Komatsu Employee Reviews

Found 309 reviews matching the search See all 718 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
A "specialist" (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILNovember 15, 2018
Komatsu is a good company with great pay and good benefits. The only downside at the time I worked there was needing to deal with the American management as well as the Japanese management.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Language Barrier and uniforms
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work stability
Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILNovember 8, 2018
Komatsu is a company where the employees have job stability. The benefits are very good and include dental and vision if the employee wants.
If you have a bachelor degree you have a chance to advance in your career.
Pros
Job Stability
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professionnelle
Technicien d'intervention (Former Employee) –  AlgerNovember 4, 2018
moi mon l avis j aime travailler dans une atelier de rénovation des boite de vitesse de Hydro pwer et des moteur achp et comen rall moi j aime une grand organisation dans mon pire mettre de travaille
et j aime met moteur qui il sont rue sable pour moi très en ponton pour mon moral

et merci ma salinisation plus destines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place sometime, but just work
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 30, 2018
Just another day at work for 8hrs, I have learned how to run a warehouse when my boss went out of town to another state to help close another warehouse. We only had one manager and he was a good guy hard worker and fair pretty much down to earth guy, the culture of the job was good we all gotten alone and work together as a team, there wasn't a hard part of that job, the most enjoyable part is to see everyone working together and helping each out making sure we where all on one accord by the end of the day and all shipments where out before we left.
Pros
Maybe sometime the boss order lunch
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 15, 2018
A great deal of autonomy and self-directed work. No micromanaging, no significant office politics. Casual workplace culture, relaxed dress code, informal meetings unless customer or highest-level management present.
Pros
Relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Catered meals in cafeteria.
Cons
Mining industry has feast/famine cycle, just like oil & gas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work and life balance. Trusting culture of teamwork. Low amount of poitics
Product Director (Current Employee) –  Warrendale, PAOctober 7, 2018
I came to Komatsu from a company that was extremely political with lots of talk, but little commitment to the customer. Komatsu is entirely the opposite. People trust each other and keep each other accountable. The focus is on driving successful outcomes and customer focus.
Pros
Good system tools, good supportive environment
Cons
heavy amounts of travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nite shift
Electrical Technician (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILOctober 5, 2018
was on days shift but was moved to nites couldnt function like that.
great people,good atmosphere ,realy the best part time job in town.
thats what the old timers say
Pros
great people
Cons
3rd shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Karoshi environment
Technician (Current Employee) –  Gillette, WYOctober 2, 2018
Working at komatsu/joy global was the easiest job I've had physically, but mentally it was difficult to work through the week. 60hr day shift on call Saturday and then a 60hr night shift on call Saturday. When you start working Sunday night and then finish Friday morning and they call you in Saturday you don't get a single day off and they don't care. Do not believe they care about you or your family management only cares about themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 28, 2018
I highly recommend this company as a place to work. It is a well designed equipment and the employees take pride in their work. Well managed and great work environment. Everyone is very helpful and works together.
Pros
Team Work
Cons
Economy Driven
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience in my 17 tears
Q A Inspector (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 24, 2018
Loved working there and would recommend others, made several lifelong friends there and still ten years later have those same friends .My vendor experience through Komatsu helped me with my vendors at Walmart extremely on the follow up and communication practices .
Pros
job security
Cons
wanted to make a higher salary and left for that reason
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Environmental Health and Safety Intern (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXSeptember 7, 2018
Great employees
Great facility
Safe place to work
Excelent leadership
The company really strives that any and all workers learn form them. This is a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s A Job
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Ripley, TNSeptember 5, 2018
It’s A Good Job With Very Good Pay . It’s Just Hot In There But If You Can Deal With It You Will Be Fine ..You Will Get A lot Of OT There Also But You Will Be Tired
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My last day was a burden lifted off my shoulders.
Global Trade and Customs Compliance Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WISeptember 4, 2018
Prefer not to go further than the above. I am bound by agreement not to disparage the company. An honest review might be viewed as such.
They are in a state of flux as Komatsu begins to take actual ownership.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work GREAT Benifits
Field and Shop Machinist Leadman (Former Employee) –  Kilgore, TXAugust 29, 2018
if you like to travel and work outages on all types of mining equipment then this is the company I would reccomend. Competitive wages and excellent benifits and retirment for the employees
Pros
Benifits
Cons
To much Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure if company is still in business
Electical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, MAAugust 26, 2018
I am not sure if this company is still in business because I had to relocate. I did enjoy working there when I was there but that was quite a while ago so I am not confident I could give an adequate review.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Oder picker an forklift (Former Employee) –  Newberry, SCAugust 20, 2018
work steady be safe think smart we learn how to build machines everyone is nice to work around and the hardest part is being behind on production catching up is the best part
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Technical Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 16, 2018
No work/life balance, it is on the go 100% of the time. Management pushes for production all of the time. They cater to when the customer needs the worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy unorganized
Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 8, 2018
Komatsu is very busy. They are very unorganized and that creates more work, looking for parts or other material. The work load is very high. Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente empresa
auxiliar logistico (Current Employee) –  Valle del CaucaJuly 20, 2018
buena empresa pero requiero ahorrar mas dinero para estudiar.
Pros
se preocupan por el recurso humano
Cons
no asciendes facilmente
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company with Room to Grow
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTJuly 16, 2018
I worked for Komatsu for many years and enjoyed my time there. I started in an entry-level position and I was quickly promoted to management positions. The culture is strong and there is definitely room to grow from local positions up through the manufacturer at various worldwide locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Komatsu. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 718 reviews
5285
4225
3135
250
123

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture