Kurtz EMS Employee Reviews for Emergency Medical Technician

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedules not great pay
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJanuary 5, 2018
Worked around your schedule nicely but they didn't pay very well. Chaotic shift scheduling sometimes. Poor communication of job requirements initially. Lack of training supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would Highly Reccomend to apply elsewhere
EMT (Former Employee) –  New LenoxNovember 18, 2017
Every company needs EMT. You are the one who the business is able to have sign and get paid out on 1200 transport for crew to show up plus 50 a mile with min. Of a mile.

New Management claims to have 1% Marginal Profits for conducting business and that some of the transports we do “only pay the company 9 dollars” and “cents on the dollars” i am thinking that this is ‘senseless.’

You can get expierence anywhere as an EMT, however it is your job to make sure you get that no matter where you are. If you want someone who values you more look somewhere else because they will short you the “cents on your dollars” on most of your paychecks. Hold overs mandatory or fired... even if you are even a call for after the time you are supposed to be off.

New software allows ambulance crews to provide less patient care and more answering to the boss ultimately just making microMANAGEMENT and annoyance. Also it is far more imperative to have HIGH-QUALITY patient care over making ANY ambulance company Hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Also last question states “Do you Approve of CEO of Kurtz Ems” well to answer Kurtz was bought by AMR so i don’t know which management roles have changed in that aspect.
Other than they are trying to make a big mess for the rest of the healtcare industry.
Pros
Being able to make a difference in a Patient’s Life
Cons
Management don’t know their roles and have no problem solving skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
EMT (Former Employee) –  New lenox IllinoisAugust 11, 2015
They will make you come work on your days of!! Pay minimum wage even if you have experience! Treat you like bad.. Nice on interview day, after that your nothing...
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compay to Work For
EMT (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJuly 29, 2015
Kurtz has a great benefit package including paid time off. They have a flexible work schedule. Because the company is so big, I see lots of room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 35Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good 1st job out of EMT school
EMT (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJuly 27, 2015
This is my first job out of EMT school its good experience. It helps having co workers that have been here for years showing me around and helping me with the day to day.

I don't know why there are any complaints, they made us breakfast for a week straight before shift started at 6am!!
Pros
Free breakfast!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 28Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shared many life experiences in a 'family-like' environment
Emergency Medical Technician - Paramedic (Former Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJune 19, 2015
Kurtz Ambulance is a privately owned company, that is only important to show that they were big advocates of the family oriented work place. The employees became your family and the management encouraged and helped with any concerns. There was no shortage of over-time and the management tried their best to meet your needs. The hardest part of the job was the long hours. We were scheduled for 24 hour shifts and sometimes we were required to work another 24, making it a 48 hour shift. The long hours sometimes interfered with other life obligations.
Pros
Family oriented. Listened to concerns. Over-time
Cons
Occassional 48 hour shift would cut into personal life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've ever had.
EMT (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJune 14, 2015
Do anything else!! You will have no life outside of work. You will never get over on time, at least 2 hours late every shift. Every 24 will be a 48. You will be treated like you're nothing to the company. Co workers are great and you will all be close due to your hatred for the company. Management are all medics that couldn't cut it in the fire service. The owners flaunt their money with their millions of dollars worth of cars in the main office in Joliet, yet they'll pay you next to nothing and refuse to give you call pay. My most enjoyable part of the job was walking off one day and never coming back!
Pros
weight lose, because youll never get to eat a meal on shift.
Cons
poor pay, poor management, poor equiptment, everything will alwasy be your fault.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job burns you out
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILOctober 26, 2013
This job is very easy andlikable but they force you to work!! Even if your on 24 it turns into 48 alot
Pros
overtime
Cons
being held over alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Official response from Kurtz EMS
October 5, 2016

The hold overs for addittional shifts are no longer enforced like years in the past.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Private Ambulance Company
EMT (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJuly 6, 2012
I have thousands of hours of patient care experience and a well rounded idea of how every healthcare facility works whether its a hospital, hospice center, cancer center and especially pros and cons of nursing homes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Kurtz EMS reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kurtz EMS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.3
Based on 29 reviews
54
44
32
26
113

Ratings by category

2.1Work/Life Balance
2.4Compensation/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.1Management
2.4Culture

Kurtz EMS Reviews by Location