Knights of Columbus Employee Reviews

Found 202 reviews matching the search See all 228 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sales Assistant / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 18, 2018
it was a good place to volunteer, it gave me several important skills for other jobs. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone who is uncomfortable catering to people over the age of 50.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting and management training.
Financial Secretary (Former Employee) –  Lecanto, FLJune 14, 2018
Even though this was volunteer work I was able to use my accounting experience and my management skills to use. Was able to lead committees and fund raisers.
Pros
Management was very willing to teach me patiently.
Cons
None, just volunteer work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Took too long to get paid on sales, 100% commission
Field Agent/ Insurance Producer (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJune 8, 2018
Great job culture. Really promoted helping families. Unfortunately it took 1 to 2 months to get paid on sales and the job was 100% commission. Would chargeback with little recourse for the agent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience
Food Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJune 5, 2018
I was a busser. I would refill water cups. Deliver food to the customers. Clean tables and wash dishes. Take food orders. Seat the customers. Also greet the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INMay 26, 2018
The salesmen and owner were fantastic to work with! Everyone was supportive and helpful. Incredible work/life balance. Best place I have worked so far.
Pros
Flexible hours, Great Staff, Incredible work/life balance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Banquet Chef/Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 21, 2018
A typical day at work for this company is easy because you should be able to learn every aspect of the company. So you go in and just do your best work
Pros
Paid Lunches
Cons
No Paid Vacation Time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commisioned sales is tough.
Field Agent (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNMay 20, 2018
Life Insurance, Long Term Health Care Insurance, retirement planning, and long term financial analysis. Long hours, but it was fraternal insuarnce so making appointments wasn't as bad as other companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were very kind and kept note on the server's health.
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORMay 16, 2018
I enjoyed the treatment given to those working. While the work was fast paced and sweaty, they were kind and made sure we could take a break if needed. We were not talked to rudely nor pressured. The guests as well as company was always accommodating to the servers needs and even provided us a meal afterwards.
Pros
Positive atmosphere and kind patrons
Cons
Crowded in the kitchen and some lack of order
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had some regular customers that I enjoyed waiting on.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIMay 8, 2018
I have always enjoyed waitressing, fast-paced, can be stressful at times, yet I found it to be fun. I also enjoy working with the public, weather I was bartending or waiting on customers in the dining room.
Pros
Free meal at the end of shift.
Cons
No paid holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical and clueless
worker (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 6, 2018
This use to be a great company to work for but the higher ups are running the company into the ground. They now treat their employees like trash. Looking at the next Eron.
Pros
good pay
Cons
company about to go belly up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was afun place to work
Banquet Server and bar tender (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MIApril 16, 2018
I learned how to serve for big parties. Banquet serving is a little different than restaurant serving. i wish the hall had more hours when i worked there.
Pros
The people
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aging councils with limited potential
FIELD AGENT (Current Employee) –  Rhode Island and Southern MassachusettsApril 11, 2018
Rate the KOC as a "5" for what they do for their communities worldwide. Not recommended (at least in Rhode Island) as a place to try to earn a reliable living.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I only volunteered here for a little while
Volunteer Project (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAApril 6, 2018
It is a catholic group that does things around the society. Albiet, they are fairly religious, however, they have good intentions for those who they help. Although I am not religious, I helped them out with cooking food and serving to those who did not have the money to buy food. It was a good experience in my opinion, and the workers were nice.
Pros
Help out those in need, do good for the society
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people at Plant ignored by upper management
Pressman (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 28, 2018
A great place to work, Unfortunately upper management of the Knights of Columbus have absolutely no clue what is done at the printing plant on a daily basis. They have closed the printing plant and farmed out all the work.
Pros
Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Corporate greed from CEO and others have caused shuttering of printing plant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't a real job, just a volunteer opportunity.
dishwasher and heavy duty mixer (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAMarch 26, 2018
Good work for catholic communities in my rural area. I worked there with other knights of columbus for several years before moving on to a different council on my new college campus, St. Martin's University.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fulfillment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 26, 2018
Good company to work for when given the proper training. The people and benefits are what makes the Knights of Columbus a good place to work with longevity.
Pros
Able to balance a work and home life
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knight of Columbus is good place to work.
IT AUDITOR - INSURANCE (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 22, 2018
Working at the Knights is very supportive environment if you work for the right. I branched off from tax auditing to IT Audit and the i received from management was perfect. Great place to work.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
No free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why is it good to work for the Knights
IT AUDITOR - INSURANCE (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 19, 2018
The Knights encouraged a very honest and civilized work experience.
A large portion of the staff worked well into there 60's with no problems. The management cared for their employees.
Pros
Healthy work enviroment
Cons
No free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conservative atmosphere
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 15, 2018
Conservative workplace culture. The hardest part of the day depends on the department and time of year.

The people and benefits are the best part of the job.
Pros
Benefits, opportunity for advancement, excellent food and affordable cafeteria.
Cons
Lack of parking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic work place
Internship (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 5, 2018
My time with the company, although short, gave me a lot of time to meet many individuals and see the true culture of the Knights. While there I saw how strongly the company expresses Catholic ideals in their everyday work and applied them to clients outside of the office. The agents were very involved with the families they work for and helped them in times of need. They never focused on just selling insurance, but focused on making sure a family was financially prepared to take on any unexpected loss of a family member. It truly was an enlightening experience to work for one of the most ethical insurance companies in the US.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Knights of Columbus. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 228 reviews
5114
450
341
27
116

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight