LaGuardia Community College Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 180 reviews
Ratings breakdown
588
463
322
25
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 180 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and hectic at times.
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYMay 14, 2018
I worked at the Student Information Center. I enjoyed it, but sometimes it was very hectic and you have one supervisor constantly watching you and at times hovering over you. It's fun working with a team of young adults who may be well established in the department or just hired. There is a big turnover, and many people in this department come and go. If you are one of the older ones in the center you have to train the new ones. They pay should be better for all the things that have to be done in this department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful
EMT & Paramedic Program Secretary (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYApril 29, 2018
A good pace work place. Meaningful work to help the New York City immigrants and disadvantaged communities advance in their lives so that they are better able to take care of themselves and their families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Internship/ Office assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYApril 25, 2018
A typical day working at LaGuardia Community College would consist of directing guest to their destinations after making sure they sign in with proper ID. On a more hectic day however, my job would include filing paperwork and cleaning the main entrance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and outgoing atmosphere
Recreation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYMarch 24, 2018
It was a beautiful place to work. They are truly an amazing organization and I was able to learn many new skills. I worked closely with the director as a personal assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and slow paced work environment
Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NY 11101March 19, 2018
Teaching students those who are coming into mathematics lab.
Making them to pass ACT examination to take further courses of their curriculum and help students who are struggling solving mathematical problems. By teaching them, the depth of my mathematic skills has been deeper and how to communication to people who have a little or no knowledge of something.
The professors were nice and willing to help tutors and the environment was slow paced, no pressure, and relaxed.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Too slow, little compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as I.T. lab assistant
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYMarch 14, 2018
pro:
understanding how to troubleshoot printer.
cons:
not enough work. most of the time just waiting for someone to call in for help with their computer set up or printers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Life Coach (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYFebruary 26, 2018
Life coach for student athletes. I was contracted as a life coach. I enjoyed helping the students meet their goals and overcome obstacles in their lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
orangized
Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 25, 2018
Day to day operation was very interesting because everything was directly at your finger tip. First hand experience of working for a well organized contraction site. The staff exhibit a true team spirit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
Student Success Mentor, Center (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYFebruary 20, 2018
The students are great as well as some of the staff but there are things that need to be worked on. They need to do a better job when hiring staff members.
Pros
Working with students
Cons
Low pay, no overtime, unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun work place
Accounting Peer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYFebruary 19, 2018
if i have to do it again i will gladly go for it. i loved all the people i worked with including all my managers. they all want you to grow and succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
Assistant to Human Services Program Director (Current Employee) –  Long Island, NYFebruary 11, 2018
The Human Services Department is the department that works well with one another. They are always on their toes getting trained in ways that they can work with people in the most efficient ways. You will find a professional and kind atmosphere. Last, but not least, you will be family.
Pros
easy transit to get there
Cons
none that I know of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment for current students
Instructional Design Assistant (Current Employee) –  Elmhurst, NYFebruary 5, 2018
Good, collaborative working environment for current students and alumni. There are clubs and workshops that could get you internships and find a job for career advancement as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Presenter/GED Tutor - Fatherhood Academy (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYFebruary 2, 2018
the work culture at CFA at LaGCC is wonderful and inspiring. its filled with people who strive for the same goal with teamwork and passion. Friendly and caring as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad workplace culture
College Assistant (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJanuary 27, 2018
The culture of the financial aid department in my opinion is not a very positive. Some higher ups at times don't like going extra mile to help their fellow colleagues. Sometimes when you ask them questions that you may answer to to help you do your job they show you attitude. They are a lot of things the customer service reps dint have access to that allows to do our job as best as possible
Pros
good benefits, good work/life balance
Cons
bad management and bad workplace culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to learn
Club Executive, Bangladesh Student Association (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYJanuary 26, 2018
I have had an amazing learning experience in the college. The professors, staff, and students made the experience a memorable one. Finished my Associate's there and I would say it was worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Life
College Assistant (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJanuary 23, 2018
This is a good place to work if you re student in college. It provides a flexible work schedule. It's a provides with hand on customer service experience
Cons
You need a bachelors degree
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational experience
Group Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJanuary 22, 2018
I really enjoyed working as a Group fitness Instructor at la Guardia Community College. I taught students and staff Low Impact Aerobics and Body Conditioning classes. it was very enjoyable. I loved being in an academic setting.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
job didn't last long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2018
Fue un buen lugar para trabajar y aprender nuevas habilidades para mi futuro profesional. La gente es uy amable y los estudiantes tambien. Lo recomiendo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience for your first time at a job
Data Assistant – Student Information Center (Current Employee) –  Long Island, NYJanuary 10, 2018
As you work here it is good to get in contact with others as it will help you to hopefully move up and be friendly stuck up people don't last long here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJanuary 4, 2018
A good place to work. Good benefits, friendly staff, great working hours, flexibility, great location, great commute, nice community, need more food options,
Pros
community
Cons
Not enough food options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LaGuardia Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.2InHerSight Score

1.0Personal Development

1.2Career Opportunities

1.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight