Lake County Tribal Health Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has potential, many resources for patients.
Lakeport, Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lakeport, CAFebruary 14, 2019
My experience as a patient here was pleasant and some of the staff is patient-oriented. I was a medical assistant here for about 3 years, I quit working here when I moved out of state but got re-hired after moving back as a temp and asked to go through another interview process, I then got hired full-time. During the last three months that I was there, there was a large turnover in nurses/management/providers more than i’d seen in any other health clinic, at that point, I had began seeking new employment. There was also a large focus on reaching certain quota, as we were considered “the best clinic” in the state based on numbers that we met and were offered incentives for meeting these measures, we would actually call patients to come in for what could be multiple office visits$ until we met our numbers. The office is an at-will employer which is made clear when you are hired, they reserve the right to terminate anyone at anytime without reason. My overall experience as an employee was obviously good because I accepted the position twice. I enjoyed helping patients and many times they reciprocated their gratitude. The salary and benefits are also competitive for that county. That being said one of the things I didn’t enjoy was the gossip, not amongst or in regards to patients but sadly in between staff members and administration (some of which were related) which was bothersome because it almost seemed political and bias. Everything is a business, including medical clinics, so in addition to patient care there has to be some sort of revenue. To maintain internal revenue we made  more... as many internal consults as possible, even if the internal specialists so to speak were not the best suited for the patients. I met many great and knowledgeable providers and nurses in this office for this I’m thankful and I do believe that most of them have good intentions. On thanksgiving I received an email from HR to have a meeting in his office later that afternoon. When I showed up to his office we were joined by the compliance officer and they immediately gave me a letter of termination and asked if I needed a box. My manager was out of the office that week and I felt very uncomfortable and confused being handed this letter because these were people that I didn’t see everyday nor my direct supervisors, although the person who signed the letter was not present. Part of me wanted to ask questions but I felt like judgments had already been made because I was never given a warning or asked to discuss any potential problems. I had, however, been reprimanded in the past about my punctuality but I feel like if that had been the case it would’ve been more straight forward because why would I try to deny FACTS. I felt that they were being sneaky for not giving me a benefit of the doubt. What bothered me most is that I was not a stranger here, I worked with people that I considered like family it felt like they turned their back on me. It was a reflection of character. This is not based on facts so I did not speak on the matter when I heard about it but a couple weeks before my termination I guess there was a federal case being investigated against LCTH involving a company vehicle and other employees who were involved including upper management (who are still currently employed for the company). My theory is that they either needed a storyline for these illegal actions (mind you I’m Hispanic and I drive a luxury vehicle), they had something to hide as everything is considered ‘confidential’, or it was simply personal. Reason I’m speaking about this is not to encourage anybody not to work or be a patient here because there are many benefits, but be mindful about who you think has your best interest.  less
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do NOT work here
medical (Current Employee) –  lakeport,caJanuary 28, 2019
They will make promises to you that they know they will not be able to keep. Once you accept the job, then everything will change. Every day is a constant high stress environment, and everyone else is just looking out for their own necks, so don't be surprised if they throw you under the bus since you are the new kid on the block..If you are really desperate for a job, then you can try it and see for yourself. But if you know how toxic this environment is, then don't waste your time.
Pros
hours
Cons
preferential treatment to natives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work environment
Family Advocate (Current Employee) –  Lakeport, CAJanuary 14, 2019
This has been by far the best place I have ever worked. Everyone was so welcoming from the first day I walked in the door. There are no negative talk about coworkers and all staff are supportive of personal challenges I have faced. I am non native and with the exception of one person have never been treated differently. The staff are always willing to answer my questions and educate me on their traditions. Working with native clients I have been shown nothing but respect and willingness to learn and teach me at the same time.
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Can’t think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heartless, inconsiderate, and mean-spirited company
Dentist (Former Employee) –  Lakeport, CAOctober 16, 2018
To the organization
You need to look at yourself hard in the mirror. I am disgusted by how you handled my situation. You know this is not how you treat people. I closed my work schedule for the whole year in preparation for working in your clinic and paid relocation costs. The way you did me wrong cost me tens of thousands I could have made working at another clinic. You are cold, harsh, and unsympathetic and you will get it back I promise. What goes around comes around. Do you believe in Karma? Because I will make you believe it when I share this experience with all my colleagues for decades to come. I hope you enjoy having a hard time finding good doctors to come work for you for generations and generations and generations to come. Your children's children will have a hard time getting healthcare I promise you. I don't care how much charity money the federal government throws at you, you're going to have to pay more than anyone else to make a doctor stay. That's why you have to keep offering 50k sign on bonuses on top of a 200k salary because you keep losing doctors with your rude, condescending, and heartless management practices. And then like a coward you blame the doctors after you terminate them when they are not around anymore to be able to defend themselves. Next time you wonder why you can't keep any good doctors to take care of you, REMEMBER ME.


To the doctors
Don't break your back and neck for this heartless organization. Stand up and demand to be respected. Don't take any disrespect from this administration in any way, shape, or form
  more... because they are heartless, inconsiderate, and fake and trust me, they will discard you as fast as they can when they no longer need you. To them, you are expendable. Let me remind you as I have been reminded by admin that California is an At-Will state which means they can get rid of you anytime they want and for whatever reason. Just know they are constantly working with recruiting agencies looking for doctors to replace you (Trust me, I know because to this day, they keep calling me and telling me this). Good luck and you have my sympathies.  less
Pros
money (if that's all that matters to you)
Cons
fake, phony, heartless, mean
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No honor, don't keep word
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lakeport, CAJuly 4, 2018
This company is full of snakes and indian givers. They have no honor. They don't keep their word. They are evil and money hungry and greedy. Too many chiefs not enough indians
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, Awesome Co-Workers
LVN (Former Employee) –  Lakeport, CADecember 1, 2014
I had a great little spurt of time at LCTHC, awesome people to work with if you get a chance. If I could of stayed there longer I would of. Other then the staffing the patients are really nice to work for and help. I commuted 40 miles one way for this job and would do it again if I could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
Payroll & Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lakeport, CAMay 3, 2013
They replaced me with a Native American. She was the niece of the Human Resources Director. When I was hired I signed a contract that they give preference to Native Americans, but I had no idea that they would lay me off for that reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new management was handled poorly!
CMA (Former Employee) –  Lakeport, Ca.July 10, 2012
They all employee poorly when new management came in and didn't give anyone a chance to prove themselves.
Pros
the patients
Cons
mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lake County Tribal Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.2
Based on 9 reviews
51
41
31
22
14

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
1.8Job Security/Advancement
2.1Management
2.2Culture

Lake County Tribal Health Reviews by Location