Lam Research Employee Reviews

Found 292 reviews matching the search See all 312 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good as a starting company only
Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAJanuary 10, 2019
The company provides good training for new graduates, so really good to learn new skills. But also pushes new hires badly, and managers usually drive employee crazily, for example, frequently after-hour work til mid night, without any compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is on a compressed schedule.
Clean room tech. III (Former Employee) –  Tualatin, ORJanuary 9, 2019
Pay and benefits were decent.
Management was poorly executed.
I learned a lot about assembly and production on an assembly line in the semi-conductor field.
Pros
Weekly overtime.
Cons
Management was very unfair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Lam
NPI Materials Program Manager/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAJanuary 8, 2019
Lam Research is a great place to work! Amazing people guided by solid core values. It is fun to be directly involved in cutting edge technology that will change the world as we know it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good and rigorous learning workplace
Process Engineer Staff (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CA, Austin, TX, Malta, NYJanuary 7, 2019
Lam is very data driven. Very good products across the board and the company continues to grow on these products and develop new ones. This is a company that will compete with competitors on every level, and fight for the business.
Pros
Very professional and driven company.
Cons
None that I can think of. This company is strong.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work good
Principle Engineer (Current Employee) –  China, MEJanuary 1, 2019
good teamwork.
God favors the bold. Only if you dare to get out of your comfort zone. And know, knowledge without wisdom is like a soldier with a rifle but not gone any battle before. You can only convince anyone, if only you have proof and track record of what you can achieve. Perhaps this is wisdom will.......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, safety, fun and good benefits over all
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Livermore, CADecember 31, 2018
The management and worker have a very harmonious and very professional working relationship. Teamwork is superb and very productive, fun workplace. I love working in this company because i learn a lot and my team is very helpful, friendly and good in training people especially the benefits are very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company in a challenging industry
Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CADecember 26, 2018
Great company, generally cares about their employees, however, the difficulties of the industry force some stressful time requirements on employees. Additionally, the recent rapid growth has lead so some lack of leadership for new employees.
Pros
Benefits, personal growth
Cons
Work/life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for !!
PRODUCT CHANGE ANALYST 3 (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CADecember 21, 2018
This is a great company ! This company cares about there employees and really treats them good. You work hard but there compensate you well for the hard work you do. I would recommend this company to friends and family.
Pros
Company cares about there employees
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Field Service Management in Place - No Leadership
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lehi, UTDecember 19, 2018
Poor Field Service Management in Place - No Leadership - Only looking for technical people that can be used and abused, and then disposed of afterwards while management takes all the credit for the work you end up doing.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temps treated badly
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORDecember 7, 2018
It was a good job when we were busier and people actually got hired on but the minute the business slowed down nobody was hired on and over half the temps were let go. As a temp I don't know a single person who uses the benefits provided because they are so bad and over priced. As a temp there are only 6 paid holidays and no PTO. As a full time there are around 12, lots of PTO, profit share, and great benefits but that's if they ever hire you on.
Pros
Paid weekly, lots of pros once hired on
Cons
Temps treated unfairly, bad/expensive benefits as a temp, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Consultant-Supplier Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CADecember 5, 2018
Good place to work but has the ups and downs of any semiconductor company. Good work environment and teamwork. Management is fair. Lot of interactions with cross-functional teams and suppliers as well.
Pros
Great learning experience
Cons
semiconductor business is a roller coaster
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique perspective
Manufacturing Supervisor II (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORNovember 25, 2018
I have been in the industry before, seen a lot then and now. The one constant I remember still holds, its all about change. Change is inevitable, this is one company that drives changes into all of our technologies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was contractor there so dont take my rating as full time
Electrical System Interconnect Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CANovember 24, 2018
its very good company to life and work balance. the only think is you have to follow the way things done and not out of the box thinking allowed for contractor. you cannot make decision and you need to follow the way things done. That been said I was there for one year so I understand where they come from.
Pros
life and work balance is really good. not much pressure at work.
Cons
Was contractor to be fair not going to add any.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Final Test Technician III (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORNovember 15, 2018
The company is solid in that you will learn a lot however it's difficult to get hired on by the company. They use a lot of temp agents and it's difficult to actually get a job there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a Bright Future
Production Test Technician/Assembler ALD, PECVD (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORNovember 9, 2018
Lam has excellent senior leadership and hardworking employees. However, middle-management often forget about the same core values they scold you about and prevent senior leadership in the company from being able to truly groom and grow the talent that shows up on the manufacturing floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to earn experience but hard to move up
Production Test Technician (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORNovember 7, 2018
Not a so stressful place to work, good benefits and ok pay but you can't move up unless you kiss a... or have really good connections. This place almost never lays off their regular full time employees, unless you screwed up badly and get fired. The starting pay is ok but as you move on, living expenses increase but your raise can't compete with it
Pros
Paid lunch, good benefits, not stressful, job security
Cons
Poor management, low pay raise, schedule might not work for everyone, unfair treatments depend on your connections
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative work environment
Test Technician (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORNovember 6, 2018
A typical day at work starts with a morning meeting and review of manufacturing progress. Expectations are set and as the day goes on communication of disturbances is encouraged to manage those expectations. Each day presents it's own unique set of challenges. Management is open and looks at those challenges as opportunities to improve the manufacturing process and is receptive to suggestions .

I have learned much about the fabrication of semiconductor capital equipment.

Work place culture matches the espoused values of the company the vast majority of the time. Expectations align with those values and positive action is rewarded.

The hardest part of the job is the hours of the shift work, although for others it is preferable to a regular work week.

The most enjoyable part of the job is my team and my department. I work with good people.
Pros
Good team, good people, reasonable expectations.
Cons
Cost of living to pay, means living paycheck to paycheck or accruing annual debt to survive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Process Modular Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CAOctober 30, 2018
Everyone on my shift helped out. During 12hrs shift techs will start the module, troubleshoot if need be, and complete module at the time allowed. Most of the techs I worked with have vast knowledge of the products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would recommend Lam Research
REGIONAL FIELD SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAOctober 27, 2018
Very high paced environment. Work is very fulfilling and the treatment of employees is second to none. Communication from the executive level on down is better than I have seen elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to recommend
Assembly Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Tualatin, OROctober 23, 2018
Too much expansion to the point of peoples jobs being at risk due to lack of work. When there is work its stressful,fast paced,which makes everyone's attitude reflect it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lam Research. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 313 reviews
590
4116
373
221
113

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.9InHerSight Score

4.1Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight