Langham Hotel Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 162 reviews
Ratings breakdown
579
445
324
211
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 74 reviews matching the search See all 161 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMay 14, 2018
The customer is Always Right. there is no getting around that ever. There are a lot of different departments and everyone contributes to make the "experience" the best for the guests. Depends where you work the job could get heavy at times. serving in restaurants is hard at times when there are high volumes of guests. Management tends to change a lot All the time. Some guests are a pleasure to serve and they make your hard work very worth it. Their gratitude tends to make you want to be there and put more effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced work environment
Senior Reservations Agent/Group Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 25, 2018
I actually enjoyed the fast pace work environment at the Langham, Boston. I did not think that their was really room for advancement though. I thought the work culture was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location and place to learn
Cook III (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 23, 2018
Working at this place will teach you from the very basics, of your culinary career to the most stressful part of dealing with all kind of circumstances, lack of equipment , and old Facilities.

With the right mindset this is a great place to develop professionally , there is no such thing as easy job , In my opinion this place is challenging in its own way and its not necessary bad , of course there are thing that can always be better.
Pros
Full benefits and Cafeteria
Cons
Lack of equipment and old facilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work experience
ENGINEER SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 20, 2018
good experience on size property big gardens, restaurants, laundry, 4 kitchens, This company is good to get experience, good place to work, and grow up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over work you .
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMarch 7, 2018
They tend to not appreciate their workers thus the reason why many leave. Seniority plays a huge role in this company and at times gets in the way of new workers from moving up and building a career in the company.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Rude people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel Life
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 23, 2018
Hotel life is pretty much all work... and hardly any place. If you work at a hotel, especially this one, you can kiss your personal life good bye. Benefits and pay were great. But whats good with that if you can't spend it with family. Some times you work 10 days straight. WTH!!! Management is a joke. Always looking to place the blame on somebody or on another department.
Pros
free lunch. free parking. Benefits, pay
Cons
no life, work work work, stress, stress, stress. Workers and managers gossip. Scream at employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook 3
Cook 3 (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 20, 2018
Being a cook 3 isn't really what you think it was
there was a lot more to it than just the actual cook 3
I had to prep and be on the line with no or little time
I also was at the fry station and saute especially when needed.
Compensation was great for cook 3 but with the job we did I believe promotion wise in the kitchen was just unfair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many cooks in the kitchen
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 30, 2018
The culture here is ridiculous. Human Resources acts like they own the place and bother the way everyone works. The HR Manager would walk around taking notes on employees that do not attire to their 'standards', making people feeling paranoid and on their toes at all times. Did I mention that they set ridiculous unachievable goals?

People who stood their ground and speak up would not last long. They only want sheeps working here. Everyone smiles and acts like nothing is happening because they are afraid to lose their job/benefits. It's kinda sad, really... They are way too deep in their own behind to think they would get a five star/five diamond with this kind of environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 13, 2018
The management is lazy and does not know how to manage. They are never around and leave all the work for the staff to handle. They are well paid to act important but not really do anything.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Hostess at The Terrace Restaurant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 13, 2018
I learned very much working there. Costumer service is very important and taught me that you always need to give your best.
Communication, team work and respect were essential for a good performance.
Pros
free lunches, beautiful enviroment to work
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Langham Hotel?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My First Intership
LINE COOK (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 10, 2017
I was a line cook for the banquets and I thought it was really cool! The chefs there are so smart and talented I got to learn so much from each and every single one of them. I got hands on experience and got to learn more than food. I got to learn about history, technique and everything in between!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance Work & Personal Life
Temporary Income Auditor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 22, 2017
The Langham Place is a diversified work place of employees from all over the world. The work ethnic and work environment is very balanced in where you feel appreciated for a job well done. The Langham Place recognizes employees hard work. Also they contribute their time and efforts to the homeless community in NYC but employees working there.
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente divertido
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CANovember 13, 2017
Siempre el ambiente fue divertido lo q mas me gusto es q te sientes valorado
Pros
Todos tus beneficios
Cons
Ninguna
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely Not a Permanent type job. Too stressful
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CANovember 10, 2017
Unsanitary working conditions, bad odors, rotting walls and carpet. Poor working conditions, rodents, flies sticky counters in cafeteria, Bad food, too many carbs, dirty oiled fried foods, fruits flies everywhere and loud chaotic environment made it hard to concentrate or enjoy the job.
Pros
job security
Cons
poor stressful working conditions, upper management is rude and not connected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 7, 2017
while working for this property the guest and staff where amazing. i alwasy had a pleasant time with each of my guest. i was ranked in top 5 of room attendants. a typical day was to deep clean room for arriving and occupied guest. replenish any amenities and accomodate all guest requests. very pleasant property with historic feel. managment can definitely enchance a bit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fine working at the hotel
Associate (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 21, 2017
Enjoy and appreciate the benefits. Can be challenging, It can be better but also things are good sometimes. I enjoy the work, but it can be challenging. Benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff and opportunity to develop a career in hotel business
Recruiting Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 14, 2017
The hardest part of the job is able to complete your job in timely manner and assist employees and external candidates with inquires. The most enjoyable part of the job is able to help employees,
Pros
Free meal and free parking
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2017
Good workplace with a problems in management consistency, They take very good care of the workers with at pay the benefits package. The attendance policy is confusing though.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
bad attendance policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Property
Front Office Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 6, 2017
It is rare when you have a hotel that offers acres of space and serene views of the facility. Amazing property, location and meting spaces provide a feeling of ease.
Pros
Location
Cons
Limited Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall employee satisfaction
Turndown Attendant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 18, 2017
The Langham is a beautiful place to work. Hotel is small, people want to stay so positions are slim to none. Coworkers are the best and they help get through the shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport