hour shifts whenever you weren’t at school.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Low pay, awful management, very slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all fun
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMarch 19, 2019
working kmart was overall fun but culd be a little hetic. i lived the holiday season because it was at it all time fastest pace for busniess. love the store
Pros
family style employment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stupid.
Checkout Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAMarch 18, 2019
Kmart was my first job and I was a cashier for just a few months. I didn't understand their push for the Sears card and their old computer systems. Management and employees at the service desk could be nicer. Still sorry they burned down in the fires 2 years ago.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSMarch 18, 2019
Low pay, small staff, stressful work environment due to small staff. Learned how to work well under pressure as the store was closing and got super busy. Sharpened my money handling and customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kmart was a fun place to work
Checkout Service Operator (Former Employee) –  Jackson, WYMarch 18, 2019
Thoroughly enjoyed my time working at Kmart. I worked with my two daughters and foreign employees from Russia, Turkey, Bolivia. We all got along. I help each other when asked and offered help when needed. I had a fun time with all the young kids working here.
I was able to work in all the departments and learned life long skills to boot.
Pros
Everyone was great to work with.
Cons
Rude customers can get you down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with everybody because they are very supportive.
Cashier / Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 18, 2019
No matter what you are or who you are, they treat you as a family and help you in everything you need to know without hesitation. They value your hard-worked.
Pros
Associate Discounts
Cons
more hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier and Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILMarch 18, 2019
It was a long time ago, ironically enough the Kmart I worked at is now the current building for Forman Mills. I did the same job, was working in Layaway and sometimes a cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
went out if business
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 18, 2019
the job was very stressful and the pay was not good at all to survive. kmart is no longer in business and I can understand why was underpaid and a very hard job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Technical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 18, 2019
good people, friendly and helpful. The people are the most enjoyable part of the work. but stressful and feels like being on a sinking ship. seems likely to bankrupt again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a place to work for a short period
Store Associate & Cashier (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 18, 2019
It is not a place to have a job for the whole life, more like a temporary job, the pay rate is the minimun for most of the employess and you dont get chances of increasing it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place , friendly
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMarch 18, 2019
Productive work place , friendly environment , great customers , loved working there . Non stressfull . Never wanted to leave . I miss being an employee there.
Pros
Free lunches on fridays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work environment
Softlines Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDMarch 17, 2019
A typical day at Kmart is pretty easy and fast paced if we are busy.
There is no hard part about the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers in my department.
Pros
Work at your pace
Cons
Working multiple departments in a short period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVMarch 17, 2019
There is no job advancement for a cashier which means either you are ok with being stuck there or looking for the next best job to come around. Management was just at lost as the regular associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wasco, CAMarch 17, 2019
the worst job I ever had was at Kmart, it was so unorganized and nobody knew what was going on. I had multiple given direction and telling me to disregard the directions giving to me by another worker
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18,620 reviews
54.7K
44.7K
35.2K
22.1K
11.9K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Kmart.

Powered by Comparably