Lawrence & Memorial Hospital Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 90 reviews
Ratings breakdown
536
432
314
26
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 89 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Secretary/PAC's Assistat (Current Employee) –  New London, CTJune 11, 2018
Enjoy working with all the coworkers within the department.
Supervisor is very understanding and great to get along with.
Able to succeed within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L&M Review
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  New London, CTJune 10, 2018
I worked at L&M prior to Yale taking over. However, I met a lot of knowledgable profesionals that do a wonderfu job running the foors. The pay was a huge plus. The higher than average salarty they start you with can be "boosted" by taking advantage of doubles that can be stacked with shift differential pay. It pays out.
Pros
Money, great staff
Cons
Short Staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
PCA Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  New London, CTJune 6, 2018
I worked at L&M for several years and it was a great place to work. I feel I learned a lot about taking care of the whole patients. For the most part the staff were team players and were supportive. Short staffing issues were the hardest part of my job, but taking care of the patients was the most enjoyable part of my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was allowed to work without being micromanaged
Multidisciplinary Team Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New London, CTMay 3, 2018
Seldom saw my boss. Did my job without having my hand held. Had freedom to make change as needed. Implimented new procedures as needed. Supervisor approved of all suggestions.
Pros
Not micromanaged
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, helpful co-workers
Phelbotomist (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, CTApril 27, 2018
I enjoyed my time at Lawrence and Memorial hospital. I especially enjoyed the ER. There was always something different. Unfortunately after taking maternity leave, I was diagnosed with a kidney disease and needed surgery. This cost me to exhaust my FMLA. Needless to say I had to resign.
Pros
Cafeteria, helpful staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, decent pay
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  New London, CTApril 16, 2018
good people, decent pay. union for nurses. this has its pros and cons as far as good employees and some employees that lack. small hospital do everyone knows everyone-majority of people really want you to succeed and there is a lot of support in reaching goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Recruiter, Sr. (Contract) (Former Employee) –  New London, CTMarch 30, 2018
good place to work, very high volume staffing across all areas

Recruiter for all hiring needs at the Hospital. High volume, full service, sourcing and filling open
positions through the on-boarding process. These positions are both Union and Non-Union
roles both technical and non-technical.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant place
Millwright (Former Employee) –  New London, CTMarch 14, 2018
pleasant place of employment
medical dental and vision benefits offered
human resources helpful
staff pleasant
knowledgeable
uniforms and safety equipment supplied
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Billing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New London, CTMarch 5, 2018
Poor Management Team, No advancement and/or encouragement from leading Manager. Very Stressful, High expectations for long hours and no Guidance to complete tasks given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  New London, CTMarch 1, 2018
TOUGH CROWD! JOB ADVANCEMENT.
Overall you learn a lot! Pay is excellent but need to be willing to take on last minute job/duties, forced to take call when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the staff!
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  New London, CTFebruary 16, 2018
I've had a very positive experience with everyone I have encountered at Lawrence and Memorial Hospital and would recommend it to those seeking employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  New London, CTFebruary 10, 2018
I loved being a student at L&M. All of the staff were so friendly and welcoming! I hope to one day obtain a job there and become part of the team/ family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment.
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  New London, CTFebruary 1, 2018
Typical day included patient care and teamwork.

I learned many skills to properly care for patients once I earned my nursing degree.

I really enjoyed learning from the nursing staff here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work at.
HUC - Health Unit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New London, CTFebruary 1, 2018
If you're not a nurse you are not going to advance very far. Has benefits and has job security...that's it. Once you have your foot in the door it's good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff and management team were personable and knowlegeable
Nurse Manager (Former Employee) –  New London, CTJanuary 29, 2018
Good place to work- the managers and staff were very supportive of my position as Head Nurse. The staff were positive and negativity was minimal. You could see professionalism before you entered the hospital!
Pros
professionalism
Cons
I did not like walking up that big hill on a cold, windy morning! It is gone now!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my patients
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Groton, CT 06340January 25, 2018
My patients are and will always be my number one priority. They are my sole purpose for working in the healthcare community. I love the interaction I have with each of them from day to day, and the relationships I have gained with my regulars.
Pros
The new CEO is the greatest asset we have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Work Environment
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  New London, CTJanuary 13, 2018
Stable work environment, good benefit program, good PTO benefits, retirement plan with multiple funds to select from. Supervisor was supportive and I got along wither well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional practice
Nursing Staff RN/Clinical Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New London, CTDecember 2, 2017
Growth support and opportunity. Provided more than enough growth opportunity with support and attention from leaders. When engaged in the profession, opportunities are available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding, short staff
LPN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  New London, CTOctober 17, 2017
I worked for L&M for 30 years, and worked nights the entire time as a staff nurse. Very busy, demanding, but fulfilling caring for patients. If issues came up were not always addresseither with staff or patients.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
PATIENT CARE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  New London, CTOctober 9, 2017
a typical day at the hospital is very active from running to one patient to another.
management can be a little challenge but approachable.
I lean to be very patient and understand people have different neeeds.
Pros
Small hospital
Cons
patient to aids Ratio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport