Kroger Stores Employee Reviews

Found 24,829 reviews matching the search See all 24,892 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 19, 2018
overall, i enjoyed working here. the customers and co-workers were very nice and helpful. management was okay. flexible with schedules and worked with your availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but some stress days
Kroger Cashier/stocker (Former Employee) –  Millington, TNDecember 18, 2018
Some days fun to work,some days not so fun depends on the managements appearance but still manage to pulled throughout those days and make everyone working the same shift with me happy. I learn a lot working for Kroger company,I enjoyed it myself.
Pros
Poor managements
Cons
Great prize, clean environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about the produce department
produce clerk (Former Employee) –  League City, TX 77573December 18, 2018
As a produce clerk I walked in and met up with my produce manager to see what duties are to be done. With whatever section of the department I would focus on that day, I would check the quality. I would see if I had to throw it away or restock more of that product to the shelve. I made sure that the department was fresh for the customers. I also broke down the pallets that came in that day. I would also assist the customers with whatever needs that needed to be met. There is a vast abundance of content in the produce department.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Everett, WADecember 18, 2018
Was a decent place to work. Couldn't really move up in the deli area. Was working full time shifts when I was only part time. Never told me what I did wrong so I couldn't even learn from my mistakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here at all even if it is your first job
Courts test Clerk (Current Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIDecember 18, 2018
Stay away from this place at any costs. Management is the worst they complain about just anything you do, they don’t give you any credit even if it means you are doing something very good for the store and it’s all favoritism for them they promote the people they only like and just leave the rest to rot. Overall just stay away and find somewhere else to work because they will drive you into the ground.
Pros
Breaks and Lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 18, 2018
Good environment and everyone is nice. They work well with your schedule. They understand if you have a situation going on so if you let them know they will be understanding.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very quick paced
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 18, 2018
Hardest thing is working on sunday and holidays. huge rush of customers all wanting their special order of ham or chicken even sandwiches. Your typical day is just standing waiting for a customers and completing their orders.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed and sometimes stressfull work place
Deli Clerk (Delicatessen Clerk) (Former Employee) –  Sun City West, AZ 85375December 18, 2018
the job is very straight forward and easy to preform however they do not give much opportunity for advancement in position and they do not work with you in terms of transfer or department switch they did cut hours as well
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
"Click-List" Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 18, 2018
fast paced, some customers annoying, management can be unorganized sometimes. good pay for what you have to do. customers will complain lot though which is frustrating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Job as Pharmacy Tech
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VADecember 18, 2018
I was hired to be a Pharmacy Tech and they trained me on the job. This was in Virginia. I passed the state and national exams and worked there for a few years. When I moved to Washington state I wasn't able to find another pharmacy job because they wanted a degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Reynoldsburg, OHDecember 18, 2018
Helping with customers out to there car. Bagging groceries, cashing out orders. Helping customers at the self checkout aisle. Scanning Ids and grabbing cigarettes for people. Stocked items on shelves. Everything you do in a basic grocery store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kroger good
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXDecember 18, 2018
Decent workplace environment but limited by its base pay but don’t really know current pay wage since last time working there was a whole back but easy job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun except for last boss, nice place to work
BAGGER (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GADecember 18, 2018
day at work was fast paced

I knew a lot

Some management was great and some sucked

culture was great except my last store

dealing with guy I worked for

enjoying customers and employees
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
no consideration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for a first Job
Courtesy Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stockbridge, GADecember 18, 2018
The job does not pay much. It builds character. The job can be stressful. They hire many students. The company works well with your school schedule. The pay doesn't match the workload. If you're a courtesy clerk it is very possible to move up to cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace enviroment
pharmacy technician (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIDecember 17, 2018
everyone is treated like family and is very friendly, i see plenty of growth opportunites within the company, discounts are great for employment and they offer flexible hours, i love the atmosphere of the staff and customers
Pros
friendly
Cons
packed parking lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kroger Specialty Pharmacy NOLA
Patient Access Coordinator Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Harvey, LADecember 17, 2018
I love this company. In the change from family owned to corporate it has been difficult but worth the work. There is significant room for advancement if you are willing to go the extra mile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and not progressive
Utility/Grocery/Dairy/Frozen Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hales Corners, WIDecember 17, 2018
I didn't gain any skills to help me further my career. Management during my time working here was inconsistent. The backroom was very dirty and unorganized.
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun and easy
Stocker/customer service (Current Employee) –  Midland, MIDecember 17, 2018
The Kroger company is a great and fun place to work at if you work well with your associates and keep a fair pace and get your job done you can have an enjoyable workday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job just not enough pay
FRONT END SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  wvDecember 17, 2018
I loved working at kroger, everyday flew by but it was the same things day after day. Not enough full time jobs unless its a bigger store. I only left due to the pay raises sucking. after 7 years i was only making 10 an hour part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Meat Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Franklin, WIDecember 17, 2018
There was nothing really special about working for Kroger, it was just a basic job during high school that paid decently. The managers were hit or miss and some people lacked core skills that brought down the overall team but it wasn’t too bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kroger Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 24,896 reviews
56.3K
47.4K
36.9K
22.5K
11.8K

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Kroger Stores.

Powered by Comparably