Knight Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 517 reviews matching the search See all 521 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  olive branch, mississippiDecember 3, 2018
I would start day with checking out the truck. In this job you are driving all day. You are going from point a to point b. You are in charge of high dollar freight
Pros
good pay
Cons
lomg hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Ex Military manager Experience
Trailer Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CANovember 19, 2018
Bad management. He literally will tell you
"THIS IS MY HOUSE, AND I'M RENTING YOU A ROOM" EX MILITARY..still thinks his in the military by running the shop like he was still on duty. Everything you do is money this. Oh u dont like money.. ILL DECIDE IF I PAY YOU THE HOLIDAYS OR NOT.ILL DECIDE IF I GIVE YOU DAYS OFF
1st of some chains are surrounding the entire shop supposedly for safety, I don't think so is for drivers dont go over the chains, if drivers go over the chain.. ohh boy they will get yell out by a lead tech or management how ridiculous
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Management, some lead techs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Official response from Knight Transportation
November 26, 2018

Thank you for providing this feedback. Our culture is our top priority at Knight Transportation - we would like to assure you these concerns have been fully addressed. If you would like to discuss further, you are welcome to contact our team as well as our VP of Maintenance, Darren at employeedevelopment@knightlogistics.com.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PANovember 16, 2018
not really to say about this company.just had to move on had problem at home that where out of my hands.good people to work around. just needed to be home more.
Pros
good money
Cons
hometime not a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck driver
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 7, 2018
Knight Transportation was good you can get paid every day after you drop your load off and the have nice place for you to sleep and take showers and you always had a load
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 7, 2018
Best taken the first step to getting a job on Indeed. Here's another way to get the most from your Indeed job search: whenever and wherever i can i went good pau
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Driver Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 31, 2018
Weekly team building meetings. Chances travel. A lot of work for little pay though. I did like a lot of my peers at work, good culture. The hours are long and the job is demanding.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Work Life Balance, Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you hire a stallion, use them!
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 29, 2018
I went to Knight because of the pay and the management seemed awesome which they were. When I attempted to go through the lease purchase program is when I had the most difficulties with this company.
Pros
Great pay, loads, and co-workers
Cons
Management can feel uncaring and detached
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
OTR Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXOctober 29, 2018
Trucks are well maintained and they keep you running where you want to be and for one of the larger companies the wage are ok,the terminals are clean .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layback
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLOctober 27, 2018
Peace full place to work with no extras of having to rush to finish on time even you have to make it on time to the stop but don’t have to race to do things fast so they finish on time
Pros
Free shower
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Im a lease drive
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 26, 2018
Some of the problems i have they to lazy to give you percent pay and trying have a flexable home time is not great with having a family after my lease truck payed off I'm leaving
Pros
They better to work for as a company driver
Cons
No percent pay to the lease driver and some time they plus to stay out 2 weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about Knight Transportation?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, INOctober 20, 2018
I like knight transportation
Every thing is fair
And Also they pay good on time
I appreciate how they train me
But I left because of family issues
Thanks for everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work high turn around on techs as well as management
Technician (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTOctober 16, 2018
Knight is 5 ten hours days no paid over time just straight pay. Paid holidays you work them all but Christmas Day. Weekend shifts once a month. All the training in the world won’t get you a raise. 20 to 21 dollars tops you out. They lie about bonuses You Very seldom see them. Insurance is way overpriced. You get charged for failing a BMI test every few months. Work Environment is hostile. You can be Assaulted and the company don’t care. They lie upon application and interview pay stops at 20 no overtime pay no holidays off, Mandatory 5 tens. No bonuses worth anything I would not recommend knight at all. So many better shops. Family problems do not matter shop has a high turn around on techs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Official response from Knight Transportation
November 7, 2018

We are so sorry to hear this was your experience at Knight. We are normally known for our family focused culture, and we regret we missed the mark. We would like to address these issues - please reach out to us at employeedevelopment@knighttrans.com and we would be happy to give you a call.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty OK
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 11, 2018
Its a better company than where I previously was employed. Its pretty much the same at all trucking companies, but I have a great Driver Manager whom listens and get me miles and hometime when requested. At my last job I had a very bad Driver Manager which made my experience there the worst ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good While at School
Technician (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 7, 2018
It's good while in school, but afterwards, they do not pay competitive wages. The people there are great and you may have a good time but other companies are better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Official response from Knight Transportation
November 7, 2018

Thanks for providing this feedback. We take pride in being an employer of choice and competitive pay is part of who we are. We'd love to discuss this further - please email us at employeedevelopment@knightlogistics.com and we would be happy to address your concern!

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 3, 2018
I would recommend Knight as far as anything trucking. It comes with all the negatives of any trucking company though still. Long hours, no time off, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Knight Transportation
November 7, 2018

We appreciate the 4 star rating - and we would love to make it a 5. While it's true, transportation is a 24/7 business, we want to provide an exceptional experience to our employees who help us do what we do! If you'd like to discuss this further, please send us an email at employeedevelopment@knighttrans.com

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A..trucking company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAOctober 1, 2018
I had a good working relationship with some of the drivers but the work was slow for the amount of time I needed to be away from home.Management seemed fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXSeptember 28, 2018
Great working environment. Always work available. Great hometime availability. Great pay. Great people. Just a great place to work overall. Would return if they would allow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed atmosphere
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLSeptember 26, 2018
Driver managers were great. Plenty of miles every week. Terminal maintenance and repair shops were not up to par and they would only work on trucks from they’re own terminal.
Pros
Managers are easy to work with
Cons
Safety managers look for anyway to fire you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 18, 2018
I've worked for Knight for 3 years and I have nothing bad to say about them. They have been an amazing company to work for. I just had an incident leaving me to nervous to get behind the wheel again and so for that reason i quit. Otherwise they have been absolutely amazing to work for. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to start a driving career.
Pros
great staff, great equipment, keeps you moving, maintains their equipment.
Cons
just that upper management drags their feet.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to drive for if you like being on the road a lot
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, TNSeptember 12, 2018
Knight is a good company to work for they treat their drivers well most of the time. You're not just a number for them like you would be at other major trucking companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Knight Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 521 reviews
5125
4129
3116
263
188

See reviews about

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight