LA FAMILY HOUSING Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work that is mission-driven & impactful
Undisclosed (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CANovember 16, 2018
Observes 9/80 schedule
Quarterly company appreciation events
Leadership opportunities
Highly intelligent and motivated staff
Leader in Homeless Services & Housing Development
Pros
ability to work remotely, 9/80 schedule with every other Friday off, good medical beneifts
Cons
high expectation, lots of meetings, non-stop growth without time for planning/development
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and beyond stressful
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAMay 23, 2018
Stay away from this place you’ve been warned! The employees are descent ...but management and corporate level don’t care about anything but filling beds...residents can take drugs 24/7 and sneak in weapons and call you racial slurs and nothing will happen because all they care about is the money they receive per resident... They constantly lie to the public to receive donations that the corporate members keepnto them selves while the residents eat unhealthy food...This place needs to be exploited by the news or something so this place can get shutdown.
Pros
It’s a job
Cons
Lack of respect for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed serving food to the residents at L.A Family Housing
Volunteer Food Server Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CANovember 27, 2018
I assisted in pre-paring side salads for the residents. Responsible for taking inventory for meals accounted for. Helped give positive energy to the residents who might of been having a off day. Cleaned and took out thr trash.
Pros
free meals
Cons
no pay, volunteer work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work for .
Housing Navigator ll (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAAugust 14, 2018
Agency has a lot of turn around; from directors to managers this makes working for company difficult. Agency is trying to hire only MSW's in most departments and have started to discriminate against unknowingly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place
Housing, Resident Advocate (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CASeptember 27, 2017
Lots of employee outings and rewards foe being an employee. Great benefits. Able to move up in the company quickly. It's a learning experience dealing with the mentally ill
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work at, nice employees
Cook (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAJune 12, 2017
i prepared prepped and cook breakfast, lunch and dinner on my typical shifts, I learned a lot from working for that company, such as inventory, cooking special meal and Client communication
Pros
free food, 401k and paid holidays
Cons
short breaks dealing with angry clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for people trying to get there lives back in order
prep cook (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAMarch 12, 2014
la family housing is a shelter I worked for them for Two years gained a lot of experience and know how.
Pros
free food to eat
Cons
no benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Crisis Housing (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAFebruary 22, 2018
Great place to work for nice staff a lot to learn if you are an intern for MSW program. this place is the place to be. I enjoy and have learned a lot from working here the past 3 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VA placement
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CADecember 9, 2017
I was a part of the team set up to aid families and individuals to successfully transition back into the mainstream of life. The main objective was the providing of temporary to permanent for those with such needs, aiding in the area of employment and overseeing the area of financial matters.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs improvement
CES Housing Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 14, 2017
definitely needs improvement. I learned a lot from the agency but unfortunately I'm learned a lot about what not to do. I think the agency will prayerfully improve over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsupportive and chaotic
Housing Manager (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CADecember 20, 2017
The environment at LAFH is simply toxic!!! People are promoted on favoritism not merits. There is no growth opportunities. Male counterparts are paid more for the same work.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LAFH is a very caring over worked company
On-site Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  North HollywoodJune 9, 2015
Ran affordable family housing community
how to communicate with irate residents
management was not really involved in my job because of their location verses the community I managed
maintenance was cooperative
there was not hard part to my job just interesting
Helping residents with their concerns, passing all the section 8 inspections building relationships with inspectors and vendors
Pros
The mandatory meeting were held at bowling alleys and race tracks
Cons
New management took over and brought in their own people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and rewarding workplace
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAFebruary 12, 2015
LA Family Housing is a family friendly company that focuses on providing low income housing to the needy, as well as operating three homeless shelters for families and single adults.
It is an enjoyable place to work. Very friendly company.Seeing the people that you are helping is a reward in itself.

They have lots of company activities for the staff to enjoy through out the year.

All state and federal paid holidays as well as a week paid time off at Christmas/ New Years time.
Pros
all state and federal holidays, many three day weekends through out the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environmenmt
Kitchen Operations manager (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAMay 22, 2017
The people at LAFH really take pride in their work. The culture is supportive and inspiring everyday. I really appreciate the opportunities I've been given.
Pros
Great creative fredom
Cons
Participants are easily agitated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and experience
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 2, 2016
I loved working for this company it is a very family friendly company where you can have a work life and a home life and enjoy both.
Pros
all federal and state holidays off, a week off at Christmas or new years.
Cons
cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling
resident advocate (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAMay 3, 2017
I love working for this company because it gives me great gratitude to know that at the end of the day I've helped someone in need, weather it's just for a meal or shelter.
Pros
the fact that your helping someone or family get out of homelessness.
Cons
sometimes we don't have the funds to help a family, Or we have to turn someone or a family down due to the severity of their situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People Friendly
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAJuly 10, 2017
I really enjoyed the time I spent working here. This was my first job. Was able to work for 5 years. Met a lot of good people (Employees and non-employees)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place able to interact with people and help out the less fortunate.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 17, 2013
Help set up trays serve food and drinks, track down everyone who has revived meal. great experience.
Pros
free meals meet new people
Cons
difficult to control crowd no breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee events
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CADecember 6, 2016
clt to case manager ratio high similar to many non-profits working with those experiencing homelessness. Decent place to work nothing bad to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
client based company with many resources to help residents in shelter
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  N Hollywood, CAMay 15, 2013
Family oriented shelter with strong desire to empower homeless families in order to get back on their feet.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LA FAMILY HOUSING. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 21 reviews
57
44
37
20
13

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

LA FAMILY HOUSING Reviews by Location