Lake Superior Consulting Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to fast track career growth
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 3, 2018
Consulting division of Shawcor, excellent culture and opportunity to grow a long term career and wear many hats and have exposure to different areas of business. Paid benefits, good comp, excellent 401k etc.
Pros
Opportunity
Cons
None so far
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driven, passionate people, fast paced
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNMarch 14, 2018
I've found that there are opportunities abound, if you're able and willing to be your own advocate. New ideas are encouraged, problem solving a huge asset, and integrity at the core of all work (whether serving a client or internal team member). It's a challenging work environment, and someone who just wants to "show up for a paycheck" is not going to be happy.
Pros
Growing company with opportunity for advancement, passionate senior management
Cons
Meeting ongoing demands of a growing/changing company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Horizontal Direction Drilling Engineer (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNFebruary 8, 2018
The field work is taxing but you are paid for it! Managment was amazing and always tried to take care of you. Opportunities seemed endless. The people here were brilliant and motivating to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good employees, office and job tools are good.
Coating Inspector (Current Employee) –  MinnesotaOctober 19, 2017
Good place to work over all until Shawcor bought the company. Wages are low, benefits were good until big Corp took over. Management is poor due to allot of promises made and no follow through.
Pros
Good rep to customers
Cons
Wages and benefits, poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good field work environment
Specialist (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXJuly 27, 2017
LSC is a small company and invest in their employees. When economy is good, billable project hours are not hard to achieve. Travel is a must for most billable hours as LSC is a service company and people are the main asset. The hardest part of the job is staying busy and finding those billable hours when projects are not at the doorstep. Communication between employee and manager is a weak area.
Pros
small company, friendly environment
Cons
Billable projects is #1, Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but difficult place to work.
Procurement & MDS Manager (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNMarch 10, 2017
Very little emphasis on work life balance. Learned a great deal. Worked with great people. Leadership somewhat unsure of direction they want to move forward in current economy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Worker (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNJanuary 30, 2017
If you don't mind being thrown under the bus when your Manager promises something that he can't deliver and then blames his workers for the failure, this is a great place.
Pros
Good Location
Cons
Bad Reviews, Bad Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment but lack of comunication
CAD Technician (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNJuly 27, 2016
I was recently let go because i was told i had a lack of attention to detail, and the company was running low on work. This would be fine if i would have been told that this needed to be fixed. I was never once told that i need to pay more attention to detail, and if a mistake was made i was told "No problem, its part of the process". I feel a lack of communication on the upper end causes more errors from the ones doing the drawings.
Pros
Nice friendly people
Cons
Lack of communication, and often given contradicting information
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont plan to advance within this company.
CAD Designer (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNApril 29, 2016
Keep your head down and do as your told or you just my end up where I am. If you want to be management be over 5'10", short hair, skinny and white.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 14Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spring time
Maintenance Administrator (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDFebruary 18, 2014
It was hard come every spring. I was in at work 4:30-5:00 am until 5:00 at night. I worked these hours Monday through Friday. I also worked until noon on Saturdays. This got to be a very long spring when it started in March & lasted until July.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 13Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lake Superior Consulting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
52
43
34
22
10

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.5Culture

Lake Superior Consulting Reviews by Location