Laurels of Sandy Creek Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive work place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIJuly 10, 2018
A day would include food prep, serving out the food, and clean up.
There were allot of issues with people not showing up and not covering their shifts. There were times when there would be main ingredients missing. Lack of organization, and cleanliness. Poorly managed, refused to give benefits after the first year of employment.
Cons
Lack of health care, lack of benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will never NOT be busy
Licensed Practical Nurse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIDecember 13, 2017
Can be stressful, but time goes by fast because you are always busy. Nurses have too much work to do and have to cut corners to get everything done. Management has improved a lot in past few years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dietary Director
Dietarty Director (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIOctober 12, 2017
Collaborated on an interplanetary team to assess the need of residents
Providing adequate leadership as head of the dietary department
Consulting with physicians and other health care professionals
Knowledge of all state and federal regulations
Worked with Register Dieticians to ensure that all high-risk residents are being monitored
Monitoring over Assistant Food Service director
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Rehab employees
ADON (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIJune 9, 2017
Rehab department was well educated and did a wonderful job with patients. Nurses were kind and worked very hard. Location is in a lovely area. Large dining room and good meals.
Pros
Great Insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Student Physical Therapist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIMay 22, 2017
My first full-time clinical experience was a skilled nursing facility with great staff. Good learning environment for a student just starting out in the medical field. I learned a lot from my co-workers and patients.
Pros
Worked with a wide variety of patients with different health challenges
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paychecks short, management ignores concerns.
Certified Nursing Assistant/West (Current Employee) –  WaylandMay 24, 2016
Paychecks are not accurate with many employees. Administrator ignores concerns and walks away while you are talking to her. Bossy nurse aids sitting at the desk telling nurses what to do.
Pros
Low cost health insurance.
Cons
Paychecks cheated, management ignores concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for advancement
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIMay 3, 2016
pay good benefits very good room for advancement training could have been better but ok staff shortage frequently DON at that time was wonderful then she left it fell apart
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and great residents
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wayland, MIApril 4, 2016
Daily cares for residents such as bathing, grooming, bed making, transfers, feeding, charting if the declined, improved or stayed the same, etc.
Pros
residents
Cons
healthcare, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laurels of Sandy Creek
assisting residents (Current Employee) –  Wayland, MIJuly 30, 2015
I like what I do. I typically go in on third shift. I am required to do all laundry and a cleaning list nightly. Each night we have a list of resident showers to be done. I also answer call lights and assist residents with any needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
CNA (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIJanuary 26, 2015
The employees are under staffed, over worked. Don't care about employees or residents. They do not give new hires proper training. I would not recommend working for this company, or sending a loved one to live here.
Pros
None
Cons
Horrible place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with excellent teamwork
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIAugust 27, 2014
Stable and secure assignment from day to day with management that encouraged growth in their employees by monthly nursing meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal LTC experience
LPN- Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  wayland miMay 20, 2014
this place had its up and downs.... couldn't complain with 12 hour shifts though
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Director of nursing (Current Employee) –  Wayland, MIDecember 11, 2013
great place to work administrator is great caring person, scheduling, staffing, chart audits, customer service, device audits, great staff everyone gets along staff and residents happy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certified Nurse Aide
Certified Nurse Aide (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MINovember 18, 2013
Assist residents of the nursing home with activities of daily living.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Laurels
Assisting residents of a LTC facility (Current Employee) –  Wayland, MIMay 24, 2013
I enjoy working for the Laurels very much. I have built relationships with both co-workers and residents alike. The management staff is pretty open and easy to communicate with and take an interest in their employees. A typical day there would be assisting the residents with their daily care whether it be dressing, bathing, feeding or just simply watching over them and offering cues to complete a task. I have been a CNA for 20 years and it is a tough job especially when dealing with deaths but I find the good far out weigh the bad. What I enjoy most is the smiles I get from my residents, their thanks for helping them an djust knowing I made a difference in their day.
Pros
Teamwork, friendly, uniforms provided
Cons
far drive from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with residents and families.
Charge nurse (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MichiganJuly 31, 2012
Learned to work with different kinds of disabilities and diseases, enjoyed taking time out to talk to residents as I did my job. Had many wonderful co-workers, learned from them as I taught them things, too.
Pros
good enviroment
Cons
low staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare Field
Certified Dietary Manager- Dietary Director (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MIJuly 17, 2012
I have one year of direct management experience, three years in the health field. Currently pursuing an MPA degree with hopes of continue to grow in health care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Laurels of Sandy Creek. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 18 reviews
52
45
37
21
13

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Laurels of Sandy Creek Reviews by Location