Lakeshore Learning Materials Management reviews

Found 64 reviews matching the search See all 145 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, but very rewarding!
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Carson, CAApril 24, 2019
I've worked at Lakeshore's corporate office for over a year now and I absolutely love it! I've never worked harder in my life, but it is so rewarding! I work with the best people, and quickly assimilated into our culture. The training was great, and the continuous development has been even better! My management has done an excellent job in investing in me, and helping to make me a well rounded employee. I'm very grateful that Lakeshore found me, and plan to have a long career here!
Pros
Good management, professional development classes offered during work hours, company kitchen on-site, flexible seating, company gym is coming
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
May 9, 2019

We couldn’t be more thrilled to hear that your first year with Lakeshore has been a five-star experience! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and we look forward to many great years ahead!

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is horrible
Buyer/Product Merchandiser, Retail Stores (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAApril 21, 2019
family run company with horrible management style. yelling at employees, slept with employees, you are either in or out and if you are out then your job is at risk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
May 9, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have read over your review multiple times, and—while this kind of feedback is extremely uncommon—I want you to know that we take comments like yours very seriously. If this was your experience, I genuinely wish we’d had the opportunity to make things right while you were still here. I understand that you have moved on in your career, and I wish you every success in the future. –Star Williams, Director of Human Resources

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work environment
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAMarch 9, 2019
poor management
favoritism
bad work environment
horrible work hours
poor workplace culture
disrespectful treatment from management
unprofessional leadership
Pros
profit sharing
Cons
horrible work environment high turnover rate unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
March 14, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback. At Lakeshore, we pride ourselves on the fact that our warehousing division has some of the most loyal and tenured employees in our company. We’re sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one and that we didn’t get a chance to discuss your concerns while you were still here. If you have any more specifics that you’d like to share with us, please don’t hesitate to reach out. We’re always on the lookout for new insights and perspectives that can help us in our continuous effort to improve.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique work environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJanuary 29, 2019
On a store level the atmosphere was fun and fast paced. Coming from a corporate level though the atmosphere was stifling and oppressive. There was no recourse for abusive behavior from upper management making people want to leave the company. Due to this atmosphere they had a very hard time keeping store management
Pros
Slower customer paced activity with time to work on the store.
Cons
Abusive upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
February 26, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Since this is the first time I’ve received feedback like this, I truly wish I’d had the opportunity to meet with you to discuss your concerns before you left. We take employee feedback very seriously, and I would have certainly wanted to know more about your situation in order to help resolve any problems you may have encountered. While I’m sorry we weren’t able to connect during your time here, I send you my best wishes on your next career opportunity. —Tina Murphy, Director of Retail Human Resources

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace however, opportunities for growth are scarce
Manager (Current Employee) –  Carson, CADecember 12, 2018
High place environment and high expectations however, expectations aren't always enforced or are enforced loosely. Management structure does not communicate well within management causing mis-information to subordinates.
Pros
Safety Incentives, Profit Bonus
Cons
Insurance premiums keep increasing, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
December 19, 2018

Thank you for your post. We place a high value on the feedback of our team members, and it would be extremely helpful to know a little more about your situation. Please know that my door is always open, and I encourage you to reach out to me directly so we can talk through your specific concerns. This would give me the opportunity to help clear up any miscommunications or identify areas where improvements may be needed. Thanks again for taking the time to share your review, and I hope to hear from you soon. –Star Williams, Director of Human Resources

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not have opportunity to grow
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Carson, CANovember 1, 2018
In order for a person to move up and promote you have to be good friends to a supervisor. Very political place to work for. Unfair when giving out perks for employees.
Cons
No bonuses, and no way you would promote, political place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
November 9, 2018

Thank you for sharing feedback about your time working at our on-site preschool. We do our best to create a fair and transparent environment that encourages open communication, so we’re sorry you didn’t feel comfortable sharing your concerns or expressing your interest in professional growth while you were here. We also strive for 100% employee satisfaction—hoping that all of our team members will feel challenged, engaged and rewarded in their work—and I apologize if we didn’t meet all of your expectations in this regard. Thank you again for your post. I wish you the best of luck in finding a position that’s a better match for you. –Teresa Turgeon, Director of Preschool

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and degrading if you don't belong.
Part Time Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Maplewood, MNOctober 16, 2018
I was the only Male and the youngest member on the team and I was almost never respected. The blame for other people's mistakes was put on me. If you are not a female teacher or interest in teaching it will not suit you.
Cons
Bad scedualing and work enviornment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
October 26, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I was a bit surprised by your post because Lakeshore is proud to be an extremely diverse company—not just in our retail stores, but across our entire business. Rather than focusing on our differences, we prefer to pay attention to our team members’ talents, skills and contributions. I know you were only with us for a short time, and I’m sorry things didn’t work out for the long run. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, and I wish you the best of luck wherever the future takes you. –Tina Murphy, Director of Retail Human Resources

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Administrative Assistant/Expensables (Former Employee) –  Carson, CASeptember 30, 2018
Although they seem like a promising company, H.R and management only look out for themselves and their favorites. They do not train properly and expect you to be a total robot. If you are lucky enough for your department to be well staffed, you might have a chance. Make sure you cover your own back
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
October 3, 2018

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. We would hope that all of our employees would find their managers and the Human Resources team to be helpful resources. It’s our job in HR to ensure our team members feel satisfied in their work. And if anyone’s expectations aren’t being met, we’re here to help employees and their managers identify what isn’t working and find solutions together. If we failed you in that regard, we sincerely apologize. Good luck as you head off into your future, and we hope you are able to find a rewarding position that is a better fit for you.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management
Associate (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYAugust 29, 2018
Ive worked at Lakeshore since they've opened their doors. Ive worked both second and first shift and can honestly say management is phenomenal. Upper management is personable and understanding. They are efficient at making sure everyone is focused and goal oriented, all while making sure employees are comfortable and satisified with the work environment. They communicate weekly goals and expectations very well and fairly. The people are extremely friendly and make you feel like a part of a team. Its an excellent place to work at and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Pros
Management, people, environment
Cons
Long peak
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn around, and run.
Mod Pick (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYAugust 8, 2018
Where could I begin with this awful place? Let's start with the management has no idea what they are doing. The main manager on day shift doesn't trust night shift so bad that he stays in his office with the lights turned off, and watches the camera. He also does it at home. There isn't enough work to demand 10 hour shift let alone having 8 hour shifts. I got hurt, and nothing was done about it. The vacation system is a lie. The referall bonus is also a lie. All this place has done is lie to my face. I have tried so hard to be positive about it, but, that place just make it impossible. It has made me so depressed. The placed is filled with anxious higher ups that don't know how to talk to their employees. And in general treat you like a pile of trash. Oh, and the peak season is going on right now, and there still isn't enough work to justify working 10 hour shifts. Also taking our Saturdays away. On top of not allowing people to take vacation days. No one signed up for a bunch of lies. Just don't even go there. I intend to be gone soon myself, and many are to follow.
Pros
There are none.
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Hourly Associate (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYJuly 25, 2018
The company has been in business for many years. The Midway location is new and there are some things to work out, but working for this company seems worth the growing pains. Employees and upper management from the corporate office have been here many times to work and and are very supportive. The pay and benefits are great. It's hard work, but that's to be expected from a busy, successful company.
Pros
Good people, Great pay and benefits
Cons
New facility - things to still work out
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
August 2, 2018

Hello, Midway team member! You are 100% right. Opening a new building is a lot of hard work and also a ton of fun. We couldn’t be more impressed with the amazing team there in Midway, and we are so grateful for everything you do! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. –Human Resources

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, Great culture
Sales (Current Employee) –  Carson, CAJuly 25, 2018
The best part of Lakeshore is the product and the people. Durning my time at Lakeshore I have seen the company experience tremendous growth, while still maintaining a focus on culture, teamwork, and the customer. I work with a group of people that constantly go above and beyond for the customer and for each other.
Pros
Culture, great team work, supportive management that is willing to listen
Cons
Outdated technology
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
August 2, 2018

We couldn’t agree more that Lakeshore is all about the people. We have an amazing team that inspires us daily! We’re thrilled to hear that your leadership team is listening, and we want you to know that we are, too. Updating our technology continues to be at the top of our priority list. We feel we are making strides every day, and we appreciate your feedback and patience as we continue to grow in this area. Thank you so much for the positive review—and for everything you do to make us who we are. –Human Resources

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One star for a reason
Outbound Associate (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYJuly 19, 2018
Same as a one star hotel, skip it and look elsewhere. Management, especially upper management is horrid. What kind of upper management comes in at 10 p.m., sits in there office with the lights out and watches second shift workers on camera? I mean really. If you don't trust your crew, then you need to reevaluate your crew. Time management and people skills are severely lacking. It takes forever to get your evaluation and even though you have an excellent evaluation, you won't get a pay bump despite what is told to you. Second shift is managed poorly. So very poorly. Long hours for no reason. People standing around wanting to work, but there is no direction. When there is direction, it is usually busy work. There is hardly ever eight hours worth of work, let alone ten. People there want to work, but the poor management makes it darn near impossible. It's starting to wear thin with people and that's why I am getting out. I'm sure others are sure to follow. You can't run a business by dictatorship or military mindset.
Pros
Not much
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from here
Outbound Associate (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYJuly 19, 2018
Everyone starts off coming up lakeshore optimistic and feeling like it's a great place to work... then within the first month or two thinfs change and eyes are opened to what it's really like here at their Midway, KY D. C.

Upper management is awful- they like to constantly remind us that we are on camera and if we stop moving for 5 minutes, we are threatened with write ups. I should mention that this "climate controlled"w arehouse that they tell you about in the interview is only climate controlled in the winter. In the summer, it's regularly more comfortable outside than inside the building. Many people go home with great exhaustion on a regular basis so hopefully this helps you see why being asked to constantly be moving is ridiculous. Perhaps the operations manager and VP of eastern US distribution would make good prison guards with their security camera skills, but their interpersonal skills needed to maintain healy employees are lacking. We are in "peak" season now, which means we are busy supposedly. We have been told to work 10 shifts 5 days/ wk plus 8 hours on Saturdays. That would be fine except we often are not doing active production the entire time- we do more tidying up and busy work than our actual jobs and Saturday's are usually a waste of gas to go in for what ends up being 4 hours of mostly cleaning.

Pay is average for around here, benefits are decent, but at the end of the day is not worth it. I can't think of one person that I work with that isn't actively job searching
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away, Very Poor upper management at MIDWAY KY.
Mod Picker (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYJuly 17, 2018
Upper management requires first shift to stay over 2 hours for overtime. This carries them into 2nd shift but there is not enought equipment. So 2nd shift does non productive work for 2 hours and the net gain for production is only 2 hours. If first came in 2 hours early they could have net gain of 4 hours. So if you like useless overtime and saturday work for no reason this is your place. STAY AWAY FROM MIDWAY KY LAKESHORE
Pros
work is good
Cons
Useless overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 5Report

Comment – July 18, 2018

Thank you for reaching out to provide feedback on your schedule. We are listening! Mario Savastano, our Sr. VP of Supply Chain, recently spent time in Midway to personally meet with the team and make schedule adjustments as necessary. If you have further concerns or suggestions, or if you just want to chat, I am only a phone call away. I love hearing from team members—even when their feedback is critical—because it helps us continue to improve and create a positive work environment for everyone. –Star Williams, Director of Human Resources

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Outbound Associate (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYJuly 17, 2018
Uncalled for overtime and Saturday work. No raises. Operations manager has no clue. Second shift is treated like children. Too much micro-managing. Too much favoritism. Too much sexism. Too much B.S. Simply put, stay away.
Pros
It's a job. That's pretty much it.
Cons
Oh my, too much to list. Simply stay away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report

Comment – July 18, 2018

Thank you for dropping us a note. I’m sorry to hear your experience so far hasn’t been everything you’d hoped for. Our people are the heart of our success, and we want to make sure they are 100% satisfied in their work. While we are taking a very close look at our second shift schedules to ensure efficiency, I would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns in detail to see if we can get things moving in a positive direction for you. Please feel free to contact me directly at our headquarters. My door is always open. –Star Williams, Director of Human Resources

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workers there nice to work with
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Midway, KYJuly 14, 2018
Management was cutthroat they did things that can’t be put on here upper management don’t even want to hear about it unreal. Never seen a place that the owners of a company would not even look into what they were told that was going on there money is all they care about there
Pros
Pays was good
Cons
Management was sorry
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report

Comment – July 18, 2018

I’m sorry to hear things didn’t work out for you at our new distribution center. Please know that I visited Midway this week to personally interact with the team, and while I was disappointed to read your review, I was extremely impressed with the employees I interacted with while walking the floor. We have an exceptional team in Kentucky and I could not be more proud of the work they are producing. It is my number-one focus right now to ensure our people are satisfied and receiving all the support they need. Thank you for taking the time to provide your candid feedback, and I hope your next career opportunity is a beneficial one. –Mario Savastano, Sr. Vice President of Supply Chain

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management..
Help Desk Support (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAJune 30, 2018
Was employed with lakeshore about 6 months... literally was told: how great I was doing, I have a future... keep doing what I’m doing, everybody is saying nice things about you.. etc.. this is all within my first 3-4 months in... then month 6 comes in and they are letting me go WITHOUT any warning. Hysterical. I wasn’t even mad, more relieved because the management at this company is horrendous. I hated working there. Could never get a straight answer from anybody in the department. Training was just terrible...

The manager is just incompetent at keeping a team and it’s chemistry together, team full of backstabbers. Literally had a smile on my face as the HR person told me I was being let go, because my manager and CTO were to coward to do It themselves.

I see they are still looking to fill this position. Almost a year later... haha... go figure...
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 5Report
Official response from Lakeshore Learning Materials
July 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We take our people’s experiences very seriously, and I wanted to respond personally to let you know how sorry I was to hear that your separation from Lakeshore came as a surprise. We work hard to run our IT department with 100% transparency, and we provide frequent feedback to let our people know how they’re doing. Although your critical review was a hard message to hear, we do appreciate your taking the time to post your thoughts. We’re always looking for ways to improve, and we will certainly consider your input as we plan future trainings. Best of luck to you in all your future endeavors. – Robert Nordland, Chief Technology Officer at Lakeshore

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with great pay
Hourly Associate (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYJune 11, 2018
Love all the help from all the employees! Everyone is treated equally. The employees are well taken care of their happiness comes first. Anything they may need is most often given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confused by the reviews
Outbound (Current Employee) –  Midway, KYMay 5, 2018
People are seeing this place as a bad one to work for... I couldn't disagree more. Highly competitive salary, supervisors and managers that care, listen and make changes accordingly. Great employee culture. We work hard, for sure, but we are compensated well for our time. Corporate even sent a card, with a gift card when my wife had our baby. Couldn't recommend lakeshore more highly
Pros
Great employee culture, competitive salary, potential for upward movement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 13Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lakeshore Learning Materials. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 145 reviews
559
426
319
216
125

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture